We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel central right on the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“excellent hotel central right on the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Visited Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy as a base for a wedding we were invioted to. Great location right on the lake and central for all the restaurants and bars. Rooms are a little small but you only have to open the patio doors and realise thats what you are here for the view off the balcony not a bigger room... views absolutely stunning....
Hotel also has a roof top terrace that has sun loungers etc,... we used it for a pre party get together ... beautiful views all around..
Breakfast is good lots of choice too, sit outside next to the lake... again stunning.. We didnt eat in the restuarant as there where so many choices in the small town... we got the boats outside and visited other parts of the area, in particular Varrena beautiful place, we hired a speed boat from here 60 euros for an hour including fuel (we had it for 90 mins for 90 euros) excellent excellent had a ball...

Room Tip: a must ask for a front room over looking lake stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    234
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
425
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Have just got back from a week long holiday in one of the most beautiful places on earth, my wife and I spent our wedding anniversary in Bellagio at The Metropole Hotel and we were spoilt from the start to the finish, we booked through Inghams, who were superb throughout, The hotel was so impressive, right on the Lake front by the ferry terminal, and no they do not disturb you at all, we had a lakeside room with breathtaking views, the staff were so kind and helpful, the food was B & B, which is the best way as there are so many fabulous places to eat, all within easy walking distance, and not expensive, you can eat for as little as 10 euros, with drinks included, good tip, only have the starter and either a pasta dish or main, to try and have all four courses is too much.
We also ate in the Hotel restaurant, again fantastic, and as guests you get 15% discount, and Ivor the Maitre D is a true professional. There is so much to see and do around the Lake. Honestly i had a tear in my eye as we crossed back over the lake to start our journey back. Arriverderchi

Room Tip: Room 340 with balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My partner and I visited the Hotel Metropole in June and had a fantastic time.

The Hotel Metropole is in the best location in Bellagio. Once you have arrived at the hotel you can walk (or take the ferry) everywhere (no car required). The hotel is right on the water and in the middle of the gorgeous town of Bellagio.

We booked a "double side" room but were upgraded on arrival to a family room. Our room was on the side (not the front facing the lake), had 2 separate rooms and a balcony. The view from the side of the hotel was simply fantastic (we looked up the main street and across the lake where the ferry docked). If you want a view from the front you can visit the terrace on the rooftop and enjoy the view from the other aspect. The view from the terrace is simply breathtaking!

We found the hotel very busy when were were there and had to wait every time we visited the very small reception (although the staff were very helpful once we got to speak to them). Also be aware that if you arrive by car there is no hotel parking only street parking which is very limited parking and most of it requires payment.

My only criticism was that the breakfast was fairly simple with rather limited options. My partner and I travelled through Europe for 5 weeks staying only in hotels and this would be the most dissapointing of all the breakfasts we ate during our trip (although the view from the breakfast room is amazing).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lake Como is one of the most beautiful places on earth and Bellagio is a perfect location to explore it!. We loved this hotel and restuarant which was right on the water with gorgeous views and a relaxing atmosphere. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

started off a 10 day family Italy trip here. Easy to find, although it is at the end of a one way street in the center of town. Just follow signs! Parking is public in front, easy to feed meters until 8pm. Hotel was fine, clean, good A/C, great location right on Lake Como. Quiet enough, although it is near several restaurants and bars. I thought the service and value were fine. Shower/bathroom was clean and everything worked. We rented 2 rooms across from one another; both had 2 separate rooms within the room, almost like a suite. Stayed in one room with my Fiancee and my two boys stayed in the other room. Our reservation was done by Email and was without a hitch. I would definitely stay there again. Had a snack bar, bar, and restaurant, which we didn't use but looked very popular. We had one room on back of hotel which looked at street and lake, and another on front that looked at main street and lake. Neither were full "lake front" rooms and that was just fine with us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hotel Metropole is perfectly postioned on the shore of Lake Como in Bellagio. The fery stop is close by and the little village of Bellagio is on your door step. This village is full of lovely restuarants and shops.
The hotel is very well appointed and the front rooms with small balconies overlooking the lake are perfect. The restuarant on the promenade has wonderfull food and the service is quality. "Franco" controls the waiters like a little general and nothing is too much trouble.
We spent 5 glorious days here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the 'Italian lake holiday'.

Room Tip: ask for a front room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This hotel was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our time in italy. After trying various hotels around italy, with different hotel rankings (some higher than this), we now appreciate it even more, in terms of value for money & service! My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights, from the 27th till the 30th of may - it was truely a spectacular unforgettable experience. From the moment u start approaching Bellagio & u see a beautiful building - the only one right on the lake front, u start hoping that this will be the hotel u will be staying at. It's truely wonderful, the hotel fits perfectly into the 'Bellagio' setting, they made us wait for a short while (10mins) during check-in only to find out that we got an UPGRADE! It was such a nice surprise, we were thankful for the wait - they gave us an upgrade to a family suite which was so overwhelming for us. We were so happy to have booked our stay at this hotel!! I wasen't sure wat to expect when I first booked, but it did more than satisfy me. Also, we were looking for something romantic & this was just that. It was terrific, worth every penny. The only negatives I can think of are that the elevator is tight, & the bathroom could be a little fancier/nicer. But these weren't that much of an issue for me, the great things out weighed these by far! I would definately stay at this hotel again next time I visit, & I will be back for sure because I loved como, and the hotel made me like it even more. The staff are so friendly & sweet, 2 of them in particular - always greeting u in the warmest way possible. Also they are very helpful, one of the staff went out of his way to try & figure out why we were having trouble with the trenitalia bookings. They are also very prompt with anything you ask of them, and they speak very good english. The wifi is very good as well, u get 1 password per room but the management were nice enough to give us 2 access passwords so both me & my husband could be connected. The room is spacious, especially the family suite we got upgraded to. I would recommend getting a room with a terrace right on the lake, even if you pay a little extra, but that doesn't mean the side way view isn't just as amazing if you want to lower ur budget. The side view we had was mind blowing! its so so beautiful, waking up & just looking out takes your breath away. The breakfast was continental, a large variety. Their brioches were so delicious, and the variety of food was super! Also their restaurant is great, its beautiful the view is one u'll never forget, and the food is terrific so I would recommend trying it atleast once. u also get a discount if ur staying at the hotel. Their snack bar also serves great food. I loved the terrace on the top floor, the views from up there are beautiful. It's nice to just sit back & get a nice tan from up there. If ur into photography u can get some really nice shots of the area, also its so peaceful as not many people go up so its truely beautiful. Probably my favourite thing was the location, u can't ask for a better one! I don't even think there is a better one, its right on the water front, u feel like ur floating on the water, the ferry stops are right beside u...its just all u can ask for! & because bellagio is such a small town, u can easily explore other towns nearby. if ur visiting bellagio, DON'T GIVE IT A SECOND THOUGHT....GO TO THE METROPOLE! also right beside the hotel a nice australian lady called Jenny sells tickets for speedboat cruises around the area on her husband's speedboat (both private or in groups), i recommend trying it out!

Room Tip: i'm guessing higher floors have nicer views.... if u have the budget go for rooms with a terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.