We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice when staying in Bellagio.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
toronto, ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice when staying in Bellagio.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I had reserved a room at the Hotel Il Perlo Panorama based on the overwhelming pleasure guests seemed to take in the terrace overlooking the mountains and lake. I do not overstate it when I say that the reality far exceeded my expectation with regard to this view. It was absolutely breathtaking! My husband and I were both tremendously pleased with the service as well. Carlo is an excellent host who, while catering to a very full house in the form of a large party of cyclists and assorted guests, and in spite of having to contend with the complications of a power outage caused by a severe rain storm, remained gracious, good-natured, and resourceful enough to provide us with a warm welcome, surprisingly cold beer, and a delicious and hearty hot meal. The young woman who works as cook and server, and whose name I've sadly forgotten, deserves a mention too. Her efforts were quite heroic, yet she remained composed, pleasant and humble through it all. The lake and mountains proved quite dramatic in the midst of the lightning storm, but the true beauty of the panorama revealed itself once the clouds parted. Incredible! The single element which prevents me from assigning Il Perlo Panorama the full five-star rating is the quality of the room. Ours was very clean and certainly adequate, but definitely in need of an update. Nevertheless, I recommend this hotel without reservation, and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    167
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
69
305
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days of a 12 day tour of Central/Northern Italy. It was by far the best accommodation and location.

Evening meal delicious on the patio overlooking the lakes. My vegetarian daughter was surprised to find the vegetarian pizza had courgettes on it, a vegetable she hates so that ruined her meal but it was not the hotels fault and it was a lovely pizza all the same. Also the mixed salad had chopped ham on it, so watch out if you're vegetarian too! Breakfast was fantastic, buffet style with boiled eggs and hot chocolate and many more things to chose from than other hotels we stayed at.

The family rooms are more like apartments, very spacious and ours being split level with 2 single beds downstairs and a double bed at entrance level. The view from both the room windows was spectacular seeing both Lake Como and Lecco. The owner was very helpful and told us the best places to park our hire car, even where the one-and-only public beach on the lake was. Swimming in a fresh-water lake is an experience I will not forget either!

I will return another year, this time staying for a week and maybe use the town's shuttle service to get there from Linate airport as the lake road to get there was a bit scary at times for someone not used to left-hand drive, very narrow in places.

Room Tip: room with lake view if you can get one! book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfort, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

After getting out of the cruise coming from Corsica and 4 hours driving up half way to come back home, we stopped at Bellagio. It was late in the evening and it was dark already. We could feel on the way around the Coma lake that the lake was on our right and the mountain on ou left, but that all. After arriving at the hotel, we were welcomed by the owner and we got our room. In the morning, we went to the beakfast and it was unbelleivable....The most beautifull vue I've ever seen, a very nice terrasse where you can eat and have a 360° wonderfull panoramic. The service was excellent, the reception was very friendly and the room was exactly what we wanted. we were 4 and we got a room with a king size bed and 2 more signle beds for the childrens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It's hard to believe this hotel only received a 2 star rating. We were so pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The parking was free, the reception was warm and the room was ideal. We have a four year old and asked for a bed for him - we received just that. The service from everyone at the hotel was superb. The food was delicious (dinner and breakfast) and the hospitality was genuine. Of course, the view from the seating area/dinner area was truly spectacular - I don't know what could match.......We would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We found this charming hotel on TripAdvisor and was positively surprised by the friendly reception that we received along with the charming and welcoming atmosphere of the hotel. The views are excellent and seems to be either of the mountains or of the Como lake; providing an nice view of the two "legs" of the lake, surprisingly to us it was rather difficult to spot Bellagio itself from the hotel. If you are OK staying a bit outside the city center (which is a short drive away with relatively easy parking), I'd highly recommend this place for a nice and beautiful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The owners were so helpful and attentive to our every need. The view from our rooms was stunning. Take advantage of the shuttle to town or walk to San Giovanni to the ferry. Wish we would have stayed longer. Trying to find a way to get back some day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Having returned home a week or so ago I noticed that what looks suspiciously like the view from the terrace of Il Perlo Panarama - or somewhere just a few feet away - has found its way onto the front cover of company offering packaged holidays across the lake in Menaggio ! This is very flattering if not strictly kosher. Back in the real Hotel Il Perlo Panorama the views of Lake Como are truly extraordinary and well worth the steep drive up the hill. As you survey the vista in the early dawn light, it's all too easy to feel like some Roman senator of 2000 years ago.
That said however the hotel is also popular with tourists and cyclists - we were told many of them come to the area to train on hill climbs for which much sympathy. However; if you seek a simple unpretentious family owned and run hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff, this is the one. Low cost car transfers from the hotel down to the Bellagio quayside run three times a day and can usually be arranged at other times for just a couple of euros per passenger. The hotel puts on what it calls a basic menu evening meal and taken out on the terrace at night this is excellent value for money.The rooms are clean and tidy with oodles of space. We'd certainly go back anytime - for having now visited all three of the major Italian lakes, Como and its villas and gardens are by far the most accessible.

Room Tip: So far as we could see all the rooms are about the same standard - but it's worth paying a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;