We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spectacular experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here on my own for two nights in August. The hotel wasn't crowded, very relaxing! Asked for a lake view room - was not disappointed, such an amazing view. The view on the terrace is even more beautiful. Great spot to have a light meal at night. All of the staff were so accommodating. Franko was always helping out driving the shuttle to and from town. I have to thank Carlo and family for how helpful they were to me. I unfortunately had tonsillitis and was quite ill. They helped me find the doctor and even drove me there and back. Very knowledgeable too, recommending many restaurants and even directing me on the scenic walk to town which was gorgeous. I will definitely come back in the future - and I highly recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone! Bellissimo!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    180
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
73
332
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 10-15 years. We are never disappointed. For the price you get amazing Bellagio and Lake Como views. And the family hospitality is great. They always treat us like one of the family, and help a lot with planning daily excursions around the area. Carlo is tremendous at details with trains and ferry arrangements. And they recommend great dining places...the hotel has only limited food offerings. The lakeview suites are reasonably priced and spacious. The furnishings are a bit old but serviceable. Since the hotel is high up on the hill above Bellagio, I recommend a car. But they do offer a shuttle in to town. Again, for the price you get a tremendous value and the best lake views.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at this superbly comfortable hotel in early October 2012. The room was very cozy, it was spacious, very clean, and nicely decorated. The same goes for the bathroom, although the shower cubicle, I think, was a bit too small. And we were simply delighted that we got the room with a balcony overlooking the lake. It was gorgeous, day and night, the view is just breathtaking! The hotel owners were also very friendly and informative. The breakfast was satisfactory and in the evening you can also dine in for a fee but don't expect restaurant-like quality food (but it'll do without having to go into the town for dinner). The hotel is located a bit up in the hill, but it only takes less than 10 minutes getting into the town center of Bellagio by car, and besides, the views from up there are just incredible. I look forward to visiting Lake Como and staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Carlo and his family at Il Perlo in Aug 2012. What a great choice, no regrets apart from having to leave when our time was up.

After a long drive from the Riveria, we arrived late and they stayed up to make sure we got checked in properly. Easy and fast, we got to our room and were asked for anything we needed. They are on top of things, easy to talk to, informative of the area and always willing to go a little further to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

We stayed in a 2nd floor room with a gorgeous view of Bellagio, enjoying breakfast on the terrace and planning our days. They provide a shuttle service into town, but you can walk as well (20-30 mins, downhill). The view could not be any better.

I can not recommend this hotel more than a perfect rating. If you are going to Bellagio, check with them to see if they have room, you WILL NOT be disappointed.

Thanks again to Carlo and his family for running a fine establishment and making our stay a memorable one. We hope to make it back at some point, but until then we have our pictures and memories.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic and extremely memorable. It is the best hotel we stayed in all of Italy.

We had originally booked the garden view room but upon arrival asked to view the lake view room and immediately upgraded. The view is incredible!! After settling in, we were surpised to have champaign, grapes (grown on the property), bread, and cheese delivered to our door.

The rooms are extremely clean, the wifi is fast, and the service is impeccable.

The breakfast was the best we had in Italy and included pancakes, homemade frittata, regional cakes, eggs, and more.

The hotel is owned by a mother and her son. They are very interesting to talk to and extremely knowledgeable. For example, the gentleman has every ferry and train schedule memorized!

Although the hotel is located about 2-2.5 miles from town, they will drive you to town for a minimal charge. The walk to town is scenic and manageable. We also hiked around the trails that start right out the hotel door and saw beautiful countryside and homes. At one point I looked out on a field of cows with the lake and mountains in the background and the sound of a rooster in the distance and felt as if I were in a scene from a movie.

