We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scalinata

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Scalinata to your Saves list
La Scalinata
Salita Mella n. 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I generally like to stay 5 star when I travel, but on this occasion we were travelling with another couple and thought an apartment would be a good idea. Situated in the heart of Bellagio, this apartment is idea. Although difficult to get to if you drove yourself, you can pretty much walk anywhere from the apartments and at the bottom of the cobblestone path way is the ferry terminal which can take you to any destination on Lake Como you want.
If you do drive yourself, rather than using the free parking, I suggest the car park at the top of the street...it is €15 a day and will save you lugging your suitcase through the town
Would definately recommend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Scalinata in the Appartament Mansarda. It is perfectly located in Bellagio to take in the beautiful lake and mountain view and meander the quaint cobblestone streets (the steps are part of the charm!). There are plenty of wonderful shops, restaurants and cafes at your doorstep and the apartment was modern, clean and comfortable. Parking in town is a bit of a pain and when we received a parking ticket in the mail long after we had returned home, Carla was kind enough to sort it out on our behalf - talk about excellent service! Our only mistake was not staying longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the top floor apartment at La Scalinata for 3 nights as part of a months travels in Italy In February 2012. The accommodation was excellent, clean and modern and quite spacious compared to other accommodations we used on rest of our trip. You get a view of the lake from the dining/lounge room and we were able to have gorgeous sunsets through our windows. Our host lived in house below us and was very helpful on arrival. La Scalinata is in a narrow pedestrian only street connecting the main high Rd and lower Wharf road in central Bellagio. It is close to everything in town and only a short stroll to ferries. We loved being there and would highly recommend to other travellers. We found free parking close by and were able to leave our car unattended the whole of our stay. If we return it will be our first choice. Many thanks again to our hosts. ( we were a party of 3 parents with 19y daughter

Room Tip: central location spotlessly clean and modern well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Casa La Scalinata is a "quaint" apartment block located on Salita Mella 21, Bellagio. Salita Mella is a cobblestoned " laneway" 2-3 metres wide and is one of the 3 main pedestrian thoroughfares connecting the upper road and the lower road of Bellagio.

Next to La Scalinata (less than a metre from your bedroom window) is Barchetta Ristorante which seats 70 to 80 people & is quite highly rated by trip advisor.

Directly opposite ( approx 3 metres from your front door/ windows) is is the Princess Cocktail Bar which caters for another 100 customers at a sitting.10 metres further up the laneway is another highly rated trattoria Ristorante Antico Pozzo.

If you are here to party 24x7 & don't mind noisy neighbours and being rtight in the action then Casa La Scalinata is for you.

At 8,9,10pm the conversations and banter happening around you, form part of the ambience of the place. At midnight, 1am 2am- not so.

However, if like us you are a family of 4 here to enjoy and relax in beautiful Bellagio then you should think about staying somewhere else!

Beware the "creative licence" taken by the real estate agents who market these & other similar apartments in Bellagio. 90% of the official photos linked to this Apartment are general photos of Bellagio- not views from your window!. Photos of different apartments are mixed up so what you see (& think you are getting!) is not necessarily what you actually rent for $220 Euro/night.

La Scalatina appears to be a modern trendy apartment. It has been renovated in part. What you don't see for example is that the "kitchenette" is a sink, microwave,bar fridge & stove in a cupboard 1 m x 1 m. There is no laundry (yes we should have read the fineprint!) An "iron" must be requested. We would have thought that for $220 Euro/night in the 21st century these things were basic necessities- apparently not.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We had a double room at La Scalinata which is a beatifully decorated appartment. It is very close to the ferry, being just up the steps directly opposite the wharf. With a lovely terrace where you can eat meals it has a thoroughly Italian atmosphere.

Most importantly - comfortable beds, nicely decorated, close to ferry, right in the heart of Bellagio, compact but good kitchen.

