We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spaghetti my husband has ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Carrettiere

Il Carrettiere
via Coloniola, 18, Como, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 395 Restaurants in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Great Falls, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best spaghetti my husband has ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The manager of the hotel we were staying at, In Riva al Lago, recommended we go here. Glad we did! Authentic Italian restaurant was just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Great, fun waiters who knew enough English to understand that we enjoyed the meal! (English menu available.) My husband loved the lobster spaghetti and my salmon thin crust pizza was delicious! House wine was good. Reasonable prices, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariano P, Proprietario at Il Carrettiere, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much.
Mariano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    179
    64
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pizza, wines and atmosphere !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Been recommended by our hotel's concierge as one of the best places in Como to eat something really italian.
Will be short - great quality and portion-size, good wines recommendations - we ve been very happy.
Wish have discovered this place earlier - its a great talian, not compared to all the usual trashy touristy stuff round the corner !
Worth a return visit.
Their website :
www.ilcarrettiere.eu

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

excellent quality, real Italian and seafood. the price is acceptable comparing to food. call them before you go cause you need a reservation

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great pizza and pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great meal at this restaurant last Sunday 4th August. We ordered a seafood pasta and a pizza. The food arrived piping hot and quickly and was not shy on the portion size! We had a lovely bottle of white house wine. The staff are professional, helpful and polite. We whole-heartedly recommend this place as great place to eat on a visit to Como.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We want there on a recommendation and found it to have great food. I was surprised that there was no outside seating and it got a bit warm and stuffy towards the end, but the food was great. I had the pizza with porcini mushrooms and carpaccio and it was great. Crust was thin and crispy but not burned. I couldn't even finish it all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Carrettiere also viewed

 

Been to Il Carrettiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Carrettiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.