We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, close to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, close to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The name says it all! This hotel is so central you literally get off the boat and walk 20 metres up the stairs and it's there. Great family atmosphere, staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. The one we got was nice and spacious. We had fresh breakfast each morning which was nice. The wifi was really good with good coverage and no drop outs. Don't have a bad thing to say about Hotel Centrale. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The hotel is in the middle of the gorgeous town, yet we found it relaxed and quiet. Our room was small but adequate, and we had a view of a very lovely courtyard. The staff were very helpful with any of our questions and just generally really nice. Small, but well-functioning shower, nice bathroom. The bed was not the most comfortable but that wasn't a big deal.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissMarishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a comfortable little hotel in the heart of the beautiful, bustling little town of Bellagio. I had wanted to sip beer and slurp wine and pizza in a quaint cobbled street (I'm a man of simple pleasures), and I wasn't to be disappointed as this could be achieved within a stones throw in any direction around Hotel Centrale.
We had a spacious ground floor room, comfortably cool even without using the (free) air con unit. The ground floor room suffered some noise from neighbours above but benefitted from access to a terrace with seating at the rear. The room was clean and tidy, towels, soaps and shower gel are replaced daily.
Breakfast at Hotel Centrale has received some rave reviews here, however it is absolutely no different to the sort of continental breakfast you might expect to get in any small European hotel. There's no hot food, bread that wasn't always that fresh, tinned fruit, yogurt, cereal and a bit of cake. Dear reader, this is absolutely not a criticism of the hotel, only the slightly exaggerated previous posts. My only criticism of the hotel is their cleaning of bowls and plates - every day we had to sift through them to find clean ones. Hopefully this will be swiftly remedied.

Still, a reasonably priced, comfortable hotel in the center of Bellagio, and one which I would happily return to.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nickpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

The family who runs this were overwhelmingly friendly & helpful which made me quickly forget about the dated rooms (which you don't spend any time in anyway!) - I didn't find the beds overly comfortable, but everyone is different.

Thanks to the well connected staff at Hotel Centrale recommending a boat hire place, my husband and I had the best time of our entire 3.5 week honeymoon whilst in Bellagio. The breakfast was gorgeous and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneJules1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

the rooms are very spacious and we had no problems with cleanliness. our room was cleaned every morning and the staff was always friendly. it is a family run place so we would be greeted by one of the brothers in the morning who was always cheerfully serving everyone breakfast and making excellent cappuccinos and helped by the other brother, Marcello, later in the day with anything we needed. We had a few problems when we first arrived in terms of not understanding how to use amenities in the room and they immediately came up and showed us how to do everything and made sure we tried on our own before they left. the common space is very pretty and comfortable and the iced tea in the afternoon was a welcomed refreshment. we felt very comfortable, safe and well taken care of at the hotel. the location is on a small street (stairs) between two of the main roads, one along the water and the other above where more shops are. its ideal for exploring the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor that is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerforlife810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel Centrale is located near Bellagio's main boat station (just a few minutes walking). Guests will have to climb up stairs to get to the hotel (no big deal, I did it by myself: 1 backpack and 2 suitcases...pregnant wife). No water view other than a partial view from the breakfast room and roof, but so close and a great value. Staff is nice and friendly. They offered us water, tea and some pastries they had on a little table when we checked in. Air conditioned and clean rooms with bath amenities. Elevator onsite. The breakfast was delicious! We heard some noise from the street but it stopped before before bedtime. There are restaurants and local shopping stores around the hotel. Just a heads up, If it's your first time at Lake Como, you can take the ferry (€€) to go to other cities alongside the lake or the train from Como or Varenna(€), but once you know the area you can decide which service you need, it may save you some €'s.

A tip on arriving. We flew into Milan Malpensa airport and were advised to take the train from Milan Malpensa-Milano Centrale Express train-change in Saronno-arrive Como-slow boat to Bellagio(2 hrs). It took us like 6 hours and we arrived comatose! Much better and faster. Take the train Milan from Malpensa-Milano Centrale- Varenna- ferry to Bellagio (just next door).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delafucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico city
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Pros: - Good location, large rooms, private terrace in our case. Very competitive price rate and friendly staff.

Cons: - They did not do house keeping for 4 days even though each and everyday we left the sign asking for the room to be cleaned. The house keeping staff are LOUD, they scream at each other at 9 AM in the morning and you can´t really get any sleep from the time they start making all the noise.

- No coffee in the rooms
- Terrible Wifi

Room Tip: Get a room very close to the front desk or you'll never be able to use the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvarom85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
#11 of 17 in Bellagio
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing