We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good service. You are welcome here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barchetta Excelsior

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barchetta Excelsior to your Saves list
Barchetta Excelsior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Cavour 1, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly staff, good service. You are welcome here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

stayed on business in Lake Como and this hotel was already picked for me, however, I would go back every time.
Staff very friendly and pleasant to deal with.
Breakfast not the biggest choice, but all seemed very fresh and room clean and tidy.
Lunch in hotel was very nice. Choose the dish of the day which was excellent.

Hotel is very central to the town and great views over the Lake.

Rooms very tidy, clean and quiet at night.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake View on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    95
    35
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
107
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We are a family of 3, 2 adults and a child of 8. We are currently staying in the Barchetta Hotel in Como. This hotel, although it does not look as attractive as it's neighbours it certainly makes up for in it's big personality.

Plus points.

Location, Location, Location, right near everything Como has to offer.
Staff amazing and friendly, especially front of house Laura and Valentina and restaurant staff.
Had a few issues when we arrived but were dealt with swiftly, and professionally.
Currently staying in room 332, with lake view, which I would suggest booking to enjoy sitting out on the balcony in the evening and watching the world go by.

Bad points

Rooms small and need updating.
Internet only available in lobby which is very slow, there is a charge to access it from your room which I don't think you should have to pay for.

Would I return to this hotel ? YES

The location and the staff make this hotel a great place to stay and in my opinion the plus points out weigh the bad points.

Como is a wonderful place to visit and we look forward to receiving a warm welcome again when we check in to the Barchetta.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Ideally located beside the lakeside and within the ancient Roman walls, this hotel was a superb base to explore Como, its ancient town and expensive shops, and the beautiful towns accessed by the lake boats.
The hotel itself was very comfortable with largish fully equipped A/C rooms including a mini bar but no tea and coffee making facilities which we have liked. The rooms were serviced well, with clean bed linen every day which we haven't come across in too many hotels. The toiletries were very nice too.
Reception was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed great breakfasts on the first floor overlooking the lake. We only ate in the hotel on one evening, but that was excellent - from home made pasta with seafood, through fillet steak and a very delicious and unusual tiramsu to follow. We each had two courses, one glass of wine, bottle of water and two large beers - came to 95 Euros, but it was excellent throughout.
We booked early, and got a great deal through Olotels.com and paid £763 for 7 nights inc breakfast though this was not one of the lake facing rooms.
Free WiFi only in the comfortable reception areas, otherwise it was expensive in the room.
There was an excellent entertainment in the square one night, which was a lovely bonus.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view, preferably go high in case there is entertainment in the square in front, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. I will gladly share your compliments and positive feedback with my team. They are greatly appreciated.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My husband and I decided to close our Italian vacation with a couple of days at Lake Como. This hotel was moderately priced and conveniently located for our planned activities. We enjoyed a lake view from the small balcony of our 5th floor room. The king bed was comfortable with a full mattress instead of two twins pushed together as you often get in European hotels. The bath was small but included a narrow long bathtub that made showering easy. The hotel staff was generally very pleasant with one unfortunate exception the last night of our stay. You can see some aging and wear and tear in the small things. For example one of our bath towels had a hole from overuse. That said the property is generally well maintained. The internet policy is unusual for European hotels - free wifi in the lobby and restaurant but you pay to use the lobby computer and for access in the rooms. Overall we were pleased but may look at other properties if we return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view and ask for one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. Pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Barchetta. I have taken note of the positive and negative comments and will look into them duly. Feedback of any type is always welcomed as it can help us improve our services.
Hoping to welcome you back in the future,
Best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We recently visited Como and stayed 3 nights at the Barchetta Excelsior. Paying a bit more for a lake view room is definitely worth it. Very comfortable hotel with great service and a very helpful staff. Food served at breakfast and the hotel restaurant was excellent. Parking is available and practical if you drive and need a place to park. The parking is at a nearby sister hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect and in the old town, across the street from a bus route, boat tours/ferries and near the central station. There are many good restaurants, boutiques and things to see within a few minutes’ walk. We will certainly stay at the Barchetta Excelsior again during our next visit.

Room Tip: - Using a navigation system (Such as Navigon Italy) to drive in Como and the Lake Como area is stron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you kind review. I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. I will gladly share your very positive feedback with my team.
We greatly appreciate your compliments.
Looking forward to your next visit and eager to welcome you personally.

Best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Have just returned from a week at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior in Como Italy. We were very happy with the accommodation - very clean - bed linen changed every day - room well supplied with toiletries - there should be a grab rail for the shower - we had lake view rooms - was spectacular - couldn't believe eyes when walked into room - beautiful views - overlooking main Piazza Cavour with lots going on to watch - close the windows and there is perfect silence - amazing - very very comfortable bed - breakfast was fine with extensive choice - nice dining area but no fried eggs - good range of fresh food though - the hotel staff are probably the friendliest we have ever encountered - breakfast and reception staff were so helpful it was incredible - nothing was too much trouble - if you have your own device, you can get Wi-Fi in the lobby free but if not, and you have to use the hotel's machine at 5 euros an hour, then it is painfully slow and you keep getting stopped frequently and the system queries a software certificate and locks you out - this was the worst experience of the hotel - another possible improvement would be the seating in the lobby - there is a lounge in the lobby area adjacent to the restaurant - we saw very few people in the restaurant but there were never enough seats in the lounge - maybe some of the restaurant area could be used for the lounge - the existing lounge seats were not best positioned for maximum use and we could not get a seat sometimes - these were the only two improvements we can suggest - in all other things, the hotel was excellent - in its central position, its breakfast, reception, its chambermaid service - its staff - everything - we had a great holiday in this hotel in Como which is a city very well worth visiting. Finally, the hotel is very close to departure point for boat trips - just a point - you get your tickets for all boat trips at the one ticket office at the pier and they tell you what landing stage (pontile) to go to - we visited Bellagio, Menaggio and lastly Tremezzo where we took the hop-on hop-off train to Lenno and hence boat back to Como. Our experience - excellent hotel and Como was great for us. Take the funiculare up to Brunate!!

Room Tip: take a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for you kind review. I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us at the Barchetta Excelsior. I will gladly share your compliments regarding the excellent service with my cherished team. Positive feedback is greatly appreciated.
Thank you also for your suggestions, I will look into them duly.

Looking forward to your next visit,
Best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

PROS - Best view / proximity to Duomo and restaurants. Decent breakfast.

CONS - Lobby Wi-Fi is terrible. In room Wi-Fi is €5 per hour or €12.95 per day. No in-room ironing board. Door hinges are squeaking. Parking is at the partner hotel for €15 a day.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_HBE_PAL, Direttore at Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. Regarding your comments:
PROS: totally agree!! I would add "Great service".
CONS: wifi could be improved and it will be very soon. Iron boards and irons are not permitted
in hotel rooms in Italy for fire and safety law. We have one available in the storage room in the
lobby. Will check door hinges. Parking is the cheapest hotel garage in Como.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barchetta Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barchetta Excelsior

Address: Piazza Cavour 1, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barchetta Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Barchetta Excelsior is one of the most important properties belonging to the hospitality tradition in Como. The hotel enjoys the privilege of a breath-taking view of the lake and is located a few steps from the Cathedral and from the city centre and main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barchetta Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barchetta Excelsior Como, Italy - Lake Como
Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barchetta Excelsior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.