We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do it for the views!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do it for the views!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and we had the pleasure to be upgraded to a junior suite. We had a very '70 like room, with a private balcony and a view which was probably the best I ever had in my life. Absolutely spectacular - even despite the foggy circumstances !

The room itself wasn't very special, old furniture that urgently needs replacing and the bed gave me a backache. Also the cleaners didn't do their job properly : we had ants crawling around a dead insect before and after cleaning... And it wasn't in a dark corner or anything. Breakfast is really bad too unfortunately.

The people running the place are very nice and helpful however. We didn't try the food in the evening, there is plenty of choice downtown.

I would recommend this place just for the views, not for anything else. But again, I do think the view is worth it and it's one of the more affordable places around Bellagio.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    167
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
69
303
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

My partner and I had already spent a stressful few days in Milan before driving up to Bellagio so it was a relief to find that the hotel and all others were so well sign posted as you arrived in the town. The first thing that struck us as we parked the car was how picturesque the hotel was.

As we checked in the lady was wonderful, genuinely helpful and friendly and as they are located just outside the main town up on the hill had a list of their own daily shuttle which made 3 trips a day and of restaurants in and around the town that provided a free shuttle service. Despite the fact that we had a hire car we chose to use the shuttle service during the day to save on the chaos of trying to find parking etc.

Our room was not part of the main building but was part of a separate small block with the most fanastic view out over Bellagio and Lake Como. The room was large compared to our accommodation in Milan and although furnished in a very basic style had everything we needed... including our own small terrace with table and chairs.

We spent 3 days in Bellagio and fell in love with it's relaxed atmosphere and brilliant location. As we walked around the town we stopped to look at other hotels and genuinely felt that we had the better deal in a family run establishment.

It was a wonderfully relaxing stay and without hesitation we would both stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Good sized room with fantastic views over Bellagio and Lake Como. Room on top floor with balcony - couldn't ask for better view. Service was good with the host being very friendly and helpful, and she spoke excellent English.
Hotel is about 3k's from Bellagio. Walking to town is not recommended as the road does not have a safe pedestrian access. Free parking is available in Bellagio, or the hotel offers a shuttle service.
Breakfast was typical european and satisfactory.
Great place to stay to explore the region.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

First, do not use your GPS, but call and get directions. Both the mother and son who operate the hotel speak serviceable English. Everything was spelled out in advance as to extra charges, and the shuttle was inexpensive at 2 EU per person. They listed restaurants that would pick up and return us at no charge if we wanted to go to town for supper.

Our room on the third floor had two stunning views out each side and a balcony. It was clean and well-furnished with a nice bathroom. Everything was nicely appointed in the hotel. The bed seemed comfortable enough, and we appreciated the nice hangers in the closet, since our hotel in Tuscany had a jumble of leftovers!

The staff was particularly nice and helpful. They were friendly and willing to chat, and gave us excellent directions back to the Milan Airport, with choices.

Our one disappointment was the food. They told us they had "snacks" at the bar at night, but it turned out to be a full-fledged menu. However, they pretty much picked our choices, which I suppose were all they had prepared that night. The salad and tortellini were really bad, and we just ate a few bites. I have never eaten such bad Italian food! However, they did keep our half-finished bottle of wine in the refrigerator for us, so we could drink it the next evening with pizza we brought back from town. The breakfast was adequate, but I was surprised there was no yogurt, and the quality of the rolls and fruit was mediocre. On sunday they did have nice dishes of homemade egg custard with a sort of bread pudding idea. Unfortunately, we had such a wonderful breakfast buffet at the Plaza Hotel in Mestre-Venice that it was a real disappointment not to have nicer breakfasts, which should have been easy to manage just be providing high quality ingredients. And they need a new cook for their lunches and suppers, unless that was just a bad night!

There is free wireless internet in the lobby, and a computer with printer, so we were able to print all our boarding passes -- a great advantage. Actually, I used my IPad in the room, but supposedly their password malfunctioned, so I was not supposed to be able to get on. This is a general complaint I have with European hotels and expensive hotels in the US. I wonder why Holiday Inn Express can always give me free wifi in my room, but hotels that cost twice as much can't seem to manage it, and nit-pick over costs.

However despite the food complaints, it's easy enough just to get food (other than breakfast) elsewhere, and the general ambience, views and peace and quiet are well worth it.

Sharon Toji

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire, scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This is a special place. Old fashioned, family run,friendly, helpful - nothing too much trouble. Certainly not grand, but comfortable and relaxed. Our fifth visit and just as memorable each time.
Sitting out for breakfast or a glass of wine on the terrace with Lake Como below and all around and the snow capped mountains right up to the Alps stretching away on every side - is literally breathtaking.
On the hill a mile or two behind Bellagio - hence the stunning position - but with a hotel shuttle to and from the town, you have the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Wonderful place in a gorgeous, lovely little village. The hotel has a fantastic outlook, and the top room had almost 270 degree views of the majestic, snow capped mountains, tranquil soft lake and the village a few kilometres down the road - just stunning. We felt that if we hadn't had a car it would have been somewhat difficult to get to the town and back, although not impossible. The room was spacious and clean, but we felt that we could have had more regular heating, as it was still quite cold at the time we were there. Warning - don't bother with the 'room service'. They didn't have most of the dishes listed and the food itself was not very interesting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

After reading the few negative reviews on this B&B and then staying there, I would have to say that the negative reviewers have not travelled extensively in Europe for affordable prices. The host was very welcoming and gave us advice on places to eat and park. The rooms had spectacular views and the breakfast was a standard Italian breakfast. Nothing was lacking during our stay. The owner was kind without being overwhelming. I will recommend this to all of my friends when they travel to Lake Como. A great B&B!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.