We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, some improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazzolo Terragni, 6, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delfgauw
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location, some improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Location, decoration, staff is all fine. Wifi worked smoothly. Video Skyping no problem.
I was in a ground floor room. I guess the disabled room. It was large enough. Only that I disliked being on the ground floor, my window was looking right at the hotel's terrace outside. So no privacy when curtains were open, so I had to have them closed always.
The bathroom was spacious, but it lacked any kind of planchet or cabinet to put my stuff on. Nothing. The sink was a nuisance because of its low height and its tendency to spill water over the very very low front end right into my stomach and lap.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    59
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
77
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Perfectly situated in the centre of Como.Great for walking around town. Still very close to the lake. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nicely decorated. Wifi is free for all devices you may need and works perfectly. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located to visit Como. Right in the hart of the old town and yet the room was quite. Small but had all what is needed. The Staff was very helpful and indicated some good restaurants / places to visit. Breakfast was good however crowded, as somehow everybody seemed to have gotten up at the same time ;-)
Only challenge: if you come by car. Rather then following the navigation system … have a look at a map. I could have gotten there much easier. The hotel staff took care of the parking and the way out was a walk in the park.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for two nights whilst visiting my daughter in Milan. The hotel is tucked away and not easy to find but well worth the effort. The staff on reception were friendly and attentive both in the evening and at breakfast.
Our room was bright, airy and comfortable and the breakfast had a lot of choice. The best part, however was the hotel's position - it was convenient for all of Como and handy for the Duomo, restaurants, shops and ferries.
If we were to visit Como again we will definitely stay here

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel :) Wifi is working perfectly, rooms are nicely decorated, location is in the very centre. You get a very positive feeling when staying there :) I can fully understand why people chose to have their honeyoon there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a bunch of friends for 2 nights mid May 2014. this hotel is rated 4 stars but it really is more of a 3 stars. I'd rather call it a very nice 3 stars than a not great 4 stars.
It is a very tiny place, rooms are decent size by European standard, but are pretty basic. Each room is slightly different in its layout because of the nature of the building, and features a different color. Mine was green. Room 303 is probably one of the bests cause it had a nice porch facing the main street and the entrance to the hotel. My other friends weren't so lucky and had different arrangements from no windows attic like room to having a door like window in the bathroom. No carpets, no bathtub, but a nice shower. Be careful cause the shower floor is very slippery. The room could use a cattle to be able to prepare a warm drink and above all - wi-fi connection! although we got free wi-fi password, none of us, at any part of the hotel other than the reception area, could connect from the room for 3 days!!! for me - this was the worst case scenario. In spite of our frequent complaints, not until the last day this was completely disregarded by the staff. If internet connection and reception is vital to you - make sure this has been taken care of! there is a safe, open closet and minibar in the room. Flat screen TV with occasional English programs. I hid away immediately the ghastly fake flower arrangement.
So rooms are BASIC. nothing fancy or luxurious, and I think it will be nice for a couple staying for a night or so on the way from here to there. Less suited for business traveler like myself.
Breakfast is served at the tiny dinning room and it's nice but nothing fancy. Very tiny and narrow space. You can hear everything thats going down in the hallway and every door slam.
The hotel is comfortably located at the heart of town, less than 10 minutes walk to the lake and about 4 fro the Duomo square. This is not your choice if you are looking for a romantic lake-view room.
Although my disappointment of the no-connection no wi-fi situation and no one taking care of it for 3 days, it is a nice place with generally friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go for 303.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in Avenue hotel as part of our honeymoon and we definitely made the right choice. The hotel is right in the middle of Como so is really handy for shopping, visiting the lake, restaurants and getting to and from the main train station. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is really good and there is a lot of choice. Our room was quite small but nicely decorated and looked over the courtyard/garden so was fairly quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel as, although it is fairly expensive compared to other places we have stayed, it is in a great position in the town and meant we didn't have to drag our suitcases too far or take them on a boat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Piazzolo Terragni, 6, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a modern 4 stars hotel located in Como, just steps from the charming lake and the main streets of the historic city center. Completely renovated in the style and furnishings, Avenue Hotel is distinguished by its sophisticated design and innovative environments, revealing a perfect choice for holiday or business in comfort and modernity. The rooms are spread over 3 floors and are characterized by the variety of the materials chosen and the quality of the finishes. Guests will also enjoy a comfortable breakfast room, a pleasant courtyard (accessible during the summer). In immediate proximity to the hotel guests will find two restaurants "PINZIMONIO" and "JOY" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.