We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisure holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Leisure holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Are you looking for a hotel with a magnificent view of Lake Como?
Are you looking for a hotel in Bellagio that you can afford?
Welcome to Il Perlo Panorama!
A family business, Il Perlo sits 3 kilometres from the town centre, overlooking the lake, with a spectacular 180 degree view.
The hotel was once a mill, as were many of the surrounding houses. They served to produce concrete in abundance. Now, all that remains of the mill are the old stone wheel in the garden and the stories handed down through the generations. Especially we are told the stories of Toscanini coming to sit and speak with Grandfather, while sharing a drink in the shade of the old Linden tree, which even now stands in the front garden.
But the view is still the same- the beautiful lake, stretching out its blue-green arms, while the giant mountains, often capped with snow, frame the breath-taking scene.

At Il Perlo there is accommodation for every budget.
From the delightful rooms overlooking the gardens, those looking out onto the lake, or the panoramic suites that give a full 180 degree view, you will enjoy everything that the hotel offers.

Every room has its own private balcony. Each room also has its own ensuite, telephone, satellite TV, and free wi-fi.

A delicious continental breakfast can be enjoyed inside or out, and tea or coffee can be taken on the terrace looking out over the wonderful vista of the lake.
Being set so high, the air of peace and tranquility ensures a restful stay, whether you seek simply to unwind, or go shopping in the famous village below.
The hotel has a shuttle service to take you to and from the village, a restaurant, should you wish to remain in for the night, carpark facilities and a friendly host, Carlo, with lots of local knowledge of the area.

Based at Il Perlo, you also have access to the ferry service, which will enable you to visit the surrounding towns with their brilliant gardens, shops and walks, and for intrepid hikers, there are mountains to climb and sights to see.

Meaning "The Pearl", Il Perlo is like a hidden gem in the heart of Bellagio. We hope that you will become part of our family. A balcony on the lake is waiting for you at Il Perlo Panorama.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony and a view. Depending on your budget, you can overlook the garden, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    166
    34
    21
    10
See reviews for
58
243
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We had booked in April requesting a room with a review, arrived in September and were allocated a very small room with no view. This hotel must be a front runner for the award for the smallest shower in Europe. The room was roughly painted a large hole in the corner skirting , incomplete grouting at the corners over all very rough. I requested a change of room and we moved to a larger room with a beautiful view. we were changed back again to another room as another couple with children had also requested a view, so it would seem you can request a view and you may get one for a night or two, to keep you happy, so we moved three times in 4 days. In hind sight We should have left as soon as we saw the first room. The shower size was the same , I am by no means large , so would hate to think how some people would manage a shower there. The breakfast was limited and they often ran out of items. There was always watermelon and grapes that had seen better days, fruit juice that tasted like watered down cordial . We ate dinner at the hotel , very ordinary. The house white was the worst wine I have tasted in my 8 week trip certainly not worth what they charge.
The shuttle service to town was good and that is just as well because the alternative is walking on the edge of the road as there are very little pavement areas for pedestrians so it is quite dangerous. The staff speak good English. overall the place needs a major refurbishment , some consistency with bookings instead of room juggling, don't promise what you can't deliver and the breakfast needs to be totally reviewed. We could not wait to go out each day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Madame, thanks a lot for your review that looks so bad but gives us the opportunity to make a few things easier for all customers booking at the hotel.
I am really sorry you had this bad experience that brought you writing such a "revenging" review: really I am really sad when I see this kind of missing of expectations going through!
It is quite clear from what you write that you were choosing our hotel for the views we can offer you: at the same time in april you were surely attracted by a very interesting rate and booked, I suppose through Booking.com a Double French Bed Room garden side, the cheapest at the hotel.
This is the point I would like to remark on for everybody: when you book through all booking systems remember to control very well DESCRIPTIONS of the room you are choosing, especially when you make your search with a BEST RATE filter. This is very important to avoid an unpleasant situation like this.
Madame, unfortunately this is what it happened you: you booked through Booking.com a Double french bed room for a cheap rate and you were expecting a lake view room...
Then on arrival is always difficoult, especially on high season like September on the lake, to make upgrades for 3 or 4 nights.... We were trying to make our best assiging you different rooms in different nights, but it was obviously not enough....
We are really sorry!!!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place is not worth staying at despite the great view. Everything about the place is below average to poor. A shower that could win an award for the smallest shower ever. Impossible to wash your hair because you can't bend your arms. Better hope your not staying on the 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor because you will have to carry your heavy luggage up there all by yourself. The breakfast is the worst I have ever had. There is plenty to choose from but everything tasted horrible. The whole hotel and everything in it is getting run down and old. Big regret for booking my holiday here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

the view from this place says it all really!
located about 5 minutes drive up the hill from the main centre of Bellagio, it is with a picturesque and quiet location.
The B&B is run by a mother and son, and they are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The rooftop terrace for a drink is a must for the view.
The room we stayed in, the junior suite which isn't attached to the main building, has a balcony also. This room has bedding for four (it is a bit of a squash but not too bad). However there are no tea or coffee making facilities ( this can be ordered in the coffee shop) but is a bit inconvenient.
The breakfast which is included is great, including freshly made croissants.
We have already recommended this place to family visiting Bellagio, we don't think they will be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame, thanks a lot for this wonderful review.
Your comments are a real suggestion for us and you confirmed something we are thinking about:
adding some coffe and tea facilities in the rooms...
We will surely do for next year!
Still your review makes me leave the note for everybody: we are a 2 star family run hotel, please do not forget this!
Hotel is more a home hosting rather than a Classical fancy and big hotel.

Thanks a lot and hope to welcome you back here in the future!
Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Loved the large room with a balcony and marvelous view over Bellagio, Lake Como and the south Alps. Staff was very helpful, the breakfast was OK, and the simple evening pasta buffet actually quite nice. Definitely a good place to stay if you are heading to Bellagio, rather than staying in the expensive hotels down in the village with limited views.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are definitely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

The view from this place was insanely beautiful. I've never been so taken away by anything like it. There are no words to describe the feeling of astonishment each time you wake up in the morning and see that view just outside your window. The room was extremely clean. The owners were pleasant and the breakfast was a nice bonus. Of all the places we saw in the area, Il Perlo had the best location in terms of view and accessibility to the center of town - just 5 minutes by car. Plus, they provide free parking. Bellagio is the best part of town to stay in on Lake Como. Don't waste your time anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Whilst the view at II Perlo Panoramico is unquestionably good, this is it's only selling point.
The interior decor is ugly and distasteful with a great deal of unnecessary wiring and sockets in the room. The breakfast was very mediocre in quality and this was not helped by the unenticing presentation. Although the staff were friendly this establishment could be so much better with more thought and care.
What is also not mentioned is that the hotel is positioned next to a road which although is seemingly quiet it is actually quite a busy and noisy road, this is exacerbated by the having a 'Garden' side room which has no view. Although the staff were friendly this establishment could be so much better with more thought and care.
In conclusion not to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilsanchi, Owner at Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sir, we are so sorry you had a bad experience at the Hotel. From what you wrote about the room you chose on booking it looks like you would have preferred having a lake view room, but at the time of booking it was not possible.... I would love to welcome you back here in a lake view room: I promise you a special rate for that... I am pretty sure this would make you post a better review.
I do anyway thank you for all your all comments: they are always very important to help us getting better

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.