We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad but true” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terminus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Terminus Hotel to your Saves list
Albergo Terminus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sad but true”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

2 nd time at this hotel. Staff are good except the dining room which was too snooty to seat us just for dessert in completely empty dining room. Rules are rules. Our room was exceptionally small and whomever picked the drapes must have been on something. I knew I was going to get nightmares but after my second night, I was just glad to be leaving. They are doing major construction on the dock area and I am sad to report they have run out of money. Not the hotel's fault but the location has suffered. It's dark and noisy to walk anywhere at night. I would rather go to Bellagio next time.

Room Tip: This property was just redone. Needs it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    105
    48
    35
    12
See reviews for
33
144
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ANAHEIM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed the experience. the room was beautifully appointed and the food was top notch. Great location to the docks so you can take a sightseeing tour of the lake ( 2 minute walk). The staff was great and we definitey would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel is a beautiful, stately building on Lake Como, but the room was tiny, even by European standards. Booked online for "Best Available Double Room at Check in". The rate was more than the standard Double room rate. It is off-season and I was hoping for a superior or deluxe double room upgrade, with a view of the lake. The hotel was NOT full, and I did not get a better room. We could barely walk around the bed, very cramped with luggage. Our check in was not pleasant either. The woman assisting us was cold and a bit condescending. Parking is 25 Euro. We did receive free WiFi with an online booking. Breakfast was just OK. Nothing special.
I would never recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Run of the mill hotel on "hotel row". Our clerk could not speak English and had to get assistance to answer our questions. Older building, but completely renovated in the last 20 years. Rooms were nice inside and the staff at breakfast were attentive, but the food was nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our three day stay at the hotel. As it was to be our place to visit, I requested a front room with lake views. It was a lovely room that was a touch noisy for me (I'm hard to please), but when we raised the issue with the staff they responded in a very profesional manner with the result we found ourselves in room # 403.
Just terrific with a touch of Paris about the room with a door opening onto a small balcony with views over the lake, surrounding rooftops to the Duomo dome and to the fernicular. As it was to the rear of the hotel, it was very quite. No more whinges from me.
Chiara on reception was very helpful with dining recommendations - we found Trattoria del Gesmin to be very enjoyable.
We found the staff to be professional, friendly and helpful which does make such a difference - our thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is very close to the bus station and Statione Nord Lago so easy access from Milan or the airports. The ferry terminal is about 200 yards away and so convenient to all the lake towns. It is quite imposing from trhe outside and traditional within.
Reception staff are a little 'remote' and appear condescending; I'm sure its not intended.
Rooms were not large, adequate but very clean. Breakfast was disappointing; only continental but the Phillipino staf were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Try not to get room on left side of hotel alongside small road... service access & noisy student...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There are many good things about this hotel. Its suave, understated fin de siècle elegance is seldom repeated in other destinations. The service from all staff is very attentive, especially the ladies who serve breakfast. They are very quick, professional and keen to please guests, working exceptionally hard to match each resident’s individual requests, and yet they remain engaging, affable and bright. They are a real credit to the establishment. Breakfast in itself is of a high standard even by comparison with that provided in other Italian hotels and caters well for a wide range of needs. The location is absolutely superb, occupying a spot right on the lake edge, and very close to the town centre. It is also literally next to the Nord Lago railway station which, if you are travelling by the quite superb Italian rail network, is exceptionally convenient. The views over the lake are breath-taking and the rooms are very comfortable, with working and effective air conditioning. However, I do not think that the standard of cleanliness, especially in the bathrooms, was as good as we have experienced in other hotels on this trip. There was black mould on the sealant between the bath and the tiling and the tiles themselves had clearly not been cleaned for some time when we stayed there, because they were covered in several layers of water marks. This in itself was only off-putting because it caused me to imagine what other corners might have been cut. Although the decor is loud and dated, it is comforting in its own way, bringing to mind English hotels in the Lake District and there are many services provided, that you might expect from such an expensive hotel, which make for a very restful stay in one of Italy's best-known resorts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terminus Hotel

Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 14, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terminus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terminus Como
Hotel Albergo Terminus
Albergo Terminus Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Terminus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.