We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quaint and charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Centrale is small family run hotel in the centre of town within reach all amenities. The rooms are very clean, pleasantly furnished and unfussy. If you want to be in a laid back environment then this is ideal. TV A/C and free Wi Fi all available. Breakfast buffet very basic but adequate. Hotel is situated halfway up one of the narrow streets leading from main lakeside area to the church square and one tip is if arriving by car park in church square and walk down incline instead of walking up steps from bottom. Much easier! Also don't expect a lie in - church bells start at 07.00. Would recommend this hotel and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    100
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
241
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

First off, I would rarely award a full five stars as I like to save them, but I can see why a number of others have chosen to award five stars to Centrale Bellagio. It is not a full amenities place. If you full nine, like a work-out room, fancy room service, bathrobes, a view of the water, etc you should look to spend (a lot more) elsewhere (like the Hotel Belvedere). Centrale is a gem, almost more like a Bed and Breakfast than a hotel. An excellent choice we were very, very happy to have made.

It starts with the friendly, attentive father and sons who run the hotel. From the delicious coffee (esp. cappuccino) they make to order at the morning breakfast to answering any travel question you might have, they genuinely seem to enjoy interacting with and helping guests.

Rooms are cozy, airy and bright enough (face it you will be out during the day!). Comfortable bed, nice shower and bath products, smallish but adequate closet to hang clothes. Incredibly quiet, esp. given its location in the heart of Bellagio. We stayed end of August beginning of September, and while there were a number of other guests, the hotel still felt intimate. Near a produce store and small market as well, a bonus for my vegetarian wife. Computer for Internet access was handy, with former guests contributing to a "travel library" in case you might still need a few tips. Breakfast is serviceable but pleasant, with yogurt, cereal, some crossiants (occasionally a bit overcooked sorry), fruit, some meats (I did not try), the aforesaid excellent coffee, and if you're lucky, some special "cake" involving pine nuts, dried fruit, and walnuts -- sort of like a moist banana bread (but no bananas). We actually took a couple extra pieces with us for a nice snack during our hikes in the mountains above Menaggio. A welcome treat!

The hotel connected us with a driver service for E120 return to Milan, which, given our morning flight, I HIGHLY recommend (lets you stay another night in town and avoid the ferry, train, bus negotiation).

All in all a strong recommendation and worth your consideration and patronage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First trip to Europe (8/5 - 8/23/13) and what a great place to start. Bellagio was the best town of the 3 we saw on Lake Como because it was the biggest of the 3 we visited (Mennagio and Varenna being the other 2) and had the most shopping (more upper end stores and very few schlocky shops). The hotel was about 40 steps up a well travelled street from where the boat docks so it is interesting getting the luggage up to the hotel. If you have luggage with wheels there is a round about way to get to it but it would take longer. No matter, it was a real nice hotel with nice gardens as you enter the grounds. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and my wife said it was the best cappucino she had while in Italy. The room was very comfortable on the first floor (#101) which shared a nice size patio with room 102 so you could relax and you had about an 8 foot wide view of the lake. Very relaxing for a glass of wine in the evening or cappucino in the morning. Very affordable at $266 for 2 nights. We loved it.

Room Tip: The best view in the back was from the patio we had and it made it very pleasant having the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the town. The rooms are small but they have everything that you need. Breakfast in the morning is nothing special but convenient, as everywhere the coffee is outstanding. we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: small rooms, ok beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our short stay at the Hotel Centrale. The service was outstanding, the room was very nice, and we loved the hotel's location.
We arrived late in the morning. Michele was on duty and offered us something we were glad to accept - ice cold fruit drinks. Afterward, he did something we weren't expecting; he showed us rooms on the first and third floor and let us pick which one we wanted to stay in. We opted for a very nice first floor courtyard room.
Our room was well appointed, the bathroom looked new, and the air conditioning was working fine; a welcome relief from being out in the hot sun. While the Hotel Centrale doesn't offer lake views it offers a great location in the heart of Bellagio. You're surrounded by restaurants and shopping - two things Bellagio offers in abundance.
Breakfast was in an attractive sun room located just off the small lobby. We had a nice choice of fruits, yogurt, cereal, breads and juices. When we were ready to leave Michelle answered our questions about boarding the train in Varenna and then offered to help us carry our bags down the steps. We appreciated his thoughtfulness but said that wasn't necessary. But, he insisted. He happily took my wife's luggage and we all walked down the steps to the downtown harbor area.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely. This is the kind of small hotel that treats its guests like family. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Hotel Centrale and would recommend it to other visitors contemplating a stay in beautiful Bellagio.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room. The first floor room we stayed in offered a very pleasant view. Plus, we l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We can echo the views of other reviewers, this hotel is very clean and the the service from the family team running it is very friendly and helpful.

Don't expect ultra modern Italian style, but the TV and wifi work well, with personal service to ensure internet connection was up to scratch [they put an extra wifi extender in our room to help us! ]

Well located, as others have written but other hotels must have better views of the lake, something we knew when booking. It is possible the best view is of Bellagio from the lake, not the other way round!

Overall, good value, pleasant breakfast, excellent personal service.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a shared terrace and a thin view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Bellagio is an expensive city but well worth a visit. The other towns on the lake are also expensive. Hotel Centrale, while not cheap, was a good value in an expensive area. They specifically say there is no lake view from the rooms, but there is a sliver of one from our balcony and from the 2nd floor terrace. Our room was small but comfortable with a balcony overlooking the small grounds of the hotel. Its furnishings make if feel more like you are visiting your Italian Aunt. A very large tree offers shade in the hot summer days. Service by the owner and sons is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good, smaller than some we had but with hot croissants. Great location right in town with very good restaurants within 1 block.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.