We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our first hotel on a big holiday and it was a great European experience. Our welcome was warm and friendly. Small elevator to our room which overlooked the lake. The room was on the smaller side but very adequate with a comfy bed and good facilities. We sat on the small balcony which overlooked the lake.The location of this hotel is directly on the lake. Breakfasts in the breakfast room were varied and plentiful with something to suit everyone.We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night there. Food was delicious and service excellent. The hotel is in a great location, very central to the ferry terminals and many great restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room with a balcony and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    232
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
80
419
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Hotel Metropole which we chose for its location right on the lake. Our room (112) was lovely clean and bright with a private terrace overlooking the lake at the front and Piazza Mazzini to the side. On a clear day the view of Lake Como with the snow covered Swiss alps in the distance was stunning. Wi-Fi was free and the speed and reception was great. There was also tea making facilities which was a great plus and out of 3 hotels Italian hotels we stayed in on our trip, the only one to provide this. A negative was that they did not provide bath robes or free bottled water.

Room Tip: Room 112 on the corner with Terrace hard to beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've always wanted to go to Lake Como, and this stay surpassed my expectations in terms of beauty and the accomodations were fantastic. We only had 2 nights, wish we had more. We had a terrace room - wow, what a terrace! We could have had quite a party out there, it is huge. In fact, it was so nice that we did absolutely nothing the one full day we had in Bellagio. We just sat out on the terrace most of time and enjoyed the views. We were travelling every day to a new city up to this point, so the extra night and day to relax was much appreciated. I forgot there was even a roof top terrace until I was reading other reviews... we'll have to go back just to check it out :).

We thought the room was perfect - not too large or small, just right. Shower was a little small, but fine. I have to disagree with the poster below with the complaint about the terrace room, we had the same terrace room to the far right when looking at the lake and found it to be quiet and didn't notice light at all, slept like babies! In fact, if you look at the picture of the room - the curtains were quite thick and no light came in. We liked being on the end, it is much more private that in the middle.

We enjoyed breakfast and actually ate all our meals at the hotel. Staff was very helpful - we were looking for horseback riding and they spent a lot of time finding a place and helping us work through the logistics of getting there (we didn't end up going - that is when we decided we wanted to just relax on the terrace).

Great location - easy to walk to the ferry and all the shops. What a cute town! We were there right at the end of their season, so not too crowded and all the shops were offering specials on the items before they close down for winter. We have such great memories of the hotel, the town and the area.

Room Tip: I did a lot of research and am so glad we had a terrace room! It is amazing. Splurge - you will wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We had a deluxe room with a large terrace. The room was extremely clean. The terrace was huge and the view was spectacular. Although the room was a typical Euro type size, it was a little smaller than we had hoped. The staff was friendly and provided adequate service. The only negative was there seemed to be a lot of noise in the hotel. We were on the first floor and the noise from the lobby carries right up the stairs to the rooms on the first floor. Other than that, we thought the hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just finished 2 nights at this hotel. We booked after reading the tripadvisor reviews and found it all to be what others raved about. Front rooms with large balcony the way to go. Staff great and restaurant served very enjoyable meals.

Room Tip: Go for front rooms with the larger balcony. The cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and were thrilled with the view from our room. We were on the third floor, right on the lake - the view was magnificent, everything I had hoped for !!!!! We had a small balcony and two chairs, so we could sit and enjoy the view. We went up to the rooftop deck, where we enjoyed a glass of wine and watched the boats glide along the water. We had dinner in the waterfront restaurant one night (you get a discount if you are a guest at the hotel), and had a very nice breakfast there too. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and were willing to arrange breakfast for our early departure. The hotel is conveniently located, near shopping and sights. My only complaint, which is minor, is that the shower stall was a bit small

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pros
1. Great location.
2. Views from restaurant and lakefront rooms superior.
3. Service and food for dinner and breakfast was very good.
4. Rooms generally clean.
5. Bus stop and boat dock super close and convenient.
6. Top floor has awesome place to sit and talk at night.

Cons
1. Was not given the room I physically called from the US to confirm. Since I did not have it in writing from them on this specific room they would not honor it...my mistake but didnt think of it given the generally execellent reviews...oh by the way, they had someone else in the room I had agreed to over the phone.
2. So I was put in the corner terrace room, on the far right as you face the lake. On the surface I decided I was going to lose the debate with the female manager so I accepted this room. The view was beautiful but what a mistake. If you are remotely sensitive to bright light in your window as you attempt to sleep, or to street noise, then avoid this room at all cost. The room i had been told i booked would have avoided this issue, but water under the bridge. The light issue could easily be fixed by the hotel by installing an extra, extra thick window cover. We both got very little sleep both nights in this room and would not stay in this room again if it were free.

Summary...Bellagio is beautiful, the views from this hotel are superior from lake front, staff was kind except for my one experience as mentioned which was total BS, food was good, my terrace room was terrible. I would love to have a one on one direct conversation with the owner to vent. For me, unless I hear from the owner, I will not return. Probably too bad for both of us. I will say if you do stay here, get a high, lake front view with balcony that will seat two. Get it in writing or prepare to be surprised. Most rooms don't offer this. If you don't stay there, you should eat dinner there at least once. Very good memory regarding that aspect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.