We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - wonderful pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel di Como

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel di Como to your Saves list
Grand Hotel di Como
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via per Cernobbio 41A, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - wonderful pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family (2 adults 2 children) stayed one night at the Grand Hotel Di Como. The hotel is nice and our room was spacious and clean. The breakfast is ok but nothing fantastic.

The best part of the hotel is the swimming pool which is really wonderful.

The hotel is situated in a quite boring area near the main road. You can walk to charming Cernobbio in appr. 15 mins.

I can recommend this hotel if you want to spend a couple of days by the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    164
    69
    30
    8
See reviews for
48
145
10
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is located outside Como, not far from the lake. The rooms are nice but quite small, and the ones located on the first floor can be a bit noisy if close to the restaurant or the fitness area. The common spaces are well decorated and there is an outdoor swimmingpool. The worst part of this hotel is the restaurant (Kincho). The restaurant itself is quite nice, located in the garden next to the swimmingpool, and food is quite nice even if expensive. But the service is absolutely disgraceful and inadequate for such a place.

Room Tip: Not on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not great value for money, room was lovely and big, large bed, nice and clean but lacked basic facilities such as tea and coffee making facilities, and clothes press. Baring in mind we were there for the week as part of a wedding (needed suits pressed) - we had to pay extra for this.

The Food in the hotel restaurant was very poor, service was extremely slow, we had to get up twice throughout our meal to get the attention of any staff member we could find. Risotto was cold, the ravioli which cost 18euro was literally 5 pieces of pasta (an inch wide in size) blobbed with what looked like fish glue with 2 splashes of what tasted like dish water on the side. Absolute JOKE!

No bottles of water were provided in the room, hotel charge 4 euro a bottle. There were no staff available in the outside bar by the pool one day. Some people were helping themselves to cold drinks in the end as no one was around to man the bar. Staff didn't seem to care much for customer service.

Overall we're very disappointed considering it was our first trip to Italy it spoiled what was meant to be a lovely week for us...won't be staying there again nor recommending it. A real shame!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool were quiet, but no tea/coffee making facilities were provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentina_De_Santis, Proprietario at Grand Hotel di Como, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

I feel really regretful for the inconveniences reported in your welcome review and I do hope you could accept my personal excuses for the discomfort caused.
I have already shared your impression with the whole Team of Grand Hotel di Como, with the aim of analyzing what happened and immediately improve our service, in order to guarantee to all our Guests a top-notch Lake Como experience.

I desire to thank you sincerely for every single reported details: constructive criticism really makes us grow, and makes us understand the point of view of our Guests. We strongly believe that just in this way we can completely satisfy all the expectations.

On behalf of the Chef and the whole Staff, I really wish, in case you might consider to plan another vacation on our beautiful Lake, to have a second chance to surprise you and transform your Lake Como memories into unforgettable ones.

Wishing you all the best,

Valentina De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

The Grand Hotel di Como is a really nice, good quality hotel located outside of central Como. While dining on site is relatively expensive a five minute walk sees you in Cernobbi with a really good selection of decent restaurants.
Rooms are large and clean. Pool area is well maintained and the breakfast buffet is really well stocked.
Good access to the motorway and lake ferry (at Tavernola) make it a great option.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Not my idea of a 4 star hotel. Booked here as part of a tour, and the room was adequate, but the tub shower hard to navigate. Wifi only available in lobby, unless you want to pay $8 per day. The remodeled bar/lounge area lacks pizazz. Not a great location if you want to explore Como. I would not walk into town, as it is quite a hike around the lake. You can take ferry across lake into town, and also around the lake to Ballagio, Mallagio, and all the other small villages. Bus #6 also stops in front on the main road. We had a good dinner in the main restaurant, and the staff were very friendly. Unfortunately did not know about the Argentinian steak house across the pool area. Understand it is very good. Breakfast buffet is lacking for a 4 star hotel.

.u

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Back for another stay in Como, and back in the Grand Hotel Como.

Check in was smooth, staff polite and relatively quick. The room....very poor, was of the smallest I've stayed in, no room for a suitcase, no tea and coffee facilities and worst of all dirty (previous guest clothing under the bed) Appreciate this maybe their entry level price point room but still not acceptable. Personally I had no issues with staff and the breakfast was more than adequate.

If you choose to stay here then ensure you have a deluxe single or double.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel get the sunset and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent one night in the hotel. Even though it is not right in the centre of Como and even though from the outside look can be improved, this hotel is definitely a valid option, if you are travelling the area. The rooms are big and clean. It is surronded by green areas and the quality of sleeping in excellent. In addition you also have a great pool to use, especially during the hot summer. To be visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel di Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel di Como

Address: Via per Cernobbio 41A, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel di Como 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel di Como is located in a 10,000 sq. mt. green area between Como and Cernobbio. A modern and functional property the ideal destination for clients coming to Como either on business trip or for a relaxing holiday. Rooms are enriched by beautiful reproductions of famous pictures by Gauguin, Monet and Botticelli on precious silk canvas. Large and confortable beds are the plus in every rooms.News for 2011 : a new aquamarine shaded gem in the charming park, it’s the brand new private pool, with a 32°water temperature area and hydromassage points. Il Grand Hotel di Como è circondato da un’ampia area verde tra la città di Como e Cernobbio. Un edificio moderno e funzionale, la destinazione ideale per l’uomo d’affari e per il turista. Le camere finemente arredate, sono arricchite da riproduzioni su seta di quadri di Gauguin, Monet e Botticelli. Nel 2011 è stata inaugurata la nuova piscina nel parco, con un’area termale e una vasca idromassaggio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel di Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Di Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel di Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.