We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Bellagio” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay in Bellagio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Bellagio's Hotel Centrale is a delight. It is a beautiful old building with a charming courtyard garden and a pleasant upper terrace. The rooms are quite large by Italian standards, with lovely furniture built by the owners' great-grandfather and flower paintings done by their mother. Rooms are well air-conditioned. The breakfast buffet is quite large. The owners are unusually friendly and helpful. The bedrooms and bathrooms could use better lighting to facilitate reading, shaving, or applying makeup, but this is usual in European smaller hotels because of the high cost of electricity. The location is attractive, although a bit difficult to reach up a flight of some 70 steps (most streets in Bellagio are actually steps); there actually is a longer but easier way to the hotel involving fewer steps and those downhill instead of uphill, but it is necessary to ask directions to find this route.

We loved our stay at the Centrale and will certainly return there. We recommend it highly, and we must mention that it is an exceptional bargain at its very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 204 has two small balconies overlooking the courtyard and garden. It is right next to the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    100
    21
    2
    2
See reviews for
46
238
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatel, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hotel Centrale and we've promised ourselves a return visit. The hotel is in the perfect spot, close to the lake up picturesque, cobbled steps and within easy reach of everything. Our room was simply furnished and spotlessly clean, with a modern bathroom (no bath, but a good shower). Wi-fi worked in the bedroom. There is a shady, quiet garden area and a roof terrace. The hotel was lovely to come back to after a full day out. We enjoyed the breakfasts - pastries, cakes, yoghurts, cereals, fruit - plenty to choose from. The owners responded quickly to emails before our visit and were friendly and welcoming.
Bellagio itself is a wonderful picturesque town with restaurants and shops. The three restaurants we tried were all excellent, the best of the bunch just round the corner from the hotel - Antico Pozzo. None of them take reservations so you have to be there bang on 7pm or be prepared to wait around. Opposite the Trattoria San Giacomo (very popular so get there early) is the friendly bar Aperitivo et Al so it's easy to spend a while there before your meal.
In a short stay we visited the stunning gardens of Villa Melzi, walked over the hill to Pescallo, took a boat trip to Mennagio and Tremezzo and just wandered through the delightful streets of Bellagio.
Yes, parking is a challenge but who cares! This is an amazing place and I can't wait to come back and stay in the Hotel Centrale again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Johnsonville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Outstanding customer service provided at this hotel. Very friendly staff, eager to provide information and advice. Great location. Large, clean rooms with A/C. Unfortunately WIFI does not work in rooms, but there is a beautiful terrace that can be enjoyed while using the internet. A PC is also provided if you do not have your own device. Delicious breakfast with personalized designs on top of the cappucino foam. We left a small tip to show our appreciation of the service and received an email of thanks the next day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a fantastic place. A friend and I were travelling to a wedding on Lake Como and it was suggested that the guests find accommodation in Bellagio. We really both chose Hotel Centrale because it was cheap.
I should start by saying Centrale by name central by nature. Very easy to find and very easy to walk to anywhere you might want to go. The room we stayed in was small but clean and perfectly formed.
The management were ridiculously friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them and greeted us with a smile and quick chat when going in or out.
The wedding was the night before we left and due to a very late night/early morning we both slept in past our check out time. The manager on duty simply called our room to remind us and thanked us when we said we were sorry and would get out as soon as possible. Ended up being an hour late!
Thank you so much for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I just spent several days at the hotel centrale in mid august. We found everything about this hotel to be exactly what they portray in their web site. However, they deliver their services in a friendly and accomodating way. As they state, the hotel does not have a water view. Actually our first floor room had a shared terrace with a view down to the lake. You could see the lake, but it was not a panoramic view. Again, if you are expecting a lake view. dont stay here. However, for the price , you get excellent service, a nice room (not large, but very comfortable including the bed. It is family run with a smile, attentiveness to guests and helpful in any way possible.

Breakfast is decent , but dont expect hot prepared foods like eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc.

As an aside, Here is the downside and it is NOT the hotel. Parking in the busy season is a NiGHTMARE, No matter how convenient anyone makes it sound, Bellagio has very LIMITED parking. The day we arrived we spent hours circling, trying to unload and find paid parking. We fed the meters until night time when luckily we found a free , but very tight, spot. Bellagio was the first stop on our vacation to Europe. the hassle with parking really ruined our first day. So be warned and be prepared. If we had it to do again, we would take a train and try to get a car afterwards.

We would definitely recommend the Hotel Centrale. It is a short, but fairly steep hill consisting of steps down to the ferry and large hotels and restaurants. Location is great, unless you want to pay extra for the hotels with better and more expansive views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Chanced upon this place while touring the lakes. Booked in with my family (4) with 24 hours notice at the height of peak season! Clean, cosy & comfortable. Very friendly & helpful family staff. Decent rooms with clean & tidy en-suites. Complimentary internet access on a shares PC. wonderful location in the middle of Bellagio with a small private garden and a roof-top sitting out area. Tip-top restaurant / pizzeria & cafe just next door. No parking, but that's Bellagio. We left our car at Cadenabbia and took the ferry, which worked fine. Decent breakfast with lots of coffee in the morning. We will be back!

Room Tip: Prefer a room with a garden view and small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is an excellent value. It is clean, has a cube shower (not a tub with 2 feet of plexiglass), has good AC and is centrally located. The breakfast is basic, but the coffee is good and they will even make you a decaf cappuccino.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Salita Plinio 7, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Centrale Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.