The perfect place to visit Lake Como.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenried, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is not our first stay in the Mansard. And it will not be our last. And we have sent friends to stay there too. I think this says it all! We love to come to Bellagio for a short break every now and again, and the Mansard is out stay of choice. Right in the thick of it, but high enough to have views and peace and quiet so that you can sleep even in the buzz of summer. Love it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Bellagio has a real other worldliness about it. The mountains surrouding the lake and the picture perfect villages clinging to it's shore make it unique. It's Italian but a little Swiss too and it's a seductive combination. In spring time, with the azeleas and wisteria in bloom, it is magical. Approaching the village by ferry when the lake is bathed in a gorgeous painterly light, you know you are in for a special experience.

Getting to Casa La Scalinata is pretty easy. Drive left through the centre of the village, past the other passenger ferry terminal and there is parking available facing the lake. You can park here for a short while to off load your luggage and checkin. Take the steps up the steep passage marked Salita Melita - past a cafe and souvenir shop. There are quite a few stairs, as the other reviewers mention, so be prepared. But it's not too arduous and you are met with a network of intriguing lane ways which you will just be itching to explore.

Being regular travellers with two children, we mostly do self-catering accommodation. It gives you options and space. We stayed in the top apartment even though we were offered the bottom apartment first. There are 3 floors and the caretaker lives in the middle (she is the mother of the owner and was as helpful as she could be considering she speaks no English and didn't understand my husband's Spanish). The bottom apartment is dark and parts of it appeared to be below street level. There is access to a terrace but this is surrounded by buildings and a courtyard. No view as such. The 3rd level apartment is what you want. It is light and spacious and has two large windows with partial views of the lake. It has most of the equipment you need and wi-fi in the main bedroom. The TV is not worth having. Only Italian channels - despite instructions to the contrary. There is no washing machine either. This is annoying when you are on a long holiday but quite common in European self catering accommodation we have come to realise. We like to pack light plus dirty clothes are much harder to repack. We used a laundromat further up the hill which did it for us....for a fee.

We didn't have a problem with noise. There is a bit of hubbub from the restaurant below but nothing too bad. Their pizza is pretty good. I must say that the ice cream in Bellagio is the best I've tasted. We couldn't get enough of the stuff. It's packed with real fruit and seems almost healthy. We never had a bad dining experience during our stay . Everywhere we ate was good, bearing in mind that the more you pay the better the food but, having said that, the less expensive cafes did simple pasta dishes well and made good coffee.

Everyone was courteous and welcoming in all the businesses we entered, even if we didn't buy. I'd like to make a special mention of the beautiful jewellers in Bellagio (I think it has a gold crown as it's logo) and the charming couple who own it. Rosamaria Vergottini is the lady's name. She was just so lovely to my family when we were there and I got some gorgeous Venetian glass earrings which are a lovely momento of a wonderful place.

Last but by no means a footnote - go for a walk and please visit the Garden at Villa Melzi. We all fell in love with this piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Scalinata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinata

Address: Salita Mella n. 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La scalinata" has 2 different apartments "Mansarda" on the thord floor and "Sopra i negozi" on the first floor. Both are situated on a characteristic stairway of the charming swinging old town, with its lakefront arcades and the Church square: lots of typical restaurants coffee, pastries, smoothie and ice-cream shops, wine bars, nightclubs, art galleries, souvenir shops, boutiques, and any kind of services. Boat, bus and taxi stops are within walking distance. In summer it is a limited traffic zone (ZTL) with access permitted to the guests prior authorization. Free parking at 300 meters and paying at 100 to 500 meters. Stylish self-catering apartments, open all year long.Custom craftworks furniture and all modern comforts: wooden floor, autonomous heating, air conditioning, wi-fi Internet, sat-TV, safe, refrigerator, oven and dishwasher. Cookware / dishes / utensils, kettle for tea and coffee, coffee maker, hair dryer. Bedding,bath and kitchen towels. Free access to an outdoor swimming pool in a local sports club (with tennis courts and restaurant) at 1 km. Services on request: baby-sitting, laundry, fax, copier and weekly cleaning. The reception is at our staff's care, always available for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your La Scalinata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinata Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scalinata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.