We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Impressive for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we entered the room to find it was better than the photos. The way they had taken the photos showed the room to be old, but it was actually a descent hotel and the price was cheap. The room was about 5 x 5 metres and had an American queen sized bed and a good sized clean bathroom. The bed was comfy enough. There was an armchair, a desk and a good sized wardrobe. The view from every room (except possibly the garden suites), was superb. It was about 2 or 3 kilometres from Bellagio and you can take a private mercedes taxi for 10 euro total. We walked to Bellagio town one day and it took less than an hour, but that was all down hill. Parking is free at the hotel. The breakfast is buffet style and is better than most low cost hotels in italy. The hotel owners are quite helpful. We ventured to como town as well as down the other sides of the massive lake but the Bellagio area was by far the prettiest. There are ferries and hydrofoils that go to just about everywhere on the lake and these were fun to catch. The nearest restaurant is in Bellagio and there are plenty to choose from, but don't just eat on the foreshore as the restaurants a few metres up the hillside are cheaper and have some tasty food. All in all for the price you pay and the Bellagio location this hotel stacks up well. It also has free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    180
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
73
334
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malc5757
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed 5 nights at il perlo we were very happy with all aspects of the hotel the room was rustic but clean and had amazin views ,the staff were all helpful and friendly, the restaurant serving fab local homemade food was excellent value and very tasty ,
we would recommend to our son as a keen cyclist to visit as the facilities were perfect for cycling groups small or large .

Room Tip: suite was spacious and quiet excellent view but not a sunny aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmcarn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

me and my mum have just returned from this hotel. we were on a special holiday to celebrate her 60th birthday. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was spacious and very clean. we had an incredible view from our balcony and also the view from the front veranda of the hotel is breathtaking. I would definitely recommend this hotel, eve though it is a distance out of the centre of bellagio it is worth it for the peace and quiet and the views. the shuttle service into town is reliable and walking into town is pleasant enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

...the hotel itself is at most average. The breakfast was a joke. The room was okay, but after paying 100€ per night and reading all the super-positive reviews here we expected a better standard concerning cleanliness and interior. During our two weeks trip through Italy we have stayed in much better places for half the money. And if you can, don't book breakfast. however, the people are nice and helpful and the view from the terrace is amazing! therefore three out of five stars for this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Perlo for one night on a trip to Bellagio. From the moment we set foot on the property, the owner (it's run by a mother and her son--she was apparently away while we were there) was super friendly and accommodating. This is a small, family-run hotel, instantly endearing (the son's adorable young daughter was playing around in the office and helped to check us in on the computer). There's something hard to describe about the ambiance, welcoming and informal, clean and inviting. We had reserved a suite for 120 euros that looked out over the lake, and I must concur with all the reviewers who have commented on the view: it's absolutely stunning, well worth the price of admission. The lobby area has all sorts of information, and the owner took time to explain how to get to the town, where to park, and so on. Our room had a small balcony on one side and doors on the front side the accessed a large terrace overlooking the lake, where we sat and sipped a nice prosecco (a mini-fridge would have helped a lot). The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the windows had shutters that could be closed on the outside for more darkness in the morning. The bathroom was spotless, and we had a full-size soaker tub, so anyone who worries about the size of the showers (based on previous reviews) should just kick in the small amount for the larger room. In the evening, the owners serve a light dinner for a reasonable price, but if you want a full dinner, you'll need to go downtown (check out the hotel's shuttle service if you don't have a car). We were dying to try an amazing restaurant *up* the hill from the hotel, which serves farm-fresh food (much of it grown on their own property): Trattoria Baita Belvedere, but it was closed on Tuesdays. The free breakfast was terrific--lots of choices, and a great espresso maker. Free Internet and free parking as well. This is one of the most romantic spots imaginable. If you like glitzy Hilton-type hotels, Il Perlo may not be for you, but we'd take it any day over a five-star, slick, cold, formal hotel. In comparison, this hotel will stay in your memory forever.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel looking straight out at Lake Como. Unbeatable views--like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent location: avery lucky position well above the village of Bellagio. Peaceful, first of all! But the panorama form Perlo in "the" reason you will want to go and stay and come back again.
The hotel furniture is perfect, rooms are comfortable, people is friendly, they can very well communicate in English (and maybe also in some more languages...I wonder).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What an amazing venue for a romantic active stay. Carlo is an incredible host friendly helpful and engaging. If you want a really great cycle Carlo will rent you a bike and an ex pro to take you around the entire area. We went with Fabio (FABULOUS FABIO!!!) and we had a ride to remember forever with Fabio as our guide.... Got to go back there; thats all we know. Bellagio (the little town) is a short (but steep) walk away and is a great place to sight see and shop !!! Hotel Il Perlo is just an amazing place to stay. All round. oh and the room was spotless and so comfy much needed after the tough cycling and walking. thank you Carlo... so very much.

Room Tip: lake facing a must but mountain facing also awesome... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.