We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cantoniera Como

Save Saved
You added Casa Cantoniera Como to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Cantoniera Como
Via Teresa Rimoldi 51, 22100 Como, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Como B&B and Inns
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed one night in Como at the Casa Cantoniera. We booked the room that had a private bathroom, this was located on the bottom floor. The room was large, bright and very clean. The bathroom was also large and modern and very clean. The room had a sofa, and two side tables. The bed was very comfortable. As no one was staying in the other two rooms on the same floor we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. On that floor was a small kitchen and a large lounge area. The owners were very helpful and understood english. The location was a little out of the main town of Como, but there was a bus at the bottom of the road, and if you had a car, the place had carparking. There was also a lovely pool on site, but since it was raining and cool, we didnt indulge!

Room Tip: Be prepared to haul you bags up and down some stairs. Even more if you are staying on the bottom fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
67
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elen, Limburg, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spend one night in this B&B. The owners were very friendly, they gave us a map of Como, and the names of some good restaurants. It was quite a walk to the city centre, about 20-30 minutes. The room was clean with a large bed, and we had a shared bathroom with another couple. One downside was that the bed was very hard. Breakfast was excellent, it had everything we needed/wanted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanden, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

On our way to Umbria last year, we spent a night at this very well located B&B. We made reservations for our 4 persons family (2 young kids). We arrived rather late in the evening, but the owners were still awaiting our arrival. Reception was very warm and pleasant! It was nice to take a quick refreshing jump in the pool after a long day journey. Although the house is close to a rather bussy road, the room was silent and we were not disturb by the traffic. It also has a nice small garden. The owners were very friendly and helpful, with nice restaurant suggestions downtown Como (which is rather close by) and things to see. Breakfast was great, with special attention going to our kids' wishes. We will certainly go back to this small, cosy B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a very nice set up, with a main house on the top floor and then two levels of apartments. We were on the middle floor which had 3 guest rooms, a living room space and kitchen. This was also the floor where breakfast was served. We chose the room with private bath which was spacious. Breakfast is your typical European one served with coffee and pastries.

Only down side was location. ~20 minute walk to get to the old city of Como. However, there is a bus stop very close to hotel. Tickets are only 1.5EUR but must be purchased in advance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljubljana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I and my wife spend a night, when we travel to Switzerland. The place is quiet, despite traffic nearbye. The room is small, but clean, and the breakfast was excellent. It have very beautifull garden. The owner was very pleasant, compliant, helpfull. The place is few minuts away with car or half a hour walk to the lake, but is nearbye higway to Switzeland or Milano, so we were in some minutes on a voyage ahead. There are parking places in front of the house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

The only thing we regretted is that we had a hell of a weather and .... that we could only stay one night ;-) ...

Despite the fact that the big road is nearby, the nice house is well isolated, so you can sleep quietly :-)

very beautiful, clean and quiet house, with friendly and helpful owners and surprising co-guests. Walking distance from the city centre. good price-quality balance!

Arrivederci!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

After a trip to the Grand Prix we wanted to somewhere to chill out for a few days before heading back to the UK. After staying the first night in the Como Hostel, wanted somewhere a little more comfortable and after a search on Trip Advisor came across the Casa Cantoniera. Gardens are lovely and well maintained, decor very modern with a bit of an old twist in places and it's spotlessly clean. Room we stayed in was quite small but there are larger ones (luck of the draw I suppose) but having access to large living space and kitchen more than made up for it. Typical continental breakfast which was served by a very genial host who was more than happy to share his knowledge on the local area and recommend things to see and do. As other people have commented, only slight drawback would be the location as it's about half an hour walk from the lakeside. If you don't mind this, then for the price I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Cantoniera Como? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cantoniera Como

Address: Via Teresa Rimoldi 51, 22100 Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The “B&B Casa Cantoniera” is ideal for people looking for a comfortable housing at a reasonable price. It is located at the entrance of Como, in an area well served by public transportation. The city center can be reached in 15 minutes by feet. Renovated in 2010, part of the house became a beautiful Bed & Breakfast with garden and a swimming pool. It offers to its guests some single and double rooms in a familiar and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Cantoniera Como reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cantoniera Como Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cantoniera Como, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.