We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the waterfront” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Suisse to your Saves list
Hotel Suisse
1.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   P.zza Mazzini 8/10, Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Kelliepk
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the waterfront”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is a nice hotel with decent rooms on the waterfront. The hostess was extremely helpful and very accommodating. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was fine, typical Italian continental. Our room with a view was a little misleading as it was back in the village up a few flight of stairs with only a sliver of a view of the water. Nice bathroom. A little pricey...but it is Bellagio.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    14
    11
    8
See reviews for
8
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This was the final stop on our 2 week vacation through Italy and it was our favorite place of all. My nieces & I loved the Hotel with its lakeside location and views to die for! We dined at the Hotel and it was a memorable experience too. Our room was spacious & quiet, except for the cooing doves outside our room.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view room, which would have been very nice, but the Hotel offers lots of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Make sure you get reservations for dinner in the hotel. The meal and service is outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

No question that the big plus for Hotel Suisse is its excellent location. True there are others nearby but all at higher rates.

Stunning views from your room (if lakefront room as we had) or from the 1st floor terrace - which is used for dining at night.

Rooms are nice sized. Not air-conditioned but fans are available.

The Lake Como ferry is right out your door so sightseeing around the lake is very easy.

Also, since your dead center in Bellagio, local sightseeing is simple. All the shops and restaurants are right there.

The included breakfast was the best on our 3+ week tour and the one dinner we had was excellent (and the waiter was above average).

All in all a very pleasant stay and highly recommended for this type of property

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Firstly the staff were just great at this hotel particularly Fatima. We were given really helpful advice not only before we arrived by car but also during our stay. The hotel is in a great spot and we had a lovely room overlooking the lake. The room was adequate with all facilities. The hotel provides breakfast which was excellent but also has a full service restaurant. We dined there both nights. Excellent food, wine and service. Bellagio is a lovely town very quaint and a delightful place to visit and shop. My wife was so frightened by the drive from Lecco to Bellagio that Fatima suggested we take the car ferry to Varenna and then head for the main highway from there. Excellent advice once again. I must say that our stay at the Hotel Suisse was too short and we would love to return and enjoy the ambience of the hotel, the township and its wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

Nice "cheap' hotel in Bellagio where the cheapest is still expensive. Old building and fornitures but clean and with everything working. The position on the square make it noisy in the night for people talking under your window. No elevator.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Yes, it's old fashioned, but you cannot beat the location & the staff were amazingly friendly.
It isn't cheap, but it was significantly cheaper than anywhere else in town. What makes it unbeatable is the first floor terrace overlooking the lake - heaven! The staff even gave us glasses and an ice bucket so we could enjoy our own champagne with the glorious view - you won't get that anywhere else in town! Would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to get back to beautiful Bellagio.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: P.zza Mazzini 8/10, Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Suisse 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Suisse is located in the historical center of Bellagio, just 10 metres far from the lake. Its good position gives the guests a direct access into the center of the town with all its services.The domestic tenancy offers an informal and cosy atmosphere.The rooms, recently renewed, remind the historical significance of this hotel. It was, indeed, the secret meeting point of the owner, Bice Gobio Melzi, and the famous writer Ippolito Nievo.Some rooms boast a wonderful view of the lake, all of them have a private bathroom and a characteristic furniture. The junior suite, the latest renewed, has also a steam room.The restaurant is located on the ground floor, right on the promenade, and on the first floor, on a striking lake view terrace. Classical and international fusion cuisine are served. The best Italian and international wines are available on the wine list. The restaurant is also available for banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Suisse Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.