We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Silvio

Ristorante Silvio
Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 31 950322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $134
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice food beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food was very nice and lovely setting overlooking the lake. The restaurant runs a free taxi service which is useful. It's a fish based menu so if you don't like lake fish then the options are limited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    160
    51
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I found it by chance because the nearby Darsene di Loppia restaurant was booked for a private party and it was a very fortunate coincidence. The views of the lake are great and the food very good. They seem to specialise in fish (e.g. lavarello from the lake or pike), the menu is rather short but everything we tasted (perhaps except for semifreddo) was a least tasty (some delicious). Presentation of the dishes is attractive and not too fussy and the service competent and friendly. It should be mentioned that the prices make it quite a bargain. For what you would pay in the simplest trattoria in the centre of Bellagio here you get high quality dishes. As to wines, there are decent bottles for 14-15 Euro. If you want a table with the best view, it would be useful to make a reservation, as it appears quite many Italians (and some tourists) come for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were recommended this hotel for the fish by a local and so decided to try it out. We visited with kids and the views from the terrace over the Lake were amazing and very romantic, even with 2 young boys joining us for dinner! Only issue I would have is that the service was average, friendly enough but not very attentive. I would still give it a go as the food was good and view fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Motte Servolex, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a view on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a group of colleagues. We had a set menu with different types of fish. All very nicely prepared. Good selection of wine. The view on the lake is magnificent. We had a table outside but in the shade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“+ outstanding food, + stunning views, + attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Silvio is located south of Bellagio on the road to Como. It is also listed in the ‘Osterie d’Italia’, a slow food travel guide and definitely fulfils expectations!

To have an unrestricted view from your table over the opposite shore of Lake Como I recommend making a reservation in advance.

The menu lists typical Italian fare and I highly recommend ordering the fish ravioli in sage butter, the veal, and fish of the day. I easily could have returned every single night since the view is stunning, and the food unbelievable!

In summary Silvio is THE restaurant you shouldn’t miss when in Bellagio or the Lake Como region. However, the drive to the restaurant might be a challenge for some travelers since we are talking a ‘one-lane’ two-way traffic road for US standards that even freak out European drivers!

+ outstanding food,
+ stunning views.
+ attentive staff

Average entrée: EUR 15-20.
Credit cards accepted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Silvio also viewed

Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Silvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.