We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View, lovely people, adeqaute accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Il Perlo Panorama to your Saves list
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Stratford upon Avon UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Perfect View, lovely people, adeqaute accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

What a stunning view from this nice little hotel. It really is 'pinch me time' when you see the vista from the terrace. Como is beautiful and the hotel is a little gem some 2 miles from the town up a very steep hill. Taxi into to town is easy (about £8 each way) if you don't want to be tied into the shuttle bus timetable. Some restaurants send complimentary cars to pick you up.
Family run and very friendly hotel with reasonable continental breakfast, decor in hotel can be a little strange. Our room was painted in a sort of smoked haddock colour and bathroom basic, but it all goes to make up this charming hotel in a beautiful part of the world - would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    180
    37
    22
    10
See reviews for
73
332
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Yes, the panoramic views of the lakes are good but it is otherwise a modest 2 star guesthouse which costs minimum 90 euros. The bathroom had not been cleaned propery, it was full of hairs and some bits of dirt. The walls in the bedroom were bare and cold, with a layer of concrete and it was not possible to get privacy as there was no curtain that could be drawn. They charge for wireless but don't inform you about this before you log in, giving the impression it would be free. Breakfast was minimal. Must be better options in Bellagio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Breathtaking view and very helpful staff ! Thank you Carlo ! We would definitely come back!
A lot of amazing villas with gardens around.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Given I proposed to my girlfriend, now fiance as she thankfully said yes, on the balcony of one of their junior suite rooms I can only have great things to say about this hotel!

In all seriousness given the view from our room, and indeed many of the rooms which face the lake and towards Bellagio, many people would happily to sleep on the floor to wake up/ go to sleep with that vista. I am sure my photographs do not do it justice, however to have sunrise on the lake with the snow capped Alps as a backdrop to the lake reaching out and around us or to sit out at night with a glass of prosecco watching the lights of the little towns who line the lake and the ferries go backwards and forwards twinkling at night was magical and something everyone should experience

The other great thing were the owners. This is a family run hotel and again as we keep finding, this means excellent personal service and great pride in both their hotel and the area they are located. The help I received prior to booking was invaluable and appreciated and actually resulted in me booking a longer stay here than originally planed.

The shuttle service to Bellagio town was a much appreciated and good value service. Also a number of restaurants have an arrangement with this hotel and provide a free pick up/ drop of service. We tried two of these, The Bellagio Sports Club, and Salice Blu - both different, both excellent and this was nt a gimick to get naieve tourists in - anyone who has had the privalege of eating at Salice Blu can confirm, check all the reviews on here!

In all honesty the room features were 'secondary' in me choosing this hotel, it was all about the view however the suite was large and spacious. We did nt use the hotel bar however it was nice knowing it was there and did from reception buy water to take out with us a few times. The prices of all drinks was very fair and commensurate with those of the bars in Bellagio.

I would note the following, not as criticisms but as feedback/ help so the owners can continue giving the best they can - and we will return and stay here again whatever! Given we booked a suite the following would be excellent additions, or in some cases expected-

a mini fridge for personal use - prosecco on that balcony with that view and who I was with was a special moment in life that I got to enjoy for 4 days!
in room wifi internet should be free rather than charged
small outside heaters so could enjoy the balcony in the evening longer
the self serve buffet breakfast was limited and twice had run out of items - meat in particular, when we went for breakfast, which was a shame as what was served was good

Room Tip: pay the extra and have either a lake view room or like us, a junior suite with lake view - wont be r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was a lovely hotel, the owners were extremely friendly and helpful, the views were amazing! We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back. We also loved the breakfast as it had fresh bread, cheese, pancakes and cereal that was really tasty! No fried breakfast with sausages, beans etc if that's what you are after, but for us it was perfect! You need a car to drive down to Bellagio as it's quite far up the hill - or you use the hotel's shuttle service. Only suggestion is that internet should be free, it costs 1 euro per hour.

Room Tip: We had a room with view over the lake and it was breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in April. Rooms were clean and spacious and though bathroom was a little dated and rooms pretty standard, the view from the room was unbeatable! Breakfast was average, not much choice but for us, yet the view was unparalled. We had an huge balcony overlooking the tip of Bellagio and found the hotel charming and all we needed. Best to get a car to explore a bit as hotel is a little out of the way but saying that, the walk into town was a lovely one. The owner left us to our own devices but on our last day, gave us a fantastic road trip to take where we visited three lakes in 1 day and lunched in Switzerland. All in all, for value for money, charm and an incredible view, I would highly recommend Il Perlo.

Room Tip: If you can, get a Lake View, bellissima!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here last summer and were blown away by the amazing views from the balcony of our room. This is a lovely hotel and the owners are very friendly and helpful. It was lovely to sit in the gardens with a couple of drinks admiring the view. We're coming back this summer as part of our honeymoon. The parking is great if you have a car.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Perlo Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Perlo Panorama

Address: Via Valassina 180, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Il Perlo Panorama 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for..a room with a view of Lake Como? Welcome to Perlo. From the ancient steam mill we have today only to he legends and an old stone-wheel in the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Il Perlo Panorama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Perlo Panorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.