We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Long Island, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The Metropole is a grand old hotel offering the most spectacular views of Lake Como. My wife & I stayed for a week & enjoyed our top floor corner room with balcony. There is a modest but pleasant sun roof. Although we ate in town, we enjoyed cocktails and coffee at the hotel terrace. The breakfast was rather weak with a pathetic coffee machine. A hotel with so much going for it should provide more...and who expects bad coffee in Italy!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    234
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
425
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

This is a nice hotel. Best location in Bellagio, right on the water with nothing but beauty to look at. The room was plain and very small and the bathroom, especially the shower, was even smaller. Very neat and clean. The elevator was too small to fit my wife and I and our luggage at the same time. As much a function of our over packing as the elevator size. The desk staff was extremely helpful with our many questions. The only down side in this regard was that there was no offer to help with our bags. We managed fine but felt they should have least offered.
That all said we enjoyed our stay here immensely. This lake is one of the prettiest places on earth. At least that I have experienced. The hotel is nice and being reasonbly priced, a very good value. Took a look at some of the others in town and we were happy we chose this one.

  • Liked — Locatoin
  • Disliked — size of accomodations
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Metropole in mid October and had a fantastic stay. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. Bellagio is small and easy to walk. We arrived by taking the bus from the Lake Como train station. It's a nice ride and takes about 40 minutes.

We booked on the hotel website and requested a "lake front" room. This is worth the extra price. The view, as you can see from our pictures is fabulous. We had a small balcony with two chairs for lovely afternoon sunset views!

The ferry to the other small towns at Lake Como arrive and depart in front of the hotel, but we did not notice any noise at night. The ferry was actually very convenient if you need to take the train to Milan. You can catch the ferry to Varenna and the train is at the top of the town's hill by the bridge.

The room was clean and quiet. We ate breakfast in the breakfast room every morning. Nice selection of fruits, cereal, yogurt, breads, juice and coffee. The hotel has a rooftop balcony that is wonderful. It has lounge chairs and a wonderful view of the lake and surrounding countryside.

We would stay again without hesitation....Lake Como is beautiful.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Location, staff, room, view - all were as good or better than advertised.
We were there for a week, during the same time as a previous poster who mentioned one mosquito bite, so they kept their windows closed for 10 days - ouch. No mosquitos from our room and we were on the same floor - we kept our windows wide open (you can always ask the hotel for the Vapore plug ins which work exceptionally well against mosquitos if you see one)
I was concerned before our arrival about ferry noise, as I am a light sleeper, but they were not irritating at all, and actually enhanced the whole experience.
The beds were very comfortable -not rock hard as some Italian beds, and the bonus of a tub in the bathroom was great for lounging.
The view really is unbeatable. After spending a week exploring the area, I couldn't see a better situated hotel, and we were very pleased with our corner room with 3 sets of french doors.
Use the roof top deck for apertivo hour - It really is a gem.

  • Liked — View, cleanliness, elegant draperies, windows
  • Disliked — the stampede at 9am for breakfast - having to go earlier
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irela
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

just got back on monday. stayed there for 3d,2n. absolutely brilliant!quick check in, english speaking staff, room 454 has a lake view, side view and a toilet view...bath tub was sweet. great stay. nice food down at the restaurant, breakfast was good too. car ferry noise is charming and starts around 8am, time to wake up anyways. staff are helpful, we left our handphone and they promptly wrote and mailed it to us. will happily return...

  • Liked — location location location, fantastic views
  • Disliked — no car park(but theres public carpark nearby)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Best rate was going directly with the hotel. We had no fuss booking, the hotel is right along side the arrival and departure wharf. That may be its only draw back. It is too close to the ferries - car and passenger ferries. Otherwise, like most hotels, the rooms are small. The bathrooms have just been renovated and were excellent. The staff friendly and helpful.
If you go to Bellagio the La Punta Restaurant, Wine Bars in Serbelloni Salita both worth a visit. I won't bother with Far Out Restaurant.
A walk to Pescallo in the morning is worth the effort.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

The location of this hotel cannot be beat. Right on the water with a restaurant overlooking the ferry activity and small harbor. As mentioned by others the staff are wonderful, from ladies at the fornt desk to the night watchman to the restaurant Maitre d' - Franco. We had a large room with a balcony overlooking the lake. Things are small - eg the TV, no tissues, but full of charm. Wireless internet access only in the lobby. We'd stay here again any time

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room a bit small
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.