We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a first trip to Como” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barchetta Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barchetta Excelsior to your Saves list
Barchetta Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cavour 1, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location for a first trip to Como”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our travel agent recommended this hotel when our first choice (recommended by a business colleague) had no availability. We were pleased to discover its prime location on a piazza with a lake view, when we arrived after an overnight flight from the U.S. Elena greeted us with an enthusiastic "Buon giorno!" and, after checking us in, informed us that, due to the early hour, our room was not ready. We followed her suggestion to have coffee in the hotel's very comfortable lounge located steps from the registration desk and with a great view for people-watching. Before we had finished our first cup, one of the other desk attendants came by to tell us that our room was ready! The room had a king-size bed (a pleasant surprise!), ample closet space with plenty of hangars and windows that could be opened. The marble bathroom was well-lighted with the usual amenities. The deep tub with separate overhead and handheld shower fixtures -- each with its own hot/cold water controls -- is an idea that should be adopted by hotels everywhere! I wanted to get a manicure and asked Daniel at the front desk if there was a salon near by. He graciously called around and was able to schedule an appointment for me the next morning at the salon located next door to the hotel! I can't say enough about the central location of this hotel. The tourist office is located just across the piazza and many of the sights as well as stores, good restaurants and ice cream shops are within short walking distance. The buffet-style breakfast was included in our room rate and the offerings included eggs, bacon, fruit, yogurt, a variety of breads, cereals and hot & cold beverages.
Elena and Daniel were especially helpful and courteous during our stay and really made us feel at home. We will definitely recommend the Barchetta Excelsior to our friends and colleagues who plan to visit Como.

Room Tip: Our room was on the fourth floor, on the side of the building but closer to the piazza. When we sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear TravelFan,
thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. Your positive feedback is most welcomed. I was very pleased to read that you highlighted the courtesy and helpfulness of our staff members and I will proudly share your compliments with my treasured team. We all greatly appeciate your comments!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Robert Webber - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    97
    35
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
110
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this hotel online, and were very happy with our choice! The hotel is in a great location...close to restaurants, bars, stores and a beautiful church, and the best part it is very close to the beautiful Lake Como. There is a small bar in the lobby with a very nice bartender who provided extra treats even though we were just having a glass of wine ( which by the way, was less expensive than the bar next to the hotel! )
We arrived by ferry from Bellagio, and even with heavy suitcases were able to walk to the hotel. In the morning we were treated to an outstanding breakfast, and everyone on the staff was cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sue F,
thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. Your positive feedback is most welcomed. I will gladly share your compliments with my treasured team. We greatly appeciate your comments!
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Robert Webber - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Trafalgar tour group. The rooms were clean and roomy with larger-than-average bathrooms, which was appreciated after what we had in Venice. It is also a very modern hotel with nice amenities (I still have their complimentary slippers). The location of the hotel couldn't be more convenient to doing things in Como unless it was actually on the water. There's a very nice plaza-like open area between the hotel and the lake front which allows from an unobstructed view of the lake from the hotel. Plenty of nice restaurants as well as McDonald's are within easy walking distance. I found the front desk staff to be very professional and helpful. The only knock I can give the hotel is the pay Wi-Fi. In this day and age it ought to be like the shampoo in the bathroom. As a matter of fact, I rather have free Wi-Fi and lesser bath amenities. But, that's just me. My wife likes the bath amenities. After our tour had just about completed, we had a vote on favorite locales which included accommodations. Como, in not small part because of this hotel, was the favorite.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The position opposite the Lake Ferry Terminal is first class.The Piazza, the Bus stop zone, the close proximity to all that the lake has to offer, and, all outside the front door is just perfect. The Funiculare Railway is within 400 metres walk as is the Nord Railway Station and the Bus Terminal. There is also a multitude of shops, Pasticceries (Tina Beretta Via Rusconi 22 is not to be missed) and Bars within 400 metres. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the Staff extremely helpful, Courteous and spoke perfect English. The breakfast was more than adequate. All in all a great experience .We stayed 2 nights and Barchetta will be our choice next year.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Lake. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Leon P,
thank you very much for your lovely review. We greatly appreciate positive feedback from our guests following their stay at the Barchetta Excelsior. I am very pleased to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us and I will proudly share your compliments with my treasured team.
Looking forward to you next visit,
Kindest regards,
Robert Webber - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Great location, high standarts, reasonable rates, what else? Regarding a stay in Como whatever the purpose of your trip is barchetta excelsior is the right place to choose. Choose a room having lake view with balcony you will experience unforgettable time.

Room Tip: corner rooms with balcony having lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

After a month long hunt for a place to stay in Lake Como, we had at lqst decided to stay at this hotel, which had a very nice view of the lake in front. The hotel is situated just around the corner on the main street from where supermarket and Macdonald and a departmemt store is easily accessible. We stayed for 3 nights and was quite satisfied with the service and quality of the hotel. Overall it was a pretty pleasant experience to stay in Como and I would be staying in the same hotel if I ever go back there.
Only drawback would be the poor spread for the breakfast

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

The view from our room was breath-taking, morning and evening. Not only could we see the lake but the ice rink below and the Christmas market. We were close to pleasant places to eat, the markets (Christmas and local), pleasant walking areas and the terminal for catching the ferry. The room was extremely comfortable in size and appointments with large towels and a good shower. Our check-in and check-out were efficient and very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the variety at breakfast, so it was as well that the hotel was well located for walking!

Room Tip: The view is really worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Dear Cindylou4,
thank you very much for your recent review. Positive feedback is always welcomed and thank you also for your kind compliments regarding our friendly service. I will proudly share yout thoughts with my cherished team. Our location indeed is fabulous and we are very pleased you mentioned this too.
Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Robert Webber - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barchetta Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barchetta Excelsior

Address: Piazza Cavour 1, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barchetta Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Barchetta Excelsior is one of the most important properties belonging to the hospitality tradition in Como. The hotel enjoys the privilege of a breath-taking view of the lake and is located a few steps from the Cathedral and from the city centre and main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Barchetta Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barchetta Excelsior Como, Italy - Lake Como
Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barchetta Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.