We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Gorgeous View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Orange Park
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
1,378 helpful votes 1,378 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Gorgeous View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel was FANTASTIC. Had a nice large hotel room (by European standards) and a HUGE terrace with a lake-front view of Lake Como. Absolutely spectacular, breath-taking views. This hotel is the closest hotel I saw on the lake (others are across the street or up on a hill). Hotel is located right in the center of town and within a half block of two ferry stops. Room was decorated with antique furniture and high ceilings with wainscoting and backlit crown molding. Very accommodating and friendly front desk staff. Very good breakfast with a wide selection of items. One night the restaurant next door had outdoor entertainment that we were able to enjoy from our terrace while having our wine and cheese. We ate at L’Antico Pozzo and Terrazza Barchetta. Both are very nice family run restaurants with very good pasta, pizza and meat dishes and friendly staff, located on side streets a few blocks from the hotel. I would recommend the latter for a more romantic dinner (see separate reviews of each).

Room Tip: Recommend room 110 as it is the largest and has the biggest terrace overlooking Lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    233
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
424
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After much research this hotel is right on the water whereas the others are across a street. What a view from the lake front rooms - "A View to Die For". Breakfast was simply great! Both restaurants were quite good with a beautiful lake and mountain view. The roof terrace was a great location for a picnic. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Metropole for two nights in Bellagio. The hotel is in a fantastic location and you can pretty much walk to everything in the area. Our room was spotless and the view was breathtaking. We upgraded to a room with a lake view and it was worth every penny. The hotel staff could not have possibly been more helpful and the complimentary breakfast was above average. There are many restaurants and lots of shopping in the vicinty of the hotel. And the hotel has a nice area outside and on the roof for sipping wine and taking in the view. Early October was an excellent time to visit. The area was nice and quiet but it didn't feel like a ghost town. We could not have possibly chosen a better place to beging our Italian adventure and we hope to return!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a room with a lake view. You will be glad that you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our friends booked the last available room with a terrace, so we accepted a room with a balcony (still with lake views, though). we ended up with the better deal: The room had 2 windows with balconies - one looking out onto the lake, and the other onto the street below. Even the bathroom had a large window. Beautiful position and superb staff.

We'll return one day and ask for the same room, or the same on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, and on the corner. Perfect. No noise at night-time once the touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I just spent four days and three nights at the Metrople and Bellagio. Bellagio is well worth the drive to it, although I think my wife chewed all of her fingernails off. The hotel is very well located, and our room was in the middle on the fourth floor. We had a small balcony, but the view was spectacular, at sunset one to die for. In the early morning, it was also great as the sun rose over the mountains and could hear the ducks and birds, just like heaven. The room was small and old, but was kept very clean. The staff was great except for one waiter that seemed to need an attitude adjustment. The staff would do all they could to help us, which is great when in a place for the first time. The lift was small and slow. Food for breakfast was great, and service was excellent. One young gent was great, made our day start out with a smile. Centrally located and the terrace for lunch was sooooooooooooooooo nice to sit and look out on the lake, we had fantastic weather, 70s in day and 50s at night, no clouds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Hotel Metropole with my husband and 3 children under 11. After a very long 21hour flight from Australia and a 2 hour car ride to Bellgaio we were exhausted when we arrived but reinvigorated as soon as we stepped out of the car in front of this picturesque hotel. The staff could not have been more welcoming. The family room with a side lake view was clean and well maintained. The view from our window was spectacular even though it was only a side view. What makes this hotel, aside from the friendly staff and its wonderful lakeside location is the roof terrace. What a wonderful way to end a day of sightseeing by sitting on the roof terrace admiring the view with a glass of local chianti. The children enjoyed the extra space as well and could spread out with the numerous chairs and tables provided. Breakfast on the open terrace was delicious and plentiful. Yoghurts, fruits and many hot items on offer as well. The coffee was suprisingly good considering it came from a dispensing machine. The hot chocolate was also a favourite with the kids. I would definately recommend this hotel for families with children and for the elderly. Cant wait to return. Bellagio is beautiful and a wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Metropole for 3 nights and were delighted with the accommmodation. We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the spectacular Lake Como. The location was superb, the rooms very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. The parking in Bellagio is a bit of a challenge but with the help of the staff we parked on the street about 4 minutes away. You are advised to pay for parking until 8.30 p.m. and then move your car. Great system and it works. Ferries and restaurants are all within walking distance. Advantage of 4th floor is that floor has the rooftop terrace which is great spot to relax and enjoy the view (and maybe a bottle of wine). The breakfast was more than adequate. Bellagio is a wonderful location and only a 1 hour drive from Como. Would highly recommend this Hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Lake view - 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.