We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High marks for Hotel Centrale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Orlando
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“High marks for Hotel Centrale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed for two nights in the Hotel Centrale which is just 60 steps up from the ferry's landing. It is a lovely boutique hotel, family owned and operated, complete with grape arbor and outdoor garden. Our room had a small balcony.

It is a perfect location, situated in the midst of shopping areas and nice restaurants (try Fontana Restaurant for pasta specials just a few steps away or Giacomo's for excellent fish). Easy to take the ferry to Varenna for a few hours.

Hotel had an adequate breakfast with fairly standard fare. My only concern with the hotel was that the vacationers left their room keys on top of the front desk as came and went. Security seemed fairly lax. There were some times that there was no one at the desk, though he/she could have been nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    96
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
231
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Bellagio was the first stop for us on a self guided tour of Italy. We booked all our hotel stays in Italy with the help of TripAdvisor ratings and with only one exception, they were spot on. We went through the booking craziness that is the voucher system, this isn't the hotel's fault, just very common in Europe. Once I received my voucher confirmation, I printed it and added it to my travel docs. About 1 week before my arrival, I called the hotel to confirm the booking. I did this for all my hotels in Italy as it gives you peace of mind (specially during the busy summer/vacation month). Now to the hotel:

Hotel Centrale is exactly that, it is centrally located in the town of Bellagio. We were within walking distance to everything. Within the first 2 hours we knew the town like the back of our hand. The hotel is a family run affair. Most of the staff speaks moderate English, a plus if your Italian is as bad as mine. Our room was on the 3rd floor, overlooking the entrance to the hotel courtyard. The room was a good size, the air conditioning worked well and it was clean throughout. The bed was a touch hard, but it was comfortable; they even had extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe, nice! The bathroom was decent size too, again, by European standards with a large sink, toilette, bidet and a small shower. Forget bathtubs in Italy unless you are staying at a 4 or 5 star resort, even then it's hit or miss. The maid service was flexible to our sleep schedule, jut put the sign on the door and they come back after you leave your room. Also, the hotel does provide free internet, but our room was at the edge of their router's range so i would go to the balcony on the second floor with my laptop (the router is behind the plant on the second floor hallway, by the stairs).

I can see why this was voted traveler's choice for a "budget" hotel in Bellagio. We were there to explore Bellagio and the towns across the lake, swimming in Lake Como and enjoying good wine and food at night. This hotel is perfect for that, it gave us a comfortable, inviting place to crash for an afternoon nap and to recharge for the next day. Could you get resort accomodations in Bellagio? Sure, at a significant cost premium and maybe only worth it if you are going to lounge in your room most of the day. I recommend Hotel Centrale without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Having stayed in the Centrale in June, my first reaction was that I was not all misguided by the various people who awarded it the highest accolades. I have recommended it to many people where they will sample the wonderful personal service provided by Giacomo and his family. It was so nice to have someone run the hotel who had a long family connection with both the hotel and the town. His stories of the places and people around the area were both interesting and amusing.

I read 'Warsaw's' comments and it is sad that he didn't see the experience quite as we, and the vast majority of other travellers to the hotel, did. It is odd for him to recommend other hotels when he hasn't stayed there, or complain about not being registered, even when the hotel did apparently find him a room. I guess the real test of a hotel is how they deal with a situation, when something doesn't exactly work out. It was a bit rude, however, to suggest that they needed to be taken over by a bigger hotel group. For me this misses the whole point about the Centrale - its personal touch!

I guess the World is a big place and everyone can never be pleased, but we had a wonderful time and will return again sometime.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. It is a true personal, family experience on Lake Como.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We stayed just one night in the hotel and the price was perfect in a very touristy area. The hotel is small and quaint and the staff was friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of town and close to the pier. Breakfast was simple, but nice in a room with lots of windows.

We had a room on the second floor with a terrace, however the terrace is very small and there was only one chair, but we did not spend much time in our room anyway. The rooms are very simple, but clean and as the hotel is not so expensive, it was a good value for the price. The only drawback is that the walls are very thin and everything can be heard, so if sleeping is a big deal and the neighbors happen to be noisy, ear plugs would be good to bring along.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2009 as part of driving tour of Italy and Austria. We are two adults and a 6yr old daughter.

I think it is a little misleading for this hotel to be #1 in Bellagio. What it is, is a relatively cheap, decent enough, family run hotel. There's no question you can find better hotels in Bellagio but you might be paying €100 a night extra, obviously a lot more than that in Villa Serbelloni. Having said that, we checked the prices of the hotel Metrople that stands right on the lake and their prices were not that much more than the Centrale. No idea how good the place is though. The Belvedere for example, currently #2 on the list, appears to be far better but with an associated higher cost. So, you need to take the reviews here with a pinch of salt, this hotel is okay for the price in what seems to be an expensive resort, not much more than that - in our opinion.

Watch out when booking. We had a mail saying we should send credit card details to "confirm" the booking. We did that and yet when we arrived we did not have a room and were not expected. The problem is with their "voucher" system that seems to be a bit erratic. A voucher number is essential and without that you don't have a room, even if they have credit card details. We were not sent a voucher and did not see it is important as we had already "confirmed" the booking, so we thought. We were wrong. They quickly dealt with the problem, fortunately, but this resulted in us sleeping three in a bed for the first night and possibly never getting the room we should have had having booked well in advance.

I'd say in general, everything about this hotel was adequate but could be better. The only staff aside from cleaners are the family. This is nice and personal but does mean that levels of service can only ever be as good as the family can handle. This hotel "could be" an excellent small hotel in a great location in Bellagio but it needs investment, imagination and possibly fresh blood & ideas. I think it needs either buying by a hotel investor or handing over to the younger generation of the family along with a large bank loan.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Queebc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Centrale for part of our honeymoon and loved it. The rooms were clean and nice, and the hotel had several very enjoyable common areas. There is a beautiful terrace on the roof of the second floor and a nice courtyard at the entrance. The staff wads extremely helpful and the owner was very friendly and had lots of good advice to offer. The location is very nice, just 62 steps above the main road that borders the water and less that a 5 minute walk from the ferry. All in all, this was my favourite hotel from the entire trip. HIGHLY RECOMENDED!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Just back from our holiday which included a 5 night stay at the Hotel Centrale. It lived up to all our expectations and the Owners are great and can help you with any questions you may have. It is nice that they focus on the customer so much as this isn't always the case these days.

The location could not be better, close to the ferry piers and in the center of all the shops, bars and restaurants. When we arrived by car, we tried to enter the old part of the town but were blocked by a barrier. Eventually we parked and walked to the hotel. They gave us directions and the barrier code which allowed us to get the car reasonably close to to the hotel so we could unload our cases. I then managed to get free parking 150m from the hotel which was a real bonus.

We chose a small room at 100€ per night. It was very comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the entrance patio. The room was quiet and the whilst the shower room was small, there was always lots of hot water and a great water pressure in the shower. Breakfast had a varied selection with fresh tea and coffee. The free wirless service was poor in the room, but was fine in the hallway and breakfast room, so I could always get on to my email / internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.