We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gery good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cantoniera Como

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cantoniera Como to your Saves list
Casa Cantoniera Como
Via Teresa Rimoldi 51, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 49 Como B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gery good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this bed & breakfast. We stayed one night and the owners were very nice. It was like staying in your own country house. Nice, bright and clean bedroom. The breakfast was actually more than what I was expecting for the price. About the location, it's a bit far from the centre if you don't go by car, as we did. Though it's easy to reach by bus, there is a bus stop at Ospedale S. Anna and you just have to go down two minutes to find the place.
I would definitely go back to this B&B.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
73
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I understand how it can be a 5 star for some but not for me. Depending on what you value it can be a 5 but also a 2 or a 1. I go to BNBs quite a bit so I am not picky but for a good review, the bed and the breakfast have to be good. The room, bed, bathroom were excellent, but the breakfast was the worst I had in a BNB. I do not expect necessarily a continental breakfast but I expect every item to be fresh and tasty. Here you will get supermarket croissants (not the bakery ones), artificial juices, low quality spreadable cheese. Only saving grace was the coffee, not high quality but at least a cappuccino machine (which I only knew about because another couple asked for it).
The garden was ok but a high-traffic street 10 meters away did not contribute to the experience.
Finally, a few misleading statements in the website. What is most visible from the house is neither the lake nor the mountains but the high traffic street right below. Very noisy when at the garden. The pool was not only closed but also covered with dirty tarp. Not a nice sight. Do note you must have a car to go to this BNB as everything but the small church they mentioned is driving distance. In summary, not horrible, but I am sure there is better in Como.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I chose this place for the nice features they describe and show on the webpage, and, I traveled knowing it was a sunny weekend- this past weekend. The address does not show on GPS but after one call, we found it. If you have a car, there is parking. Very disappointing to see a dirty tarp over the pool with dirty water sitting on it- bugs and all. You be the judge, see the photo. That is the welcoming area that leads you to the house. The building is very modern and renovated. My room was exactly as shown on their page, large with a walk-in shower. What the picture does not show is that windows are one-story up at highway level. That was the room view. The access to my room was by climbing 3-sets of narrow stairs that need better night lighting. Breakfast is grossly below average. Yet, you can have a cup of fresh coffee. While I thought the check-in after 5.30 pm was a bit odd (and check-out at 10), I was ready to pay the rate assuming their house was nicer than others, or better situated. I even accepted the NO room cleaning for the 2 nights I was staying. Thursday & Friday were sunny and nice to visit Como, about 26 degrees/ 75+ Fahrenheit. If you plan to stay here without a car, good luck. In my opinion their claim that you can hike to town is misleading. The kind lady taking care of the house was very pleasant. When I asked why the pool was in that condition, she justified the fact by saying the owners were on vacation and that it had been a bit cold. Even if I did not plan to use the pool, its maintenance was a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It's located just on the side pavement of an expressway but the sound proof is quite good. We can hardly hear the noise outside. But taking bus to the B&B isn't easy for foreign tourists. We can't figure out when to press the stop button and everyone we asked speaks no English. Well I suggest if you also take bus No.1 or No.8 to the place, sit by the right side of the bus, remembering the look of the building, and when you see it, don't hesitate, press the red button. Yeah, you got it!
The owners were very friendly and have a very distinct taste. It seems they do some art design related jobs. The room is big and clean, bed is comfortable. The bathroom is almost as large as the bedroom.
The breakfast is great. Comparing to the hotels by the lakeside, this one is not expensive, but no views from the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Thank you so much for having us! It is romantic, boutique and clean, we loved it.
It was like staying in their house, we could use everything in the living room, gave us a very welcome feeling. I stayed here with my partner last year and I asked for a invoice with both our names on it (for Visa purposes) and I received a reply straight away, thank you so much!
We will definitively come back to this gorgeous place with the nicest hosts!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Casa Cantoniera. Hosts are flexible with check-in times (let them know in advance) and are generally very welcoming. The room was perfect for our needs (family, 3 adults) with a newly refurbished en suite bathroom (shower,not bath). Breakfast was ample, the hilights being FRESH bread/pastries,and EXCELLENT coffee (I had a delicious ristretto). Does what is says on the tin. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pringle Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an excellent B & B. Well situated and a good price. The rooms are big and well furnished and there is a lounge area which the guests can use. The hosts are friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are great. . I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cantoniera Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cantoniera Como

Address: Via Teresa Rimoldi 51, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “B&B Casa Cantoniera” is ideal for people looking for a comfortable housing at a reasonable price. It is located at the entrance of Como, in an area well served by public transportation. The city center can be reached in 15 minutes by feet. Renovated in 2010, part of the house became a beautiful Bed & Breakfast with garden and a swimming pool. It offers to its guests some single and double rooms in a familiar and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cantoniera Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cantoniera Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cantoniera Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.