We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewelbox placed strategically between the Lake and the Center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terminus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Terminus Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Terminus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“A jewelbox placed strategically between the Lake and the Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Albergo Terminus is for guests who want to quiet down from their adventure. Whether business or pleasure, this stately home is a lovely treat and reminder of what great service, fine food and a wonderful welcome means to international visitors. You will feel at home.

There are two parts to the hotel, the original palazzo and a newer area that has the more modern rooms. Having stayed in several different rooms over the course of many visits over the last year, I have no favorites as each has a special, homey feel. They all have high ceilings and gorgeous window treatments, wonderful beds with great linens and amazing, personalized, concerned service.

With only three floors and wonderful gathering spots, you will get to know your fellow guests either at the delightful breakfast which is run with a warm, welcoming staff lead by the lovely Grace, or over cocktails in the grand room where Maurizio (the Italian George Clooney) makes a magical Bloody Mary. Check out the hotel restaurant Bar del Treme for a wonderful lunch or dinner. Reservation suggested especially with summer opening up the terrace.

The hotel is so perfectly centrally located near the Train station, the bus station, the center, the Big Red bus stop in front of Monti's, the ferry, the local bus. And the staff has wonderful suggestions when you need a quick adventure or need to get the feel of Como in a short time. Ask the front desk, they seem to speak every language.

Parking is available at the hotel. Free Wifi - Bless them. Truly a place to hide your suitcase and pretend you are part of the family.

Room Tip: The new wing faces the Center of Como which can be very exciting or loud - depending on what is goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    48
    35
    12
See reviews for
33
145
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Albergo for one night on a recent business trip. It is in a fantastic location, opposite the lake in central Como, so ideal for exploring. I had a deluxe room which was a good size, had a comfortable bed and a nice modern shower and bathroom, which looked as though it had been recently refurbished. The only complaint was that the room smelt a bit of stale smoke, but that was quickly solved by opening the window and airing it out for few hours. I didn't eat here, although the small restaurant looked pretty cosy. Breakfast in the morning was simple but fine. Very friendly and helpful staff, this would be a great place to stay if you were in Como for a couple of days, although I can imagine that it might lack a little if you're looking for somewhere for a family break for a week or more

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here in August 2012. This is a very beautiful hotel located at a very convenient location to bus stops, ferries and the market. The rooms were very elegant and service was excellent. Breakfast is quite elaborate and very well prepared we decided to have ours on the terrace that made it even better. Will definitely go and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel, formerly a palazzo, with grand and gracious public rooms, bedrooms with high ceilings and, unusually for nowadays, good overhead lighting! Beds are large and comfortable with top quality linens.A wonderful restaurant (closed on Tuesdays), subject of a separate review, graces the hotel. Family owned and run it retains a grace and charm and has a staff both helpful and polite. It is 150 metres from the Como del Lago railway station, and faces the lake,all of 30 meters away. It is perfectly located in Como for the bustling centre and Cathedral area. Parking is not cheap (Euros25 per day) but wifi is free throughout the hotel.
Certainly one of if not the best hotel in Como.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square tend to be noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

2 nd time at this hotel. Staff are good except the dining room which was too snooty to seat us just for dessert in completely empty dining room. Rules are rules. Our room was exceptionally small and whomever picked the drapes must have been on something. I knew I was going to get nightmares but after my second night, I was just glad to be leaving. They are doing major construction on the dock area and I am sad to report they have run out of money. Not the hotel's fault but the location has suffered. It's dark and noisy to walk anywhere at night. I would rather go to Bellagio next time.

Room Tip: This property was just redone. Needs it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANAHEIM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed the experience. the room was beautifully appointed and the food was top notch. Great location to the docks so you can take a sightseeing tour of the lake ( 2 minute walk). The staff was great and we definitey would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel is a beautiful, stately building on Lake Como, but the room was tiny, even by European standards. Booked online for "Best Available Double Room at Check in". The rate was more than the standard Double room rate. It is off-season and I was hoping for a superior or deluxe double room upgrade, with a view of the lake. The hotel was NOT full, and I did not get a better room. We could barely walk around the bed, very cramped with luggage. Our check in was not pleasant either. The woman assisting us was cold and a bit condescending. Parking is 25 Euro. We did receive free WiFi with an online booking. Breakfast was just OK. Nothing special.
I would never recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terminus Hotel

Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terminus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terminus Como
Hotel Albergo Terminus
Albergo Terminus Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Terminus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.