We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place to stay - amazing view! One of the best views I have seen. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice food and breakfast as well - delicious pumpkin (zucca) bread. Really enjoyed my stay - the view is seriously one of the best views you'll ever see and is better than any view I had in my travels around the lake. I could have spent hours outside on the terrace just watching the view! Big thanks to the cleaning staff as well, who put my towels into shapes every day (eg a swan) - was so nice to come back to! Absolutely amazing place to stay! I'd highly recommend it.

I was a bit worried about the location initially as it's not in Bellagio town centre, but I very quickly figured out the hotel shuttle service (which goes 3 times per day, big thanks to Franko!) and also the local buses, and it was absolutely fine. The showers are also very small (I went to a hairdresser to get my hair washed) but for the view and the service and the food, I loved my stay so it was only a small inconvenience that didn't affect my trip. I highly recommend Hotel Il Perlo Panorama.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    204
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
91
397
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stay here! For 2 star prices you get 1.) a stunningly spectacular view from your room of all three legs of Lake Como formed by the Bellagio peninsula--Swiss Alps in the background and Italian Alps on both sides; 2.) quiet, 3.) outstanding family style attention from owners Carlo and his mother Piera, and 4.) easy access to the town of Bellagio below and the high points of the Bellagio peninsula above. Plus the food in the hotel restaurant is excellent. I've visited twice, first with my wife in March, second with a friend in August, and can't wait to return. On the second trip, we used the hotel as a launching pad for cycling in the mountains around Lake Como. The hotel is now stocking good quality bikes for this purpose that can be rented on site, although they will need to upgrade to higher end bikes for the serious cyclist attempting the very steep grades in the area. The hotel itself is located on a 14% grade portion of the famous Ghisallo climb, which is used frequently in professional cycling competitions such as the Giro d'Italia and the Tour of Lombardy, and summits at the Museum of Italian Cycling and the shrine of the Madonna del Ghisallo, confirmed by Pope Pius XII as the patroness of cyclists. The shrine contains a small cycling museum with photos and artifacts from the sport, as well as an eternal flame for cyclists who have died. Not interested in cycling? Bring some books and read from the hotel patio located on an escarpment overlooking the lake while being served your favorite drinks with hors d'oeuvres and serenaded by roosters and donkeys; or shop/dine in Bellagio; or ferry from Bellagio to explore the charming towns dotting the lake; or take in night life in Como. The cherry on top is the warm hospitality of Carlo and Piera, who can't do enough to make guests feel comfortable. There is shuttle service 2 km into Bellagio, and ample parking very close to town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

When we arrived in Bellagio, we had a lot of trouble getting a cab off the ferry, and I arrived at the hotel feeling frustrated and tired. But then we opened the door out to the shared balcony, and suddenly I forgot about all the troubles with the journey. The view is really special. The owners were so nice and helpful, and the shuttle service was great. Because cabs are not reliable in Bellagio (I honestly think it's just 3 guys with cars who want to make a little extra money on the side if they are not busy), it's a little risky to go out to dinner somewhere other than the places that have shuttle service, but fortunately we didn't run into an issue.

The only real issue is that because you're a little further out in the country, we woke up both nights to dogs barking, followed by roosters. For HOURS. I think I would recommend to travelers to get a room further away from the road if possible. I also might recommend to the owners to get some alarm clocks with a built-in white noise machine. We slept with our iPhones blasting a white noise app on our pillows.

Despite this, I would absolutely come back, and would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting Bellagio and surrounding lakeside villages. This B&B has one of the most beautiful views of Lake Como, looking north up the lake, which is an inverted "Y." The rooms were quite comfortable, with great breezes through the windows and an overhead fan. Breakfasts were great as well, eating on the patio with gorgeous views over Bellagio and Lake Como.

We had a car, so were able to use public parking near Bellagio and walk everywhere. In addition, we were told a van made several trips a day from the B&B to/from town.

We took the ferry around the lakeside and particularly loved Verenna, a colorful village on the east shore across from Bellagio.

We came to Bellagio by way of auto ferry from a town on the west shore. Another good idea may be to take the train from south of Lake Como up to Verenna, then get a ferry to Bellagio.

We will go back and likely stay again at Il Perlo Panorama. We loved Bellagio as well. The only negative to the stay were neighbor's dogs barking at night. Since there was no air conditioning, there was no way to drown out the barking without closing the windows and loosing the nice evening breeze.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Loved the location of this hotel! Great service. Good but overpriced dinner. Nice shuttle service. The view is spectacular. WOW! I would return for the view alone. The town is great with a nice lido and of course the shopping and restaurants are very good with friendly and attentive service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pros: Beautiful place to stay al Lago di Como. Bellagio is a small picturesque town and the hotel is within a 5 minute drive from the town.
The terrace is the highlight of this beautiful hotel. The rooms are clean. The staff is very friendly, helpful and resourceful. They are ready to welcome the guests making the effort to answer all kind of questions and to make sure you are having a good time.
Had a room with views at the garden and didn´t matter because we could stay at the terrace at all times. No need to pay the extra money :)
Cons: the shower at the bathroom is pretty small!
Would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Usually i don't write any reviews, but this hotel is really outstanding and worth. it was the best trip ever. My husband made a surprise to me, so I didn't have an idea of where we were going and what incredible place we would visit. So when I entered a room and opened a door of the balcony... I couldn't even breathe for a moment. :-) we stayed only 2 nights, but everything was perfect. The owner of the hotel and all other staff are very open and friendly, and ready to help if anything needed, so it made our stay even more pleasant. We will definitely recommend it to our friends and will be back someday. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#7 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Silvio
Hotel Silvio
#9 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.