We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, Nice Staff, Shame about the bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Suisse to your Saves list
Hotel Suisse
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   P.zza Mazzini 8/10, Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Cambridgeshire, UK.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice location, Nice Staff, Shame about the bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I stayed at the Hotel Suisse in Bellagio for two reasons. 1. it's in Bellagio 2. It was the only hotel available at short notice.
I understood it was a budget hotel on booking. On arrival, I was surprised by the very central location on the Bellagio promenade. The staff are generally friendly and helpful and the rooms and halls are bohemian in decor. This really suits me as you can get bored of 4 star plushness and this had charm.
I loved the original old pieces of furniture in our room and the simple decor was fine. Whar was not fine was a sparsely clean bathroom (albeit with copious towels), fitted with a poor quality shower cube. This is a shame as the staff obviously enjoy working here and it is a nice place. Just the bathrooms could do with cleaning properly and probably modernising, though to be fair everything worked. Our bathroom was not even cleaned before our last night. Breakfast is laid out in the restaurant abd is a nice place to eat, though food choices are limited. We weren't even told about breakfast on check in, which was a bit relaxed.
If it was truly a budget place, I would not have expected to pay over 100 Euros per night so that is my main gripe. Also beware no phones in rooms and loose carpets on the staircases (the rods work loose).
All in all, I probably would recommend it. Just.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    14
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Our Hotel Suisse experience was so friendly and welcoming. After a long journey from Nice, we arrived on the bus from Como (what a ride!) and were unsure where to find the hotel, but wandering down by the lake front for a 100 metres or so and it is easy to find. The hotel doesn't have a formal reception as such and you go into the restaurant, but the hotel manager is easy to find.

This is a family business, it is professional and the service was great. Yasmin, who looked after us and has perfect English, was not only welcoming to the hotel, she also gave us all the information, maps and tips we needed for our 2 days on Lake Como. A mini tourist office without having to go to the sometimes crowded ferry terminal across the road.

The restuarant was great, and though there is a Michelin star restaurant in the village, we chose to eat at Suisse and were very happy. We reserved our table in the late afternoon and could choose the perfect spot overlooking the lake. The calm and efficient service provided by the same people who poured our coffee that morning at breakfast. Bonus is that guests receive a 10% discount on meals at the restaurant.

The rates for lake view rooms are more, but the view is worth it! Bellagio is an expensive spot, and a view like this one was worth three times as much in nearby hotels. Make sure you book carefully so not to miss out!

The furniture and decor in the hotel are older in style, but it only added to the atmosphere and experience for us. The bed was comfortable, the marble-topped dresser beats something from Ikea, and the room & bathroom were spotlessly clean. And the double windows opened wide to show off the view. Lovely.

The hotel has only 1 star, but the owners recently bought the hotel and are gradually updating the facilities. The service, view and comfort were all above what I expected and more akin to the 3 star places we stayed in elsewhere. They are making a real effort, so this is a lovely place to stay. And Bellagio, as with much of Lake Como in general is just beautiful.

Note: No lift, there are only stairs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We booked our hotel at Metropole Bellagio, but decided to try restaurant at Hotel Suisse. This restaurant was just a few steps across the road and with fantastic outdoor tables looking out on the lake. Well, the cuisine and service were so good that we dined there four nights in a row. The proprietors Louisa & Guido and their staff made us feel special. Our thanks to them for making our stay in Bellagio memorable.

Ed & Ruth

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My family and I left it a little late to book accomodation for a wedding we were attending in Bellagio and the only hotel with any vacancies left was the Hotel Suisse - which advertised itself as a 1*. We were terrified about what we'd find as I have stayed in 3* hotels in Rome where they had shoe-horned a bed into what was essentially an understairs cupboard with a dirty, dark bathroom. However, when we saw the Suisse, we were pleasantly surprised. It is right on the lake-edge in the thick of Bellagio, rather than set back away from the water as we expected it to be - and all three of our room were of a good size, with shuttered windows with juliette balconies overlooking a little cobbled street. The rooms (and hotel) were clean and quiet - the staff were friendly and the included breakfast was more than adequate including hot and cold drinks, toast, croissants, ham, cheese, jam and yoghurts. I think the £120 a night rate is a little steep, but honestly you pay for the location everywhere in Lake Como and you'd be hard-pushed to find much cheaper. We were perfectly happy with our accidental choice anmd I'd stay again if with friends, family or trying to do Lake Como on a shoe-string. If looking for a romantic get-away I'd probably choose one of the pricier options such as Metropole, Bellagio, Du Lac or Villa Serballoni - mainly because the sound-proofing between rooms in Suisse wasn't great, there was no English TV and the bed's headboards banged against the wall everytime you turned over in the night!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

We booked this hotel for a trip away to Bellagio, there are so many hotels to choose from and this one seemed fine. My boyfriend had previously e-mailed them and told them that we would be arriving at 1.30am in the morning, because of our flight times, they said that was fine and gave us a number to call when we arrived into Bellagio. We arrived into Bellagio and pulled up outside the hotel and called the number, no-one answered and it was being diverted. An hour and a half later, we gave up and didn't know what to do. The front of the hotel had metal shutters pulled down and there was no way of entering or getting a room that night. On top of this, my boyfriend has arranged champagne in the room for when we arrived, as it was for my Birthday and all of this plan was now ruined. Luckily the hotel next door (Hotel Metropole), has an open reception and they luckily had a room available, so we checked in there for the night. The next day we went to the hotel to see what happened and we were told to come back when the owner was there. We went back and we basically said, where was everyone last night, we were calling till 3.00am in the morning and he really did not care! We then cancelled our entire booking with him and kept our room in the Hotel Metropole. Such a nightmare!! In addition to this, the Hotel Suisse is set back from the lake and does not overlook the lake. We were paying €130.00 a night at the Hotel Suisse and we knew that the Hotel Metropole was going to be more money, because of the higher standard, but when we checked the price, we got a lake view room for €115.00 a night, which was literally on the lake and out balcony looked directly over it, so €15 a night cheaper and a million times nicer standard of hotel.
I suggest you do not book to go to the Hotel Suisse, rip off and the hotel looks tatty and very unprofessional. Hope this helps!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Unprofessional Establishment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

A recent trip to the Lake Como region in Italy discovered this fabulous Hotel Suisse again. I have stayed there a few times. Its right on the waterfront at Bellagio, Europes prettiest town. Four storeys high, maybe 25 rooms. and only ONE star in rating.

Why ONE star is an oddity. It's probably a genuine THREE star, but it's old world in the rooms, rickerty furnishings, antiques and charming. The bathrooms are excellent. This is one of the very best finds I have had. The rooms are a litle expensive - maybe Euro100, but large and with a balcony overlooking the lake. Try room 6, The receptionist, Marta, is so helpful. Make sure you get it in writing for a lake view. The owner, a wealthy Italian, is a bit too smug for me though. Yet, rarely seen.

On the ground floor is their restaurant which is the best in town, great service, and fabulous waiters that chat away to the guests.

I have recommended this place many times. PERFECT !!

  • Liked — The charm. Priceless.
  • Disliked — no internet, but one around the corner. No phone, but take a real holiday !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

Our stay 7/1-7/5, 2007 Today 7/07
Please share this with your staff.
I wish I could have stayed longer ! We had a wonderful time. We arrived to Bellagio in a storm. The staff said something so beautiful, "welcome, we have been expecting you". So kind, so caring, so beautiful, everyone of them. The hotel itself was old world splendor, the food was very good and creative. The waiters, so so handsome and charming. I left my heart there. Until we meet again !
Sandra Mattina

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: P.zza Mazzini 8/10, Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.