Overall we had a wonderful stay here and recommend it to people of all ages and interests. I hope to one day visit lake como and this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Are you looking for a hotel with a magnificent view of Lake Como?
Are you looking for a hotel in Bellagio that you can afford?
Welcome to Il Perlo Panorama!
A family business, Il Perlo sits 3 kilometres from the town centre, overlooking the lake, with a spectacular 180 degree view.
The hotel was once a mill, as were many of the surrounding houses. They served to produce concrete in abundance. Now, all that remains of the mill are the old stone wheel in the garden and the stories handed down through the generations. Especially we are told the stories of Toscanini coming to sit and speak with Grandfather, while sharing a drink in the shade of the old Linden tree, which even now stands in the front garden.
But the view is still the same- the beautiful lake, stretching out its blue-green arms, while the giant mountains, often capped with snow, frame the breath-taking scene.

At Il Perlo there is accommodation for every budget.
From the delightful rooms overlooking the gardens, those looking out onto the lake, or the panoramic suites that give a full 180 degree view, you will enjoy everything that the hotel offers.

Every room has its own private balcony. Each room also has its own ensuite, telephone, satellite TV, and free wi-fi.

A delicious continental breakfast can be enjoyed inside or out, and tea or coffee can be taken on the terrace looking out over the wonderful vista of the lake.
Being set so high, the air of peace and tranquility ensures a restful stay, whether you seek simply to unwind, or go shopping in the famous village below.
The hotel has a shuttle service to take you to and from the village, a restaurant, should you wish to remain in for the night, carpark facilities and a friendly host, Carlo, with lots of local knowledge of the area.

Based at Il Perlo, you also have access to the ferry service, which will enable you to visit the surrounding towns with their brilliant gardens, shops and walks, and for intrepid hikers, there are mountains to climb and sights to see.

Meaning "The Pearl", Il Perlo is like a hidden gem in the heart of Bellagio. We hope that you will become part of our family. A balcony on the lake is waiting for you at Il Perlo Panorama.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony and a view. Depending on your budget, you can overlook the garden, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We had booked in April requesting a room with a review, arrived in September and were allocated a very small room with no view. This hotel must be a front runner for the award for the smallest shower in Europe. The room was roughly painted a large hole in the corner skirting , incomplete grouting at the corners over all very rough. I requested a change of room and we moved to a larger room with a beautiful view. we were changed back again to another room as another couple with children had also requested a view, so it would seem you can request a view and you may get one for a night or two, to keep you happy, so we moved three times in 4 days. In hind sight We should have left as soon as we saw the first room. The shower size was the same , I am by no means large , so would hate to think how some people would manage a shower there. The breakfast was limited and they often ran out of items. There was always watermelon and grapes that had seen better days, fruit juice that tasted like watered down cordial . We ate dinner at the hotel , very ordinary. The house white was the worst wine I have tasted in my 8 week trip certainly not worth what they charge.
The shuttle service to town was good and that is just as well because the alternative is walking on the edge of the road as there are very little pavement areas for pedestrians so it is quite dangerous. The staff speak good English. overall the place needs a major refurbishment , some consistency with bookings instead of room juggling, don't promise what you can't deliver and the breakfast needs to be totally reviewed. We could not wait to go out each day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Madame, thanks a lot for your review that looks so bad but gives us the opportunity to make a few things easier for all customers booking at the hotel.
I am really sorry you had this bad experience that brought you writing such a "revenging" review: really I am really sad when I see this kind of missing of expectations going through!
It is quite clear from what you write that you were choosing our hotel for the views we can offer you: at the same time in april you were surely attracted by a very interesting rate and booked, I suppose through Booking.com a Double French Bed Room garden side, the cheapest at the hotel.
This is the point I would like to remark on for everybody: when you book through all booking systems remember to control very well DESCRIPTIONS of the room you are choosing, especially when you make your search with a BEST RATE filter. This is very important to avoid an unpleasant situation like this.
Madame, unfortunately this is what it happened you: you booked through Booking.com a Double french bed room for a cheap rate and you were expecting a lake view room...
Then on arrival is always difficoult, especially on high season like September on the lake, to make upgrades for 3 or 4 nights.... We were trying to make our best assiging you different rooms in different nights, but it was obviously not enough....
We are really sorry!!!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.