We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, lovely room, lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terminus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Albergo Terminus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo Terminus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Como
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely view, lovely room, lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

It probably did not hurt that somehow the staff was under impression this was our honeymoon, and apparently upgraded our room and delivered a plate of chocolates to our room! It was an anniversary trip, not a honeymoon, but that extra touch certainly did not hurt! We had a slightly side-ways view of the Como harbor - a beautiful site. Our room was in the new part of the hotel, and a junior suite with separate sitting room, and luxurious marble bath. The ferry stop is just out the front door.

Room Tip: Choose the new part of the hotel. Also, make sure you know how to open the windows in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    100
    50
    35
    13
See reviews for
26
135
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rooms decoration very old fashioned, I paid for a superior room and the room they gave us was spacey but with horrible decoration while the window view was old stairs that you need to climb to see a bit of the lake. When we asked to change, the new room was very small and noisy but we had no other choice. Too expensive, definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great room with a PERFECT view. Everyone treated us like gold from the moment we arrived. Chara was VERY helpful at the reception desk answering all our questions. The hotel bar was great and had delicious food, wine, dessert, you name it!!!! Loved walking around town which was in very close proximity. A ten minute walk from the hotel to the train station and 29 minutes later (via train of course) you end up in Lugano, Switzerland - a definite must if you have the time. I truly hope to go back to Lake Como one day and this hotel would be my choice again. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently had a two night stay at this hotel and its position is perfect for both the town and lake. The room we had was large and quiet although it overlooked the square and the lake. There were both outside and inside shutters as well as the window so we heard nothing. The reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Breakfasts were very good and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel if you needed a hotel for either business or pleasure. Didn't eat in restaurant as we found a place by the side of the lake who's menu suited us better

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were at Lake Como for 3 nights in 2012. This hotel was nice, had a degree of character to it, but if we were to go back, we'd look for something different. The location was great, but our room had too much street noise, so be sure to ask for something away from the street.

The hotel borders a large public square that is the entry way to the old part of Como - great shopping, strolling, restaurants. It is also close to the ferry boat dock.

Be sure not to miss the pontoon float plane rides (weather permitting) over the lake:
http://www.aeroclubcomo.com/Home/tabid/36/language/en-US/Default.aspx

You can walk there from the hotel, but be sure to make a reservation as far in advance as possible.

Also, take the funicular to the top of the mountain for a great sunset dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. It is on the main drag in town bordering the lake, so there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were with a group, and out of ten rooms, at least three were fairly unhappy with their rooms. The 'superior' rooms were fairly small and ordinary, with a view onto an alley with dumpsters and parking. Needless to say, the cars and dumpsters were all actively making noise early in the morning. The breakfast room was small and cramped for a hotel of this size, although the continental breakfast was fine. What made the hotel lose a point or two in my rating was the curtness of some of the front desk staff. While some were very nice, others were icy and indifferent to any problems that guests were having. Definitely not a feeling of hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Built in 1920's and well preserved

Rooms and location were excellent. There is a great view of the lake. There is some road noise all night but the double glazing is good. I think only the lightest of sleepers would suffer in a lake view room

There is a rather nice art deco feel about the place. One could expect to see Poirot wandering the public rooms; except he always seems to be busy elsewhere these days.

The parking cost 25 euro, but it is better to accept that than struggle elsewhere in town.

Free in room Wi Fi decided things over another nearby large place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terminus Hotel

Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terminus Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Albergo Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terminus Como
Hotel Albergo Terminus
Albergo Terminus Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Terminus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.