We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreux
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just like at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a family business and they have put a lots of effort in making this little place a jewel in the center of Bellagio! Its between the highstreet (near the church and piazza) and the galleries along the lake, making a perfectly tranquille place to rest after spending the day walking around Bellagio or taking a boat tour. Go there regularly with the children and they want to go nowhere else.
M. Borelli and son are the most helpful people and will help in more manners you can imagine.
The hotel has lovely courtyard and a small terrace from which there is a small opening on the lake
Beds are queen size and are comfortable. Rooms are "spic and span" and breakfast is simple. Also the hotel is nearly the only one open all year round.

Room Tip: Ask for the courtyard rooms if it's the first time you go there, but you won't get morning s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    101
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
47
241
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We didnt know quite what to expect we were not disappointed. It was excellent from start to finish we only stayed one night however would have stayed for a week. Very clean and friendly own terrace to share with our family. Would re-visit any time and planning to go back very soon.

Room Tip: if possible request rooms with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This B&B is a very clean, very nice. The family run establishment is very helpful. The owner even helped us get our train tickets. It is a half block up hill from the boat dock so a little hard to maneuver on cobble stones and Bellagio is a small area and I imagine would be unbelievably crowded in the summer months but as far as accommodations go I would recommend this place. Great breakfast too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my second time staying at Hotel Centrale Bellagio (last visit was in 2007) and it was just as good as I remembered. The rooms were very clean and quite. The location is great and staff are very helpful. The only slight downside to this property is that the bathrooms are small but they are completely functional. The price is really inexpensive for the area. I would definitely recommend Hotel Centrale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We found this hotel through Rick Steves and we felt lucky to get a reasonably priced room in Bellagio. We had a lovely room, as did the other couple with us--plenty of room, clean, apparently newly renovated bathrooms. I wish they had a full length mirror somewhere in the room, but it is a minor complaint. The breakfast was good and there was an additional area to sit outside on the level above and sip wine or whatever under grape vines and with other planted vegetables and herbs. Wifi was available for free throughout the hotel. There is also a computer room if you didn't bring your own, along with a printer. The staff was most helpful. The hotel is run by a father and his 2 sons. Marcello was there most often and was the best at English. He had excellent recommendations for restaurants and an airport service directly to Malpensa (Milan). We would definitely stay here again or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Although none of the rooms seemed too noisy, a room not overlooking the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A small hotel, very nicely located about a block from the waterfront and the ferry stop for passengers. It is about three blocks from the car ferry. This is a family owned hotel, and the father and two sons seemed to take turns at the front desk and in the breakfast room. Marchello is the one who is most often there, and he is very helpful, both with suggesting things to do and see and making reservations.

The rooms were not large but were quite clean. The maid service did a good job and were not intrusive. The bathrooms were fine, and the water even tasted good. The shower was small and it was hard to keep some water from leaking out onto the bathroom floor, but that was minor. The towels were fine.

Breakfast is included, and is not bad. There are various pastries and rolls. There also are some cold cuts and cheese, along with cereals, milk and yogurt. There are no eggs, but they do not see to be a major feature in Italian breakfasts. They do make good coffee, cappuccino, and espresso to order.

The hotel had a very serviceable wi-fi connection that worked in the rooms, as well as the lobby. The staff was very helpful, and gave great recommendations for dinners and sights to see. They also were helpful in arranging transportation from the hotel to the Malpensa airport in Milan. It turned out that getting a ride directly there was much quicker and only a bit more expensive than going by multiple trains. It also avoided the need to tote luggage up and down stairways in Bellagio and in the train stations, so that was a find.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pa.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay here very much. The owners are very helpful. Breakfast was good and served in a lovely room. Our room, although small, was very clean. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.