We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Hotel in Stunning Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel in Stunning Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Returned yesterday from a very enjoyable week's stay at the Hotel Metropole. Our lake view room was described as compact which indeed it was however it was perfectly adequate with comfortable beds, very quiet efficient aircon and a modern shower room and of course a lovely little balcony with breath taking views. We were on the 4th floor with easy access to the delightful roof terrace perfect for an afternoon rest. Breakfast on the terrace was good. We had dinner here one evening and with the resident discount of 15% not overly priced (by Bellagio standards that is!), the food was okay but not good enough to make us want to return. All staff were friendly and helpful.
We spent our week pottering around the lakeside towns and particularly liked Varenna. As suggested by others we took the hydrofoil to Como and meandered back on the slow boat. Como has a pleasant water front and a trip on the funicular is worth doing. In Bellagio suggest you take a trip with Luca on his beautiful mahogany speed boat to the Villa Balbianello (you will find Bellagio Water Taxis next door to the hotel). Also pick up a leaflet from the tourist office at the ferry station and try the walk around the Bellagio area, it takes you over to Pescallo which is a lovely spot and returns via the Villa Melzi gardens (a 3 day ticket is better value than one day and you don't have to use on consecutive days). Overall a great holiday in a good hotel in a beautiful part of the world

Room Tip: A 4th floor room provides easy access to the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    322
    212
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
72
375
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We visited Lago Como for our anniversary and stayed at Hotel Metropole in Bellagio for 3 nights. We were given a small 2 bedroom on the 4th floor with back and side view that we could see the street as well as the car Ferry Port.We loved this hotel that is directly on the water with a beautiful roof top deck for lounging and enjoying the scenic views of the lake as well as watching the ferries come and go. Since it was very hot, we enjoyed time out during the day to relax on the rooftop deck on the lounge chairs. The location of Hotel Metropole could not be better as it is directly on the water. with amazing views especially from the rooftop deck. We found our room excellent for Italian standards and the air conditioning was an added plus.
The town of Bellagio is small, quaint and picturesque. Be prepared to walk up a lot of stairs. We walked from one side of the lake to the other and enjoyed the views.
In addition, we ate at some of the best restaurants in Italy (see separate reviews for Belicus and Salice Blu)
The free breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy with cereal, yogurt, abundance of fruits, juices, coffee, teas, cakes, pastries, eggs (yes eggs in Italy) there were always hardboiled and also a hot egg dish as well. The cheeses, salami, ham, prochutto were also in abundance. What better way to enjoy such a delicious breakfast but out on the dining terrace overlooking Lake Como which was breathtaking and one of the nicest views of Bellagio. There is also free wi-fi which we enjoyed. Our only complaint was the bed was a little "hard" but not horrible and something we adjusted to. There is also a safe in the room and the bathroom had a tub,shower combo.
We also visited Varena by boat while there and loved it as well.
We would definitely return to Hotel Metropole in Bellagio and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid any noise or a Lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Metropole Bellagio for 3 nights from 7th June. We drove from Milan in our rented full size vehicle ( quite a monster of a MPV - Fiat Scudo ) with the help of our GPS guide. Drivers with large vehicles and manual stick gear shift - beware of the narrow roads for a good part of the journey to Bellagio! We reached the Metropole safely. Judging from the throng of visitors and vehicles during summer, we preferred to park our vehicle at the paid parking lots (blue lined) at the square facing the Hotel @ Euros 1.5 / hr from 8am till 8pm/ The Hotel has quite a history. Imagine Mark Twain was reputed to be the 2nd visitor. Other celebrities include Franz Liszt as guests. You can imagine how old this hotel dates back to! Importantly is the fact this is no more than a 3 star hotel. we found the receptionist on duty friendly and helpful during our check in. The Hotel is served by a simple and small lobby. Do not expect porters to help with your luggages. Its quite a DIY via a small elevator to the upper floors. Both of our rooms were lake facing with balconies and commanded fantastic views of the lake. The only slight downside is the ferry service noise during a good part of the day as the Hotel is in close proximity to the ferry and water taxis terminals. One is usually out most of the day and such does not really bother. The rooms are clean, adequately spacious by European Standards. Shower space is miniscule. I found it quite difficult to manouvre even being an asian. Imagine a well endowed individual trying to fit within! Free WIFI is provided within the rooms but at times signals can be erratic. Breakfast is okay but the atmosphere is friendly enough. At times, the queue for the self help beverage machine can be a bit discouraging. Overall, we were quite happy with the accomodation facilities provided. Most of the staff are polite and helpful with our querries. what are the advantages of Metropole Bellagio? - location, views, fun shopping and dining!

HSLam
Kuala Lumpur
Malaysia

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy as a base for a wedding we were invioted to. Great location right on the lake and central for all the restaurants and bars. Rooms are a little small but you only have to open the patio doors and realise thats what you are here for the view off the balcony not a bigger room... views absolutely stunning....
Hotel also has a roof top terrace that has sun loungers etc,... we used it for a pre party get together ... beautiful views all around..
Breakfast is good lots of choice too, sit outside next to the lake... again stunning.. We didnt eat in the restuarant as there where so many choices in the small town... we got the boats outside and visited other parts of the area, in particular Varrena beautiful place, we hired a speed boat from here 60 euros for an hour including fuel (we had it for 90 mins for 90 euros) excellent excellent had a ball...

Room Tip: a must ask for a front room over looking lake stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Have just got back from a week long holiday in one of the most beautiful places on earth, my wife and I spent our wedding anniversary in Bellagio at The Metropole Hotel and we were spoilt from the start to the finish, we booked through Inghams, who were superb throughout, The hotel was so impressive, right on the Lake front by the ferry terminal, and no they do not disturb you at all, we had a lakeside room with breathtaking views, the staff were so kind and helpful, the food was B & B, which is the best way as there are so many fabulous places to eat, all within easy walking distance, and not expensive, you can eat for as little as 10 euros, with drinks included, good tip, only have the starter and either a pasta dish or main, to try and have all four courses is too much.
We also ate in the Hotel restaurant, again fantastic, and as guests you get 15% discount, and Ivor the Maitre D is a true professional. There is so much to see and do around the Lake. Honestly i had a tear in my eye as we crossed back over the lake to start our journey back. Arriverderchi

Room Tip: Room 340 with balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I visited the Hotel Metropole in June and had a fantastic time.

The Hotel Metropole is in the best location in Bellagio. Once you have arrived at the hotel you can walk (or take the ferry) everywhere (no car required). The hotel is right on the water and in the middle of the gorgeous town of Bellagio.

We booked a "double side" room but were upgraded on arrival to a family room. Our room was on the side (not the front facing the lake), had 2 separate rooms and a balcony. The view from the side of the hotel was simply fantastic (we looked up the main street and across the lake where the ferry docked). If you want a view from the front you can visit the terrace on the rooftop and enjoy the view from the other aspect. The view from the terrace is simply breathtaking!

We found the hotel very busy when were were there and had to wait every time we visited the very small reception (although the staff were very helpful once we got to speak to them). Also be aware that if you arrive by car there is no hotel parking only street parking which is very limited parking and most of it requires payment.

My only criticism was that the breakfast was fairly simple with rather limited options. My partner and I travelled through Europe for 5 weeks staying only in hotels and this would be the most dissapointing of all the breakfasts we ate during our trip (although the view from the breakfast room is amazing).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lake Como is one of the most beautiful places on earth and Bellagio is a perfect location to explore it!. We loved this hotel and restuarant which was right on the water with gorgeous views and a relaxing atmosphere. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.