We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved, loved, loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I've always wanted to go to Lake Como, and this stay surpassed my expectations in terms of beauty and the accomodations were fantastic. We only had 2 nights, wish we had more. We had a terrace room - wow, what a terrace! We could have had quite a party out there, it is huge. In fact, it was so nice that we did absolutely nothing the one full day we had in Bellagio. We just sat out on the terrace most of time and enjoyed the views. We were travelling every day to a new city up to this point, so the extra night and day to relax was much appreciated. I forgot there was even a roof top terrace until I was reading other reviews... we'll have to go back just to check it out :).

We thought the room was perfect - not too large or small, just right. Shower was a little small, but fine. I have to disagree with the poster below with the complaint about the terrace room, we had the same terrace room to the far right when looking at the lake and found it to be quiet and didn't notice light at all, slept like babies! In fact, if you look at the picture of the room - the curtains were quite thick and no light came in. We liked being on the end, it is much more private that in the middle.

We enjoyed breakfast and actually ate all our meals at the hotel. Staff was very helpful - we were looking for horseback riding and they spent a lot of time finding a place and helping us work through the logistics of getting there (we didn't end up going - that is when we decided we wanted to just relax on the terrace).

Great location - easy to walk to the ferry and all the shops. What a cute town! We were there right at the end of their season, so not too crowded and all the shops were offering specials on the items before they close down for winter. We have such great memories of the hotel, the town and the area.

Room Tip: I did a lot of research and am so glad we had a terrace room! It is amazing. Splurge - you will wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    202
    45
    12
    6
See reviews for
64
351
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. We had a deluxe room with a large terrace. The room was extremely clean. The terrace was huge and the view was spectacular. Although the room was a typical Euro type size, it was a little smaller than we had hoped. The staff was friendly and provided adequate service. The only negative was there seemed to be a lot of noise in the hotel. We were on the first floor and the noise from the lobby carries right up the stairs to the rooms on the first floor. Other than that, we thought the hotel was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just finished 2 nights at this hotel. We booked after reading the tripadvisor reviews and found it all to be what others raved about. Front rooms with large balcony the way to go. Staff great and restaurant served very enjoyable meals.

Room Tip: Go for front rooms with the larger balcony. The cost is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and were thrilled with the view from our room. We were on the third floor, right on the lake - the view was magnificent, everything I had hoped for !!!!! We had a small balcony and two chairs, so we could sit and enjoy the view. We went up to the rooftop deck, where we enjoyed a glass of wine and watched the boats glide along the water. We had dinner in the waterfront restaurant one night (you get a discount if you are a guest at the hotel), and had a very nice breakfast there too. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and were willing to arrange breakfast for our early departure. The hotel is conveniently located, near shopping and sights. My only complaint, which is minor, is that the shower stall was a bit small

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pros
1. Great location.
2. Views from restaurant and lakefront rooms superior.
3. Service and food for dinner and breakfast was very good.
4. Rooms generally clean.
5. Bus stop and boat dock super close and convenient.
6. Top floor has awesome place to sit and talk at night.

Cons
1. Was not given the room I physically called from the US to confirm. Since I did not have it in writing from them on this specific room they would not honor it...my mistake but didnt think of it given the generally execellent reviews...oh by the way, they had someone else in the room I had agreed to over the phone.
2. So I was put in the corner terrace room, on the far right as you face the lake. On the surface I decided I was going to lose the debate with the female manager so I accepted this room. The view was beautiful but what a mistake. If you are remotely sensitive to bright light in your window as you attempt to sleep, or to street noise, then avoid this room at all cost. The room i had been told i booked would have avoided this issue, but water under the bridge. The light issue could easily be fixed by the hotel by installing an extra, extra thick window cover. We both got very little sleep both nights in this room and would not stay in this room again if it were free.

Summary...Bellagio is beautiful, the views from this hotel are superior from lake front, staff was kind except for my one experience as mentioned which was total BS, food was good, my terrace room was terrible. I would love to have a one on one direct conversation with the owner to vent. For me, unless I hear from the owner, I will not return. Probably too bad for both of us. I will say if you do stay here, get a high, lake front view with balcony that will seat two. Get it in writing or prepare to be surprised. Most rooms don't offer this. If you don't stay there, you should eat dinner there at least once. Very good memory regarding that aspect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband, friends and I recently spent 3 nights in beautiful Bellagio at the divine Hotel Metropole. We were absolutely delighted with our choice of accommodation, which is situated directly on Lake Como and in the heart of bustling Bellagio. Our 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor was simply gorgeous, large, spotlessly clean and offered all amenities. The wonderful atmosphere rose from the streets and the roof top deck was sensational at sunset. The staff at Hotel Metropole are extremely professional with a friendly and helpful disposition. Lake Como is a jewel, the most beautiful place you could imagine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Bellagio three nights and Hotel Metropole worked great for us. The hotel is located very close to the ferry dock, so we did not have to walk far with our luggage. The staff was very helpful and suggested a fabulous dinner restaurant. We had very nice breakfasts with eggs cooked several ways, yummy pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, cappuccino, in the large indoor porch overlooking the water. Our room had a very nice balcony where we loved sitting for our afternoon glass of wine. The room was spacious, had plenty of storage, hooks, closets, etc., the bathroom was updated and the whole place was very clean and pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and used the elevator to go down only as we left the final day; the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como
Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.