We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Silvio

Ristorante Silvio
Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 31 950322
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $34 - $134
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wickford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice food beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The food was very nice and lovely setting overlooking the lake. The restaurant runs a free taxi service which is useful. It's a fish based menu so if you don't like lake fish then the options are limited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    169
    134
    44
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cracow
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I found it by chance because the nearby Darsene di Loppia restaurant was booked for a private party and it was a very fortunate coincidence. The views of the lake are great and the food very good. They seem to specialise in fish (e.g. lavarello from the lake or pike), the menu is rather short but everything we tasted (perhaps except for semifreddo) was a least tasty (some delicious). Presentation of the dishes is attractive and not too fussy and the service competent and friendly. It should be mentioned that the prices make it quite a bargain. For what you would pay in the simplest trattoria in the centre of Bellagio here you get high quality dishes. As to wines, there are decent bottles for 14-15 Euro. If you want a table with the best view, it would be useful to make a reservation, as it appears quite many Italians (and some tourists) come for dinner.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were recommended this hotel for the fish by a local and so decided to try it out. We visited with kids and the views from the terrace over the Lake were amazing and very romantic, even with 2 young boys joining us for dinner! Only issue I would have is that the service was average, friendly enough but not very attentive. I would still give it a go as the food was good and view fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Motte Servolex, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good seafood with a view on the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to this restaurant with a group of colleagues. We had a set menu with different types of fish. All very nicely prepared. Good selection of wine. The view on the lake is magnificent. We had a table outside but in the shade.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“+ outstanding food, + stunning views, + attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Silvio is located south of Bellagio on the road to Como. It is also listed in the ‘Osterie d’Italia’, a slow food travel guide and definitely fulfils expectations!

To have an unrestricted view from your table over the opposite shore of Lake Como I recommend making a reservation in advance.

The menu lists typical Italian fare and I highly recommend ordering the fish ravioli in sage butter, the veal, and fish of the day. I easily could have returned every single night since the view is stunning, and the food unbelievable!

In summary Silvio is THE restaurant you shouldn’t miss when in Bellagio or the Lake Como region. However, the drive to the restaurant might be a challenge for some travelers since we are talking a ‘one-lane’ two-way traffic road for US standards that even freak out European drivers!

+ outstanding food,
+ stunning views.
+ attentive staff

Average entrée: EUR 15-20.
Credit cards accepted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Silvio also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Silvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;