We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Weston,CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Metropole for 4 nights the end of August. We were absolutely satisfied with this cute boutique style hotel. It is clean, well located and a very good value. The staff is very kind and helpful. Buffet breakfast is great! Our room was very clean and modern. The room was a bit small, but not a problem. Internet in the room is fine.
We loved Bellagio and the surrounding lake towns. I highly recommend the Metropole!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    214
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
73
381
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is absolutely on the lake's edge - there is no road in between the hotel and the water's edge, and this makes it quite unique. I can only reiterate what others have said - if views are important to you - and to me they are an essential part of the Lake experience - do book a lake front room. We were very fortunate to have a corner room - this meant there were two sets of French doors from the bedroom, and a set from the bathroom, which offered a lakeside view of its own. The rooms are not large, but ours was so light and bright, and to open the shutters in the morning and see the incredible view was just magic. The service is very good - helpful with any information you might require regarding ferries and visits to the many absolutely stunning villas in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Lake front rooms have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

this is a fantastic place to visit and be treated as royalty... situated on Lake Como it is inviting and place right in the village of Bellagio lake como possessed a lot of history it infuse the italian landscape and the wealth of Europe

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Only place I would ever stay in at Bellagio, as you could not get such a central, wonderful and waterside hotel that has such great service and food. say a big hallo to the restaurant manager Ivan(say Eevan) and he will look after you. From the moment you check in the staff are polite and friendly and very helpful. Great restaurant on the waterfront, great prices, great food and great portions. Even the lunch snack bar and staff, overlooking the right side of the waterfront, are pleasant and friendly. Best rooms for Romantic couples are the 4 rooms overlooking the front on the 1st floor. Don't forget to visit Villa Monastero in Varenna, going out to the right of the main sqaure, views are amazing. Great Lunch place is Hosteria del Platani in Fiumelatte, a short walk from Varenna, you will be shocked how good the food is.

Room Tip: a simple 5 euro tip will get you 5 star service, don't be mean, reward the great service of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just returned from a fabulous week at Hotel Metropole. We stayed on the fourth floor with a side lake view which was stunning. Room was spacious and immaculately clean with fresh towels everyday. Breakfast on the lake is a pleasure and the bacon and eggs were well received by my husband, lovely continental selection also. Would recommend the restaurant but there are also other fab ones around ie Hotel Suisse with excellent pasta dishes and also tucked away Ristorante Grotto is a hidden jem, 8 euros for a litre of heineken and 5 euros for a half litre of wine ! Definitely cheapest drinks in Bellagio :) Also go to Menaggio and hire a speedboat and live the celebrity lifesyle 65 euros for an hour !

Room Tip: All good everyone has a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Metropole for 3 nights in late June. We stayed in a front, lakeview, balcony room on the 4th floor. The view was great, but the room was the smallest and the priciest we experienced during this trip to Italy. I generally like firm beds, but this bed was very hard. Another negative was that the elevator was small: it barely fit the two of us with luggage. Given all of that, we would probably stay here again because of the view and the perfect location of the hotel. We liked being on the waterfront near the ferry dock.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Hotel Metropole in early September. The hotel is perfectly situated on the waterfront of Bellagio with stunning views of the lake. Our room 222 was a corner room with balcony and was clean and comfortable. Although we were close to the ferries they didn't disturb us at all. The staff were always helpful, polite and personable. We would certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.