We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and lovely view, if you are upstairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Scalinata

Save Saved
You added La Scalinata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Scalinata
Salita Mella n. 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Location and lovely view, if you are upstairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Bellagio has a real other worldliness about it. The mountains surrouding the lake and the picture perfect villages clinging to it's shore make it unique. It's Italian but a little Swiss too and it's a seductive combination. In spring time, with the azeleas and wisteria in bloom, it is magical. Approaching the village by ferry when the lake is bathed in a gorgeous painterly light, you know you are in for a special experience.

Getting to Casa La Scalinata is pretty easy. Drive left through the centre of the village, past the other passenger ferry terminal and there is parking available facing the lake. You can park here for a short while to off load your luggage and checkin. Take the steps up the steep passage marked Salita Melita - past a cafe and souvenir shop. There are quite a few stairs, as the other reviewers mention, so be prepared. But it's not too arduous and you are met with a network of intriguing lane ways which you will just be itching to explore.

Being regular travellers with two children, we mostly do self-catering accommodation. It gives you options and space. We stayed in the top apartment even though we were offered the bottom apartment first. There are 3 floors and the caretaker lives in the middle (she is the mother of the owner and was as helpful as she could be considering she speaks no English and didn't understand my husband's Spanish). The bottom apartment is dark and parts of it appeared to be below street level. There is access to a terrace but this is surrounded by buildings and a courtyard. No view as such. The 3rd level apartment is what you want. It is light and spacious and has two large windows with partial views of the lake. It has most of the equipment you need and wi-fi in the main bedroom. The TV is not worth having. Only Italian channels - despite instructions to the contrary. There is no washing machine either. This is annoying when you are on a long holiday but quite common in European self catering accommodation we have come to realise. We like to pack light plus dirty clothes are much harder to repack. We used a laundromat further up the hill which did it for us....for a fee.

We didn't have a problem with noise. There is a bit of hubbub from the restaurant below but nothing too bad. Their pizza is pretty good. I must say that the ice cream in Bellagio is the best I've tasted. We couldn't get enough of the stuff. It's packed with real fruit and seems almost healthy. We never had a bad dining experience during our stay . Everywhere we ate was good, bearing in mind that the more you pay the better the food but, having said that, the less expensive cafes did simple pasta dishes well and made good coffee.

Everyone was courteous and welcoming in all the businesses we entered, even if we didn't buy. I'd like to make a special mention of the beautiful jewellers in Bellagio (I think it has a gold crown as it's logo) and the charming couple who own it. Rosamaria Vergottini is the lady's name. She was just so lovely to my family when we were there and I got some gorgeous Venetian glass earrings which are a lovely momento of a wonderful place.

Last but by no means a footnote - go for a walk and please visit the Garden at Villa Melzi. We all fell in love with this piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We stayed in the Mansard Apartment which is on the third floor and appears to have been built in the attic of the building. Apartment has two bedrooms (a double and a single), separate bathroom (with shower) and large combined kitchen/dining/lounge room. Two full length windows open up in this room to yield magnificent views over Bellagio, Lake Como and the other side of the Lake. The apartment was very modern, beautifully appointed and well equipped. The only item we could see missing was a toaster and that was delivered to us the next morning courtesy of the owner's mother, Adriana, who lived on the second floor. Whilst there were no windows in the main bedroom or bathroom there were large covered skylights in both that opened up so that you could both see out and also let fresh air in if needed - these skylights were very good. Wireless internet was available.

The apartment building is located about halfway up/down a very steep pedestrian only street that leads from the top of Bellagio down to the waterfront but then all the streets running in this direction in Bellagio are steep. We had a car and were able to park in a small parking area at the top of the town (normally reserved for residents but visitors can park there for short periods to load/unload baggage etc). This parking area was about 50/75 metres away from the street where the apartment is so that meant that you had to carry/wheel your luggage about 100/150 metres then carry it up three flights of stairs. This was quite an effort but the rewards were a great apartment right in the centre of town and all the action and a magnificent view.

