We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view!!! Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view!!! Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Although, this is not a "luxury" hotel like many in Bellagio... I would stay here again . Do not let the 2 star rating foul you. It is clean, cozy and if the view could contribute to the rating it would be the highest! Arguably, the best view in Bellagio and possibly all Lake Como. Charming hotel with very friendly staff and good breakfast. The short distance from Bellagio is not a problem and the view on top the mountain is worth the 3 min drive or cheap taxi into the city center ( the hotel also has free shuttles). Great value- only compliant are the thin walls. We stayed in the "junior suite lake view" worth the extra $ for the wall to wall view and private balcony, although the hotel has a large patio for all guest with the same view.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    167
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
69
305
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel has a great view. If you have a car when in Bellagio, and place a premium on quiet affordability, this is a good choice for you. But if you're expecting any of the modern conveniences of most hotels...go elsewhere.

Most of the other reviews say it all, but I'll just reiterate what stands out from our stay:
--PHENOMENAL view. Really just amazing. It is situated up in the hills of Bellagio, and just really beautiful.

--The flip side of the view. however, is the lack of convenience. We say a map in Bellagio center of all the different hotels, and this one is the only hotel up in the mountains. That is great, but that is also very inconvenient if you dont have a car.

--Shuttle. They run a shuttle -- but when we just stayed in October -- it was three times a day from the hotel, and three trips back up from downtown Bellagio. It ends at 7 pm -- after that, you're on your own.
And they charge for the shuttle??? Really? It just strikes me as really cheap to charge your hotel guests 1 euro/per person for transportation. You can request it different times of the day -- but then it's 2 euros! Just kind of dumb.
Lastly, they do apparently have deals with restaurants in Bellagio center, where if you have dinner there -- they'll give you a free ride up to the hotel after your meal. Unfortunately, that was not communicated to us prior to our stay.

--Communication. In short, it was poor during our stay. The woman at the front desk spoke mediocre English.


TIPS:
--This hotel is not walkable from the Bellagio center. You can either drive up to there, or take a 10 euro taxi ride

--If you are traveling to Como by train to Perlo Panorama, go into Varenna and take the ferry over. On the day you are leaving, if you want to explore the towns around Como, leave your luggage at the information/ticket booth in Varenna (right off the ferry stop). They are open late, and then you can just go right to the train in Varenna.

--CALL (do not email) the hotel, before your arrival, with any requests you have. They did not respond to my email.

--Get a room with a lake view. It's worth it.

--Shower, in our regular room, was very small. Be prepared.

--Eat elsewhere. Food was fine, and okay in a pinch, but there are plenty better meals to be had in Bellagio or elsewhere.

--Internet was bad. We had to sit in the hallway outside our room to get it. Be prepared.

--Go earlier for breakfast. In the last hour, they ran out of food, and the one staffer they had working had trouble clearing the tables.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent location, very close to Bellagio centre (with shuttle as necessary). Very friendly staff always trying to help the customers even at late hours in the evening. Wonderful value for money in this gorgeous area on Lake Como.

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with view on the Lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was in Italy on business and added five days to the start of my trip to ride the climbs and route of the Giro di Lombardia and also take in the professional race. Thanks to Carlo, my experience was amazing. I stayed in both the hotel and in an apartment below Carlo's house. Both were perfect for my relatively basic needs. This is a two star hotel, but the location, the view and Carlo's hospitality elevated my experience above that.

Carlo also arranged a cycling tour for three days through comolagobike.com and we had ex-pro riders guide us over all of the climbs of Il Lombardia past and present. The tour also included viewing the pro race from various points along the route (including the final switchback on the Muro di Sormano) and Fabio, one of the ex-pro cyclists, managed to get us VIP passes to watch the finish from the 25m to go line! This wasn't promised as part of the tour, but a very nice surprise. Magic. Good carbon fibre bikes are available for rent at the hotel, just bring you pedals and shoes (and saddle) if you're a serious cyclist. If you bring your own bike, a gear of 34/30 is not too low for the Muro.

The breakfast is great for cyclists, i.e., lots of good food. I didn't try the evening meal. There are two good restaurants about 1 km down the hill (La Torretta pizzeria and Bella Vista ristorante). Turn right at the church and walk through a charming little neighbourhood to get to both restaurants. There is also a small bar en route where locals gather to energetically watch football. The bar also has decent food.

The only downside of this hotel is also its draws for cycling fans: it's located on the lower reaches of the climb to the Madonna del Ghisallo. Unfortunately, it sits right at the top of a 300 m section with the steepest grade (14%). Save a little in your legs at the end of your ride for the final climb to this paradise overlooking Bellagio. A beer on the veranda provides excellent post-ride recovery.

Room Tip: North-facing rooms on the first floor (one level up from the lobby) share a large balcony with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were on a trip with a classic car so parking was essential. Virtually impossible or extremely difficult in the town centre. Although out of town the views were stunning and we had a superbly located bedroom. The staff were so welcoming and spoke perfect English. Evening meal was perhaps a bit basic but welcome and we really couldn't have found anywhere better. We had no problems with the wi-fi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcap56
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

You won't believe the view unless you see it. The hotel is up in the hills above Bellagio. The view is incredible. Our room was basic but very large and very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. The one downside to staying up here is that you have to rely on taxis, the hotel shuttle or your own car to get places. But it's probably worth the trade off. Breakfast was excellent as well. We usually explored during the day but I would recommend a full day of just enjoying the view if you can spare it.

Room Tip: Choose the room around back under the patio. It's very quiet and has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September and wished we could have stayed more days. The view is unbelievable and I doubt you could find much in the world to beat it. We had a first floor room leading out onto a shared balcony. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, and we were lucky enough to have a room with another side area to sit. The only downside to our stay was the tiny shower cubicle where you could barely turn around. The terrace balcony on ground level was where we sat mostly and watched the action on the lake and in the sky with the plane vapour trails. Breakfasts are very adequate with the usual array of ham, cheese, cereals and a nice touch of a home made frittata one morning and pancakes the next. Breakfast could also be taken out to the terrace to enjoy the view. Dined in the dining area one night for their home cooked pastas, but it was not planned as we had planned to visit a farm higher up on the hill to sample their wares. But a tourist bus had an accident higher on the hill which caused chaos. Carlo very kindly offered to help ferry the tourists down to the ferry in town as we also did on one trip - just to help out. With this chaos happening on the hill, the dining room experience was probably let down a little with a little bit of misunderstanding on who was ordering what - but I will put that down to what was happening on the hill and perhaps a shortage of staff - food was very tasty. Free parking was very welcome after the high fees we had paid elsewhere on our trip. The hotel is a couple of kilometres from the centre of town, but when you get to the top of the hill, you will know why you picked this place. There seemed to be bikes for hire, but I would check this out with the hotel.
Staff were more than helpful with where to park when going to town, where to eat, shop etc. Bellagio shopping is a delight and with quality restaurants lining the foreshore it is a pleasant change from the chaos of the larger cities. Gosh I wish I was there now - I think I will have to go back soon to see the snow on the mountains and to appreciate Bellagio in winter. Bellagio is a must on your trip to Italy and this Hotel will complete your happiness.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing straight out onto the terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.