We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, low price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Giardinetto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergo Giardinetto to your Saves list
Albergo Giardinetto
Via Roncati, 12 | 22021, Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, low price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. You get what you pay for. Old man running the place, shouting at what seems to be his daugther who is the manager. Sweet and friendly staff. Beds are not good. Rooms are ok, and clean. There creditcard machine didnt work, and they did not really seem interested in having it fixed. So be prepared to pay tax.

Room Tip: top ones, cause they have a view to the lake,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Albergo Giardinetto is a really Italian albergo with polished stone floors, beautifully clean bathrooms, simple and uncluttered rooms and the sound of birds. The rooms face onto the wonderful garden where you can enjoy the grapevine, jasmine etc.. The church square is 'due minuti' distance so you can have your first cappuccino there at the café bar, or you can walk 5-10 minutes and have a lakeside breakfast. Both the situation and design of Albergo Giardinetto allow you to have an authentic Italian experience. The owners are warm and genuine and offer great value and this albergo should really appeal to active travellers who want to explore Bellagio and Lago di Como or who like to sit reading in the garden on a warm day. The views over the garden and red-tiled rooves with their tiny roof terraces and verdant recesses and with the stunningly beautiful Monte di Tremezzo beyond more than compensate for any absence of a lakeview.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here six years ago and thought it was fine and so returned as it was cheap. This time being a bit older, I found it to be incredibly basic. It is a lot cheaper than the hotels, but after night 2 I found a B&B (Barchetta) which was almost the same price with breakfast included as well as a larger MUCH more plush and AIRCONDITIONED room. People- Italy is HOT during the summer! You need aircon if only to save you from sweating to death after being eaten alive by the Mosquitos.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

+ Reasonable room rates (especially compared to other options in Bellagio)
+ Our room - room 20 - had a small balcony where you could glimpse the lake over the houses
+ Friendly owners
+ Quiet location, 5-10mins uphill from the lakeside, plenty of shops and eating options nearby
- Room became quite hot as the sun shone directly in it during the afternoon and there was no air conditioning or fan to cool it down
- We travelled light but it could be hard work to access with a lot of luggage

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

This is a good budget hotel, although it is not fancy at all. I had a single room that is just a bed, shower, toilet, sink and wardrobe, but it was clean and functional. For the price I didn’t expect air conditioning so the heat wave in Bellagio while I was there kept me out of the room during the day. My room also had a tiny balcony while made it feel larger.
There is a large terrace/garden with tables and chairs so guests can bring food, play cards, read books, whatever, outdoors.

The hotel is on the highest street from the lakeside (maybe 5-6 blocks) and then a flight of stairs up from the street so it is very quiet (unless church bells keep you awake). Rooms are 1-2 flights up from the terrace and office level, so this is not a good choice for travelers with lots of luggage or difficulty in climbing stairs.

If you need or want amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you simply want a clean, convenient place to close your eyes, it’s a great bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Spey, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Granted, this was probably the cheapest place in Bellagio. The rooms were simple but very clean. I had the single, which was very small. My friends had a double facing the courtyard. The family that runs the place had some very loud arguments with the young girl of the family really carrying on. It was very disruptive to their stay. Fortunately, my room was no where near the noise. The steps really are an issue, getting the luggage up from the ferry. If you're going here, travel light. We didn't take the breakfast, there were plenty of cafes and markets nearby for fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

If you are looking for a nice, clean and inexpensive hotel in Bellagio, then this is it!

There is nothing flash about this family run hotel, just very simple, but it does boast a great location within Bellagio, close to shops, restaurants and ferry. When I say close, Im talking about 50 metres to shops/ restaurants and 250 metres down the hill to the ferry.

The room we stayed in was a comfortable size, with a small dining table and bathroom with bath. I would suggest the best rooms are 18, 19 and 20 as these have slight views of the lake and mountains, a small sunny balcony with a couple of chairs.

We bought beautiful homemade meals from the local minimarket (which they heated for us), and sat some nights watching the sunset from the balcony and others under the grapevine in the garden. Just beautiful.

The hotel is up quite a few stairs from the ferry taking around 3-4 minutes. We arrived in Bellagio by ferry from Como town, after a great scenic boat trip which takes around 2 hours but well worth it. (can be done faster on the fast ferries.) Once settled in Bellagio, we bought tourist mid-lake ferry tickets (about 11 euros each), which ment we could travel by boat all day around Lake Como to around 6 destinations including Menaggio, Cadenabbia, Verenna, Tremezzo and Bellagio.

Bellagio is a perfect destination and the Albergo Giardinetto great little place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Giardinetto

Address: Via Roncati, 12 | 22021, Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Giardinetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Giardinetto Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Giardinetto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.