Free car parking was available about 350 metres away from the apartment but there were not that many spaces and I wouldn't like to try my luck in the height of summer. More free parking, I understand, is available further out from the centre of town. We caught the car ferry over to Bellagio from Cadenabbia. This service is very good.

The owner's mother is a delightful lady and she took us on a short tour so that we would know where to locate the deli, the green grocer, mini mart, laundries (one self serve the other valet), bread shop etc, all of which, together with numerous bars, restaurants and cafes, were within a hundred metre circle of the apartment.

Bellagio is an excellent place to visit and this was an excellent apartment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Being in Bellagio for our daughter's wedding we rented both apartments, the "oldies" in the "Mansard" (for the wonderful views) and the young "Above the Shops" (where they could entertain some of their many friends on the terrace). Both apartments were great - clean, modern, well appointed, plenty of space and hot water, etc. Carla and her mother were wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful, and the location could not have been better - restaurants, bars and shops all around and even a mini-mart within a short (level!) walk! As almost anywhere in Italy be prepared for lots of steps! - both within the accommodation but also round this very beautiful lakeside town. One minor criticism, being next to two restaurants, the lower apartment can suffer a bit from street noise until the restaurants close - a minor problem - the "Mansard", upstairs, is not affected! (contrary to the owner's plan, the "Mansard" has now been extended to a genuine two bedrooms!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We stayed at the "The Stairway" in centro Bellagioin the "Above the shops" apartment in Bellagio for 4 nights and one night at the "Alley" in the village of San Giovanni just outside of Bellagio in the apartment "The Loft", and we loved both. Carla and her mother Adriana were extremely kind to my family and myself. Both apartments are very comfortable and very modern. We love the small traditional town feel. The village of San Giovanni just outside town is very quit and family oriented, though not easily walked to from town since you must walk along a narrow buisy road. It didn't bother me, but I believe that it might be a nerve racking trek for most people. The apartment "Above the Shops" are comfortable with many views of the lake and of the church bell tower from the balcony. Our vacation was during Holy Week, so we were able to experience a wonderful mass in San Giovanni, where everyone in the church was warm and welcoming, despite everyone in the village knowing that we were strangers. It did help to communicate with the locals since we do speak Spanish, which is 76% simular to Italian. What a wounderful experience!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

Stayed for 4 nights over New Year. Casa La Scalinata is tucked up one of the tiny cobbled streets. The building comprises of three floors with an apartment on the ground floor and top floor (The Mansard). I stayed in the Mansard and the apartment looks like it has just been refurbished and includes a kitchen and bathroom. I was staying with my wife and two children. There is one bedroom and a sofa bed (i originally tried to book the downstairs two bed apartment but it was booked). Everything is is immaculate and the view from the Mansard windows is fantastic. The owners mother greeted us and was very friendly. I can't wait for a return visit and I will certainly go back to The Mansard. Much better than a hotel you become one of the locals.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Scalinata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scalinata

Address: Salita Mella n. 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments "LA SCALINATA " overlook the characteristics stairways of the charming swinging old town, with its lakefront arcades and the Church square: lots of typical restaurants coffee, pastries, smoothie and ice-cream shops, wine bars, nightclubs, art galleries, souvenir shops, boutiques, and any kind of services.Boat, bus and taxi stops are within walking distance.In summer it is a limited traffic zone (ZTL) with access permitted to the guests prior authorization.Free parking at 300 meters and paying at 100 to 500 metersStylish self-catering apartments, open all year long.Custom craftworks furniture and all modern comforts: wooden floor, autonomous heating, air conditioning, wi-fi Internet, sat-TV, safe, refrigerator, oven and dishwasher.Cookware / dishes / utensils, kettle for tea and coffee, coffee maker, hair dryer. Bedding,bath and kitchen towels.Free access to an outdoor swimming pool in a local sports club (with tennis courts and restaurant) at 1 km Services on request: baby-sitting, laundry, fax, copier and weekly cleaning.The reception is at our staff’s care, always available for any need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Scalinata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scalinata Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scalinata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.