We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CARDIFF
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location,excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was exactly as described,and as requested we were given a lake facing room. The room itself was of average size,with a nice size bathroom,decent tv choice,a comfortable bed and a small balcony. The view from the balcony was breathtaking and really made our time at the hotel extra special. The location of the hotel is fantastic,close to the bus stop,ferry port,and all the shops and restaurants. The roof terrace is great for relaxing and was quiet during the week we spent at the hotel (end of May). The staff couldn't be mire helpful,breakfast was good,with a good choice and the hotel restaurants food,staff and location is/are superb, if a little overpriced. Only negative for us was the noise coming from other rooms due to thin walls and echoey rooms...or perhaps loud neighbours!! All in all, would heartily recommend

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    240
    50
    13
    6
See reviews for
83
436
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is superbly situated, on the water, views from all rooms. Ours has the ferry and street action, three wheeler motor cycles, Ferraris, people of the world. Como is 50 minutes away, our Capuccino stand 2 minutes away, everything close and convenient.

Room Tip: They are all good, water frontage is superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Now back home from a delightful week in the Hotel Metropole. Our room on the third floor front with balcony was as described, a compact room, but so clean and fresh and the view more than made up for lack of space. Having tea/coffee making facility in the room was most welcolme as had not expected it at all. Every member of staff we encountered was positive and friendly, couldn't have wished for better attention. Breakfast was comprehensive with more than enough choice of items hot and cold, especially liked the pumpkin rolls and hazelnut pastries. We chatted with fellow travellers from the UK and a lovely couple from Melbourne, and the consensus of opinion was that the Metropole was most enjoyable.
The only disappointment we had was an evening meal we took in the restaurant when the weather wasn't so good. We felt that for the prices charged, starting with 8 euros for bread rolls, our three courses were unremarkable, especially compared with the good food we had eaten elsewhere in Bellagio for considerably less. We did not return.

Room Tip: Try 4th floor front with balcony, hopefully no noise from bedroom floor above, bedrooms have uncarpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel as our daughter was getting married in Varenna. We did not know what to expect as it was our first visit. The hotel and rooms were lovely and clean, the staff were extremely helpful and supportive, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast, which was included, was plentiful and varied.
The hotel is in a great central location.
Having such a lovely hotel with great staff helped put us at our ease and it all went towards the lovely memories of our visit to Bellagio and our daughters and son in laws beautiful wedding day.

Room Tip: Email the hotel for advise and help, they responded very quickly with a lot of information for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked 2 nights here last year and it was worth the wait
Room 341 overlooks the lake with a balcony and had everything we required, including breakfast and free wi fi.
Waking up to that view is amazing.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
Bellagio is a great place to base your trip on Lake Como
Suggest you also take the bus to Como and the ferry back to Bellagio for a great day out

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front room its worth the extra fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is right in the centre of Bellagio, and that is enough reason to stay there. The view from the hotel restaurant is amazing.

The breakfast was really quite good especially the yogurt and staff were welcoming
Front desk staff are excellent as well.

Lunch was also good especially the salad. The pizza was ok but a bit too "doughy" - service was outstanding.

However, the wifi is spotty from certain rooms, certainly my room it barely worked except by the door - room 106.

As well, the room I had did not have a lakeview room, unless one walked out of the room to the verandah. That was disappointing. The staff did their best to find a lakeview room but no luck. On their website, it seemed like they were saying every room has a lake view room. There are views and there are views. Get a good one.

The room is clean cosy.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lakeview room. Insist on it, otherwise not really worth it. Better to pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has it all! Fantastic location in the centre of town and on the lake, fabulous food and exceptional staff, clean and comfortable. The roof top garden has sun beds and tables and chairs with umbrellas and spectacular views over the lake, a great place to rest and unwind after a day of walking! The snack bar and terrace is on the lake and is the perfect place to watch the sunset over the Alps. The food and drinks are well priced and the staff are energetic and friendly. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Hotel for each of our 3 days. Stay at Metropole, you won't be sorry.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.