We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€91 (EUR)
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed for 10 nights at the Hotel Metropole in July, and had an amazing holiday.

Bellagio is the most perfect place on Lake Como, and the Metropole has the perfect spot in Bellagio. Straight out of the doors and into the hub of it all.

We had a room with a side lake view, which we looked out to from the Juliette balcony - still a beautiful view, even from the side. Our room was well furnished, nicely decorated and of ample size. Bathroom was roomy and the shower excellent. The toiletries were a nice added touch.
The tea/coffee making facilities and mini bar/fridge are an excellent idea, not something you would normally find in a 3 star hotel.

Breakfast is good. Plenty of choice to suit any taste. The cake was a particular favourite!
The roof top terrace is fab. Plenty of sunbeds/loungers/chairs. Complimentary towels are also a nice touch. A great place to relax after a busy day exploring.


An excellent hotel, would return tomorrow if we could!

TIPS:
Get the bus to Como and the slow ferry back to Bellagio - wonderful scenery.

For the BEST ice-cream in Bellagio, try GELATERIA DEL BORGO, on Via Garibaldi - it's AMAZING!

For a fab evening meal, try L'ANTICO POZZO RESTAURANT - lovely pizza and the best Lasagne, very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    237
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
83
432
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We chose the Hotel Metropole based on the many excellent TA reviews. Our room with a terrace did boast a great view, and the room was just fine. As many have mentioned, the location is great and unfortunately there are not many choices of places to stay in this area with this kind of view. Having said that, I would not stay at the Hotel Metropole again and I would not recommend it. We had a room on the floor just beneath the terrace. The door leading to the terrace is apparently left open all night. On the last night of our stay, there was a large party on the terrace which spilled onto our floor, of drunken young people, who could be heard laughing and talking between midnight and 4 a.m. At about 1, I opened our door and asked them to quiet down. Other guests on our floor did the same. They did not. I then began calling the front desk to ask for their assistance. To my utter surprise and horror, no one answered. While I understand that the hotel cannot control the behavior of their guests, I feel it is imperative to have someone answer the phone all night long. As a result of this inconvenience, we got zero sleep the last night of our vacation. I reported the problem to the front desk in the morning, who seemed rather unconcerned. They told me there is someone on duty during the night but could provide no explanation of why the phone was not answered. Although the noise and lack of sleep was an inconvenience for us, if there were a true emergency there would have been no one to help. Also, if I were this hotel, I would be very concerned about the safety of leaving intoxicated guests on the roof in the middle of the night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMBellagio, Proprietario at Hotel Metropole Bellagio, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Sirs, We are sorry for the inconvenience that you had during the last night of your stay. However, we want to assure you that the hotel during the night is guarded, for every needs, also emergencies, by a trusty night doorman. After that night, due to the rudeness of a few, in spite of ourselves, we forced the closure of the magnificent roof garden at eleven o'clock in the evening. Hoping to have again our Guests, Best regards. Giacomo Rota
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I recently spent a few days in Bellagio on business and stayed in this hotel on the last night. It is perfectly located in the heart of the village next to all the restaurants, shops and ferry terminals. Walk out of the front door and you are on the waterside piazza. The rooms are good for a three star hotel and are clean and functional. Breakfast also has something for everyone and there is a great terrace right over the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Spent five nights in this beautiful hotel with our two adult daughters. Well worth the extra for a room with balcony overlooking the lake. Breakfast excellent with wide selection and despite some previous comments we found the evening dinner excellent with wide choice and at a reasonable price the one night we dinned in. Many excellent restaurants in the town and would recommend "La Punta", "La Fontana" and "Carillon".
Any minor issues that arose during our stay were immediately and efficiently dealt with and we could find no fault with the hotel management or staff. If there was one small negative it was that the shower in the bathroom was not up to standard with low water pressure.

Location is excellent and we had no issue with noise from ferries which docked outside from 7am to 11pm. On occasions we could hear the music drift in from adjacent restaurants as we sat on the balcony but everything went quiet before midnight.

A tip for anyone staying in Bellagio is to take the local bus to Como (€3 per person) which goes every hour and then take the slow ferry back to Bellagio which stops at numerous locations with fantastic scenic views throughout the journey. We traveled out from Milan by train (tip- worth paying small premium for 1st class ticket) and got the ferry across to Bellagio

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting room with full lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great hotel in a central location in Bellagio. Beautiful, sweeping views and comfortable rooms. We were lake view and it was perfectly fine. Perfect location to see Bellagio on foot. Also very close to ferries for travel to other lake towns. The staff was very helpful with suggestions for dinner and making reservations. The staff also accommodated us early with breakfast the morning we departed. Food was delicious. Room was comfortable and quiet. Rooftop terrace is a great get-away to have a drink or relax in the sunshine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Choose a room with a terrace - the room was grand and the terrace beautiful with great views, definitely a 4 star room. Breakfast plentiful but pretty average. Staff friendly and helpful with good recommendations for local walks etc. Really nice to have breakfast provided very early on the last day. Would visit again - amazing location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

WOW this was the most amazing hotel! We had the cheapest room and we still had the most incredible lake (side) view. We only stayed for one night but we could have stayed happily for weeks. Perfect location and hotel. Comfortable beds, an incredible view and friendly staff what more could you want! I could not recommend this more.

Room Tip: Side view rooms are cheaper with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.