We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel as base for Bellagio area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great value hotel as base for Bellagio area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a short 4-day break in Bellagio and the Hotel Centrale met our needs very well. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a very good size with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was small and the shower enclosure took a little getting used to, but perfectly adequate. Room maintenance was excellent, very clean and I think we had clean sheets and towels every day. WiFi was easy to use, very fast and included. Breakfast was about average for this kind of hotel, with as much good coffee as you can drink served by the friendly barista. Easy walking distance to all of Bellagio shops and restaurants, the Villa Meltzi and the ferry terminals makes this an excellent, good value hotel for a stay in Bellagio.

Room Tip: We had room 101, with access to a terrace . Room is good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    100
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
241
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
619 helpful votes 619 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We chose this hotel because it guaranteed parking our rented car, which we knew we were not going to be using during our short stay in Bellagio.My husband had his heart set on staying in one of the much fancier hotels directly on the lake with a view,but they would not guarantee parking.Parking is very hard to find and the rules are not always clear for the traveler.We knew that we would not spend much time in the hotel and so it was a good choice for us in the end.Our room on the first floor was small,yet comfortable and clean bed was all we needed.For longer stay with all our luggage(2 weeks travel thru Europe) it would have become more challenging. This hotel is positioned sort of in a middle row of Bellagio and my husband was helped by the owner with the luggage.The bathroom was clean,but we did not get the modern one as another guest mentioned in her review,but a tiny bathroom with a kind of "harmonica" cloth enclosure,something I have never seen before. For a brief moment I wanted to ask for a different room.The owner reminded me that I did get the room with the terrace as I requested when booking the room. I always look for a balcony or something that would allow me to step outside the room, I weighed my priorities and we stayed.The breakfast was nice and cappuccino always ready for the asking.This is a small hotel -family owned,so that in itself provided a different experience for us.It was also very reasonably priced.We took a day trip (ferry) to Varenna, that was recommended by the owner's son and had a great day and wonderful dinner there, watching the time in the evening not to miss the last ferry back.

Room Tip: I would still ask for a terrace, but would also request more modern bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an ideal choice for Bellagio. Right in the middle, close to the restaurants, but quiet and comfortable. Rooms were great, and the manager always had very good advice on restaurants etc., Nice garden and friendly staff. Fair value as well. Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emu Park
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Love this hotel. Spotlessly clean, very welcoming, a sanctuary! Rooms are a good size, beds very comfortable, bathrooms very modern. The hotel has an elevator, phew! There are lots of stairs in Bellagio, so it was nice not to have to climb any more stairs when we got to the hotel. 2 minutes from ferry terminal. There is a lovely terrace and courtyard where you can catch up with friends. The staff are really helpful. It's well priced, great value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a night mid-September. The hotel has a quaint characteristic, but its centrally located in Bellagio, few steps away from one of the ferry terminals. The rooms were decent and spacious enough for 2 adults and a child. The breakfast room is rather beautiful with a garden view and glass doors. We didnt get to enjoy our breakfast as we had to rush to catch an early ferry, but the cappuccino was great. The sleep quality was average, as we could hear footsteps and voices during the night. But that didnt last too long. I would still recommend this to anyone staying in Bellagio. Special mention about La Fontana (hope I got the name right), a restaurant right behind the hotel, where we ate dinner. The curried pasta that we had was out of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We spend our weekend in Bellagio and we found this awesome hotel.
Rooms are clean and big enought.
Breakfast was various and generous.
But the most important thing is that the staff was absolutely lovely. We had a great time there, like to be at home.
Thanks guys!!

Giacomo

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Loved our recent three night stay at Hotel Centrale in Bellagio. The family owned hotel has a true european feel with lots personal touches. The owners were very helpful and friendly...opening up the breakfast room for us one evening to gather and share a local bottle of wine. Our breakfast buffet each morning was wonderful offering excellent cappuccino and american coffee. Our room was basic, but comfortable and very reasonably priced. The free WiFi worked well...we were able to watch our college team's football game while sitting outside on the patio. Even though the Vols lost it was an amazing place to watch a game. The hotel is situated up a narrow cobbled stone road..difficult to reach with luggage- pack lightly. We loved Bellagio and Hotel Centrale..would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.