We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third stay in 27 years - it's only got better.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellagio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Bellagio
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   salita Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My third stay in 27 years - it's only got better.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Fabulous Bellagio, fantastic Hotel Bellagio. This was our third stay at this hotel where we honeymooned 27 years ago. No it's not the "Ritz", it's just a damn good hotel with spectacular views over the lake and mountains. Happily the views haven't changed, but the hotel has had a total modernisation - clean, fresh and understated. The breakfast is excellent with a good range of food to choose from, and wash down with lots of cafe latte. The staff are professional, courteous, friendly and helpful. We can't wait to return to this little bit of heaven on earth.

Room Tip: It goes without saying that a lake view is essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    167
    32
    12
    7
See reviews for
45
295
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The moment I arrived to this hotel by myself nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were friendly and helped me with my italian which I am learning. The room was magnificent which a view to die for. I was on the third floor. There was always a smile when I walked in the front door. The only thing is if you have to carry a large suitcase and have difficulties then beware it is up 30 cobblestone steps. I managed with several rests on the way up but on leaving the nice man carried my case down for me. Would definitely stay here again. A warm and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I found the Hotel Bellagio on Trip Advisor, and it was excellent in many ways. The rooms are extremely nice and modern-feeling. We had rooms with lake views (155 Euros/night), and the views were enchanting from the small balcony or lying in bed.

The staff were not terribly gracious, but did passably well. The desk clerk did respond extremely well when we complained about excessive heat from the bathroom towel rack heater.

The breakfast was good, but not noteworthy--a decent Continental breakfast.

The location is wonderful, although up a long flight of stairs outside. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance.

Our main complaint was the parking. We paid 12 Euros/night to park in a garage quite far away. FInding it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, that was very negative!! We first stopped at the hotel to get a map to the parking and drop the luggage off. The map was not adequate. You have to drive through a pedestrian zone that looks like a road on the map. It is, in fact, a ZTL (Zono Traffico Limitato). This made no sense to us so we had to drive around several times thru narrow, windy streets before working up the nerve to drive through throngs of tourists. This is not intuitive for us, and the hotel clerk should have made it clearer (she had good English).

We never could get the Wifi to work.

Overall, I would stay in the Hotel Bellagio again, but there were a couple quirks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

My 76 year old mother and I (her fourth trip to Italy, my first) stayed in a double room, no view, for 2 nights in mid-September 2011 (second stop on my 6-location whirlwind tour of Italy after 2 nights in Milan). I loved the hotel, and Bellagio, and am booking to come back, as a solo traveller, next September. Yes, it's up a flight of 38 steps and there's no help (it's clear from all the pictures Bellagio is a series of beautiful up/down lanes and there is not extra staff on hand at the hotel to help you, so pack light). Yes, the rooms with a lake view are beautiful (I peeked into one as the maids were cleaning), and in hindsight I wish I'd booked one for my mother and I as she spent more time in the room reading (jet lag) and happy hour would have been lovely looking over the lake. Yes, the pictures are really what you get, which is great...the outdoor deck for breakfast was wonderful with it's little-bit-more than peek-a-boo view of the lake. And breakfast was good, fresh fruit, yoghurt, hand made cappucino/latte, sweet breads (brioche, croissants, etc.)...I can't remember anymore if they had any meat and cheese selection...I don't think so, but I might be wrong on this point.

As for getting in/out, we took the train from Milan to Varenna, then the boat to Bellagio, arriving around 4pm, and that worked out wonderfully. There was a 24-hour general strike (9pm Sat to 9pm Sun) so we took the 8:30am bus to Como (small, lots of us crammed in as it turned out just about the only train in all of Italy NOT running that morning was the train from Varenna back to Milan) which was cheap (around 8 euro) and easy (dropped us all off right in front of the train station). We did the tour of Villa Balbianello, which I didn't think was worth 45 euros each, but it was a pretty place.

Room Tip: The lake view from view rooms is really, really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had four nights there and really enjoyed Bellagio. The location of hotel is excellent and the steps up from the main street is easy for those used to Europe. Contrary to a lot of the other reviews we found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly although we did converse in English and Italian. The breakfast was typical for Italy and we thought was good. You will not get fried breakfasts in many hotels in Italy! The hotel was a little pricey but we put that down to being in Bellagio which is just a magical place to visit. The only real downer for me was the bed. Seemed strange that the hotel was very comfortable in every way except the main item. It was just rock hard and poor quality. As a big Aussie (186cm and 100kg) this was a major issue for me and even though I loved the place I am not sure I would stay here again just because of the beds. What were they thinking when they brought them?

Room Tip: Checkout the bed comfort closely and try and stay in higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

An enormous disappointment. We arrived after a long international flight. We knew we had to lug the bags up the stairs, but not having them even open the doors for us as we struggled out of breath, portended the level of service for the entire trip. One morning at breakfast, the lady in charge yelled at one of her subordinates who had a painful wry neck. She was so abusive that we felt badly and went over to give him an extra tip. This hotel had a lovely view. The rooms were indeed clean. The maid usually arrived before supper, but always after lunch. The front desk staff wins the prize for the coldest and least helpful of all our visits to Italy, and they have been numerous. Bellagio itself was a bit of a disappointment. Lovely scenery with a Teutonic flare, except that in Germany we've experienced far greater hospitality. I would conclude by saying that the climb up the stairs with the luggage is far less unpleasant than the welcome (or lack thereof) upon arrival in the reception area.

Room Tip: Try another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel has a very good location near the ferry landings, restaurants and shops.

The room we stayed on the top floor has two large picturesque windows which offer a panoramic view of the lake. You can open and close the windows easily with the electric control by the bedside.

Apart from the view and location, there is nothing much to rave about. The staff is indifferent and not welcoming, the room furnishing is basic and minimal and breakfast is disappointing, poor in quality and choices.

For $169 per night, it seems overpriced. I would not return to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellagio

Address: salita Grandi 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bellagio 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.