We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! One of the best meals I've had in Italy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Com E'

Ristorante Com E'
Via Lambertenghi 24, Como, Italy
031.260671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 412 Restaurants in Como
Price range: $47 - $67
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow! One of the best meals I've had in Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The owners, who are also the cooks and servers, provide family-type service and are proud of their dishes, all of which are fresh and unique (try the baked ricotta and peas appetizer). The food is highlighted by an elegant but relaxed setting.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We showed up for dinner as "early birds" at 7:30pm and we were the only ones in the whole restaurant. This alarmed me because I thought there should be more patrons for a well-rated place, but we took our chances and tried it anyways. It turned out to be great. Our server was attentive and helpful, giving us a solid wine recommendation that was reasonably priced. I enjoyed a wonderful basil tagliatini with shrimp and squid as my first course. A generous portion of pasta arrived, steaming hot and al dente. My husband's first course salad was fresh and also generous in portion. My main entree of potato-encrusted fish was tastey and my husband enjoyed curried chicken. Dessert of an apple tartine and cinnamon foam was feathery light and tastey. Overall, we thought the food was of good quality, with nicely sized portions and polite service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We sampled the set menu for lunch and we were not impressed. The pasta dish was very simple but nothing special. The second course of roast veal was tough and fatty. We expected a great deal more, having read the reviews on tripadvisor. The service was efficient but surly and they refused to take a credit card as the machine was supposedly not working. There are quite a few better restaurants in Como.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asti, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little gem in the centre of Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Being in Como for the Ognissanti holiday, I had dinner here with my family. The setting is intimate and cozy, the service attentive and friendly, with the owner caring for the guests himself, while his wife is in the kitchen.
Choice is not huge, but very interesting: food is creative and delicious, and - remarkably - served in generous portions.
Wine list is quite limited, but represents all Italian regions and offers good choice of half bottles.
Will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Finalmente si mangia bene anche a Como!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Como is a beautiful town, but it's not easy to eat well... most of the times it's very expensive, and you end up not really satisfied...
but we did find a place that really came up to our expectations, and affordable as well!

we were a group of 4 people, the restaurant is in como "downtown" but kind of hidden..
the atmosphere is nice, relaxing, soft lights, modern furniture and elegant colors.

giovanni (the waiter) is very nice, his wife is the chef and stays all the time in the kitchen (and, in our opinion, that's a plus!)

Let's get to what really counts: dinner!!

well, that was a great surprise.
the food is EXCELLENT, with a touch of creativity without exaggerating.. local italian dishes rearranged in a great way, perfect cooking, good choice of dishes but not too many - that's a guarantee of fresh food.
personally i had porcini (mushrooms) salad, shrimps tagliolini (amazing) and super tender young pork with mushroom again (i love them). then i had a 3 chocolate degustation as a dessert.
to drink we started with a glass of prosecco (offered), a bottle of falanghina franciacorta spumante and a beautiful pinot noir from alto adige (north eastern italy).
on the dessert we had a great barolo chinato, from piedmont.
then, of course, italian espresso...

everything was very good, and the price absolutely correct!!

we'll definitely go back there!! (we live in italy)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Com E' also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Com E'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Com E', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.