We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best rooms we have ever experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Bellagio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   salita Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“One of the best rooms we have ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The view in our room is hard to beat. It is the best room of the hotel, corner room on the top floor, room 404. You pay a little more but it is worth to splurge once in awhile. I regretted why I only booked for 3 nights, I could have added one more day. Jane who met us at the reception is a very nice lady and gave us tips on what to check out in Bellagio in the days we were there.

The thing that we could have wished they could improve is the food they can offer breakfast. There was no egg or bacon at all. Just jams and one type of cold ham. On our third day, we saw some people ordering capuccino instead of just getting brewed coffee.

The room to the key is a card which you put in a little box to turn on the electricity of the room. This is quite common and the disadvantage to this is that you could not re-charge your gadgets if you go out for dinner. Anyway, it was not such a big deal. It is just that I always ran out of battery on my camera and my tablet because of too much pictures taken during the day. Bellagio and its surrounding areas is just so beautiful.

The elevator is not reliable esp. if you go from the first floor (eating area) to your room on the 4th floor. During our stay, the elevator never came on the first floor. The ground level is 0 (reception area).

The other travellers have mentioned the steps leading to the hotel from the street level. It is quite some steps so it is wise not to fill up your suitcase that you cannot carry it. We never bothered the hotel about this issue. For the view we got, it was worth carrying our suitcases.

The hotel offers a 10% discount if you eat dinner at the restaurant of Hotel du Lac which is located along the main street of Bellagio right infront of the pier. Great food there so it is worthwhile to eat dinner there.

The bed is good to sleep on. The temperature of the aircon is controlled by the receptionist. So you can just ask them to adjust it for you if you want it colder or warmer. Dial 9 if you don't like to go down. Wifi works well.

There are 2 ways to come to Bellagio. Either via Como where you could take either a slow or a fast ferry. The slow one took almost 2 hours but it was enjoyable. In going home, we took a shorter route back to Milan. We took the train from Varenna, a place across Bellagio. From there, we took the train to Milan which took only an hour and 3 min. Buy the ticket from the conductor on the train. The Varenna Esino train station is closed therefore you could not buy tickets from a machine but the train stops there, that is for sure.

There is a lavandera (self-laundry). Cheap and good to have a service like this esp. if one has been travelling Italy for many days. Next time, I will even bring fewer clothes and wash the clothes during the trip. There are many train stations where you really have to carry your suitcases as there is no escalator or elevator, just stairs and it's not a piece of cake to carry suitcases. So reserve your shopping on the last city you will visit in Italy before your flight going home.

For 2 nights, we could hear there is music coming from an establishment. But at 12 midnight, the music stops. It is not irritating however as they sang old songs and not the modern disco music these days. It sounds like karaoke but maybe not, it's just the singers singing sounds like they are in a karaoke bar.

Highly recommend this hotel and we wish to go back and get the same room!

Room Tip: Top floor on the corner has a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    165
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
45
286
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a lovely family run hotel located by the ferry dock in Bellagio. You have to climb up a step hill to enter the hotel but it is worth it. It is important to have a room with a view of the lake because it is really special. There is no restaurant but their sister hotel is nearby and has an excellent restaurant. There is buffet breakfast in the hotel which is just fine. There is a nearby spa which is associated with the hotel as well. The hotel is quite well maintain. Our stay was just perfect.
Added bonus walk up the hill by the hotel turn right and then left and there is a laundry mat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view if the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel was the perfect choice for our stay in Bellagio. You do have to go up several small steps to reach the hotel (and carrying heavy luggage is not an easy feat- but there is usually someone at the front desk who will get it from the street and carry up it up for you). The lake view rooms have gorgeous views of Lake Como and are well worth the price. The breakfast is simple but enough to get you started in the morning. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Bellagio is definitely the town to stay in while visiting Lake Como and Hotel Bellagio is a wonderful boutique hotel. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Breaking news…………..Hotel Bellagio brings Mr Creosote out of retirement!!

Perfectly situated in the heart of beautiful Bellagio, on an archetypal, cobbled Italian street with breath taking views over Lake Como. During this my latest stay, it was just as it has always been, maybe even better!! This small family run hotel never disappoints.

I do not think that I can come up with anymore superlatives than those that are already exhibited in the positive reviews of this hotel, the town, the lake or indeed Northern Italy!

Breakfast is the only meal served at The Bellagio and it is excellent. Make sure it is Suri that prepares your morning cappuccino, perfecto!
Their sister hotel, The Du Lac which is within 100 metres, will take care of any other meals that you may require, snacks, lunch and dinner are all very well catered for!! Killer G and T's too!!!

Simply, the Leoni family, Dani and the gorgeous Janey and their staff are fantastic, they are a credit to their profession and Italian tourism. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them.

Terrific, you will love it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Well, I am staying in this hotel at this precise minute and I cannot fault it. I'm in a front facing room on the top floor, watching and listening to a thunderstorm roll by, while listening to a slow, soothing sax playing in the street down below. If I was to find a fault with this, there'd be something wrong with my head. I have full wifi access; hence this post;The hotel is clean, well located; The view is actually heaven on Earth; The town is quaint, full of great shopping. The hotel is spotless. Very Italian chic boutique. Excellent.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very good hotel ideally located just on the back of the main road. good breakfast in the terrace. The ideal place in bellagio. Ask for the room,in the upper floors for the view on the lake and enjoy italian food in all the restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

A family run hotel that was absolutely flawless, I enjoyed my stay so much and can't wait to take my family back with me next time. Impeccably run, spotlessly clean, the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect, close to the ferry but also tucked away down a little cobbled lane way. I booked late for the peak season so I stayed in a few different rooms and they were all just lovely. The health club is terrific too, the restaurant terrace was gorgeous with delicious local food, not touristy at all. It's a great place to go when you want to feel like more of a local instead of a tourist: perfect for a rest in the heat of the afternoon when everything is closed anyway or to while away an evening with a cocktail next to the pool. Breakfast was delicious, the coffee was so good and those cornettos with apricot jam! Bellagio itself is in such a lovely area that feels so safe, so as a single traveller I could just relax and not worry at all. The hotel gave me great advice for sightseeing and even organised a paddle-boarding trip on Lake Como. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Address: salita Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.