We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and welcoming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and welcoming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

My main reason for booking the Hotel Centrale was a desire to stay in Bellagio and checking the reviews on Trip Advisor, this pleasant family run Hotel seem to be the best option.

Giacomo is very welcoming and efficient, everywhere is clean and fresh and the room was very nice. A few extra requests were made and nothing seems to be too much trouble!

This Hotel is an excellent and cost effective place to stay in Bellagio, which is a good place from which to explore the Como area and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this Hotel.

  • Liked — Comfort and welcoming
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    90
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
223
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this great hotel. We checked into room 221 which was lovely, despite being told via email pre-arrival that this was the only room left during the time we requested. Yes, we could see a sliver of the lake out the window, but our host, Giacomo really downplays this saying "It is a little bit of nothing". In my opinion, however, that "little bit of nothing" was a nice additon which we enjoyed. We also had a great view of the lovely flowered courtyard, and we enjoyed opening up our Juliett windows onto this view.We arrived in Bellagio by boat in a horrendous downpour, having come right from the Milan airport after a transcontinental flight exhausted. Not the best way to get introduced to Lake Como! I left my tired and wet husband with all our luggage in an outdoor cafe by the water and ran up the many steps (directly up from the ferry dock) to see if anyone could help us get our luggage up the many steps to the hotel. Poor Giacomo had no one to send but he good naturedly came down himself and helped us get the luggage up the hill. Although this was the cheapest and least fancy of all the hotels at which we stayed on this trip (Lake Como, Venice, Tuscany and Barcelona Spain), it was absolutely delightful. Oozing with charm, very clean, great service, so very friendly and a wonderful daily breakfast included. As other reviewers have said, it is a great value and a great find. We really enjoyed the internet cafe up the hill from the hotel, Bellagio Point.com , for our daily15 minutes of internet for 2-Euro; the 5-Euro generous pour of wine (loved the primativo) with included full plate of "snacks" antipasto; and the friendly atmosphere. We did have dinner one night at the much-touted (on Trip Advisor) San Giacomo restaurant and were somewhat disappointed. We got in line early for the 7:00 seating only to get trampled by the free- for -all when they opened and everyone rushed for tables, it was like a manic game of musical chairs! The service was efficient but not warm or welcoming, the food was better than average but not memorable, the wine (a Chianti Reserva) not great.
I highly recommend the Hotel Centrale. Even if you are used to 4 or 5 stars which this is not, it is every bit as enjoyable, comfortable, and unique in its charm as long as you are comfortable with an experience that is a cross between a B&B and a small hotel. Giacomo, the owner (although he denies this, claiming his 95 year old mother who lives in the hotel is the owner) is as wonderful a host as you could want. He tries to undersell the hotel to prespective guests in order to not raise expectations, but he is overly modest, the place is great. His frankness in terms of what he can or can not offer guests in accomedations is clearly smart business.

  • Liked — Wonderful hospitality, Charm, Breakfast
  • Disliked — Steps up to hotel--but really, they were do-able and a good way to work of the gellato!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

My wife and I loved our 4-night stay at the Hotel Centrale Bellagio. The room was small, but very cute, clean and charming, making it our favorite during our two week trip to Italy. We had a nice (small) balcony overlooking the courtyard with large windows that we kept open during the days to let the breeze and the sounds in. I would sit out on the balcony and read in complete peacefulness.

The staff was extremely friendly. The morning cappuccinos and restaurant recommendations were wonderful. Breakfast was basically the exact same as breakfasts at every other hotel we stayed in while in Italy. Hotel Centrale is a great value for Bellagio as well. I highly recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

This hotel is perhaps the best smaller hotel we have stayed at in Europe. The hotel itself is a short walk from the main street (uphill of course), is quaint, and is well kept. Breakfasts are excellent, as are the capacinos served every morning. There is a garden and sitting area outside of the main entrance, and a deck on the second level with several chairs. Some of the rooms have windows opening to small decks as well.

The staff, mostly family, is wonderful. Mr. Borelli and his sons were excellent hosts. The rooms were immaculate. We had to move rooms after one day because we arrived a day earlier than we originally planned. We packed our bags, which were moved to our new room by the time we returned.

Internet access is provided by both wireless and wired connection. There is also a "book exchange" next to the front desk - leave one you have finished and take another.

Mr. Borelli's restaurant recommendations were also excellent - especially San Giacomo - wonderful.

Would stay here again and again and again.........

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Hotel Centrale is hard to fault, the positives far and away outweigh the negatives and we enjoyed our stay at hotel centrale.

The main positives were:

* Friendly staff - Mr. Borelli is great
* Spotless rooms
* Great locations (apart from the parking)
* Fantastic breakfast

The only two negatives were

* Like most hotels in Bellagio parking is not available anywhere near the hotel. This would make it difficult for those who have walking problems. We had to park our car near the Bellagio police station (Carabinier) . This wouldn't normally be a problem, however Bellagio is not as safe as it looks and the rear window of our hire car was smashed. Fortunately we had no belongings in the car but make sure you take out excess insurance in Italy.

Don't expect the staff in the Bellagio police station to be helpful. They couldn't care less about our predicament.

One other minor niggle was the fact that the hotel did not have an iron. Mr Borelli said he was looking into this.

All in all a great hotel, but be look after your car in Bellagio.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — The lack of parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

Parking - we were fortunate to find a free spot beside the park at the edge of town, a healthy walk to and from the hotel with luggage. Very limited options in town.
Staff - helpful and efficient.
Rooms - very small but comfortable, the whole town suffers from a shortage of space, free internet access was a bonus.
Location - good location in the centre of town, halfway up the hill which you grow to appreciate. No view but pleasant courtyard.
Good choice if you don't want to pay the premium for a room with a view.
Bellagio is a good base to explore the lake by ferry; the walk around the suburbs - brochure from tourist office - is well worthwhile.

  • Liked — good value
  • Disliked — dragging luggage from outside the town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut, OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

What a wonderful small hotel! We needed to add a fourth person to our room at the last minute and they were very accommodating. The place is spotless with beautiful wood and furnishings. The breakfast in the garden room was the best on our stay in Italy. The hotel is in the center of the town which was convenient to everything. Our daughter and her friend enjoyed the use of the internet in our room. Each room has access to a small balcony which was fun. A little climb to reach the hotel but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.