We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A meal to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of crotto del sergente

crotto del sergente
Via Crotto Del Sergente, 13, 22100 Como, Italy
031 283911
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 412 Restaurants in Como
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first time to visit this Restaurent although we visit como every summer. Recommended from trip advisor, we decided to give it a try. We loved it and will defiantly be going there next summer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    238
    37
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

great place very friendly food was very good. the waiter helped very much and made very good suggestion re the wine so all in all well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem, great food, charming green location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have eaten at the "Crotto del Sergente" (www.crottodelsergente.it) three times so far and I love going back. The restaurant is located in a well-hidden secondary road and not very easy to find - I suggest you use the navigator. The restaurant has been created in a lovely old / antique house and preserves all its original character. The best season to go is definitely spring and summer, when you can eat outside in the charming garden surrounded by woods and enjoy the nature, birds and flowers all around you. I recommend booking in advance, especially in the evening and on Sundays because the place is not too large and it gets busy. The names of the dishes are sometimes tricky to understand and I always ask the waiter what they are to make sure I make the right choice. The food is fantastic if you like slow-food cuisine and local specialties. I love their starters with the plate of cold meat and maroons (chestnuts) with honey, in fact I liked just about anything there. The service is impeccable. Price is about 40 Euro per person. I will definitely go back again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seregno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had a very good experience at Crotto del Sergente.
It's not the easiest to find, as it is at the end of a secondary road, but only a few hundred meters from one of the main roads departing from downtown Como; don't get scared by the road conditions, they are not that bad actually (we could drive a coupe there without problems).
The place is fascinating, they took a small old building and create a very good looking restaurant.
The menu does not have many dishes, but it's a choice they made: they are changed every three months, to keep up with the season.
The staff is very friendly.
The price is what you expect it to be, not really cheap but right for what you eat.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The best value restaurant in Como area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Crotto is the best restaurant in Como area. it is not on the lake but just going outside the city in the area of Lora. Dishes are changed every three months are you can find always 'slow food' plates.
Wine list is really huge with particula attention to Piemonte and Lombardia wines.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed crotto del sergente also viewed

 

Been to crotto del sergente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage crotto del sergente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.