We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Metropole Bellagio to your Saves list
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Happy memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Recently stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel to celebrate a friends 60th birthday. It has the prime spot in Bellagio being right on the lake and our room looked over the street and the lake.
The staff were wonderful and so helpful with giving us directions and advice of how to get to different places. It has a wonderful roof area where we were able to have a celebratory drink overlooking the lake. The room was small but adequate and there was free wifi throughout the hotel. Breakfast was pretty basic. Another nice touch is the 10% discount in the hotel restaurant. All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Bellagio.
An alternative way to get to Bellagio from MIlan is a train to Verenna (65 minutes) and then a 10 minute ferry to Bellagio. Much quicker and cheaper than via Como.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    233
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
82
424
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel Metropole Bellagio. It has an excellent location right on the lake just a moment's walk from the ferry terminal. The hotel is in the middle of town and close to lovely cafes and shops. The breakfast room has a great view of the lake and the food for breakfast was acceptable but not outstanding. Just a little more money spent on better coffee and other ingredients would have raised my star rating to five. The only other negative (and really, I'm just being a bit picky) is that our lakeside room did not have wifi. I could catch a signal if I walked into the hallway of the lake front rooms and then return to my room and sit on the floor at the front door. That's not really a prime place to spend time writing emails! But coffee and wifi aside, this hotel has excellent staff and is a great base for exploring Lake Como.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Charming hotel coupled with charming staff. Wonderful location especially rooms overlooking the lake, compact but have all the amenities you require. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Metropole for 3 nights and loved it! The staff were all fantastic. Reception helped us find free parking for our entire stay and the bar staff went above and beyond feeding us bar snacks continuously while we enjoyed drinks on the terrace. The view from our lake front room had us speechless on arrival and we couldnt have asked any more from a 3 star hotel. The roof top terrace is terrific, good wi-fi speeds, and good breakfast. We would definitely book this Hotel again. Thank you Hotel Metropole for looking after us so well and making our stay so special :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We chose the Metropole @ the beginning of our 2 week trip to Italy. About 90 minutes at the most from Malpensa airport by rental car. We wanted to relax for 3 days and nights and get used to the time change and enjoy Bellagio. Our room was on the water and very nice. As I have seen from earlier reviews it's about time that the rooms get a bit of an upgrade or at least new paint, and furniture( where necessary). The nicks and wear on the walls, and furniture were noticeable when we came into the room the first time. We did not eat at the restaurant but in town. We did eat at their bar and had snacks a couple of times for lunch it was very good and the servers were very friendly. I would say this however. Perhaps since it was after a long summer (some) the front desk staff were not as friendly or welcoming as we would have liked, they may have been tired. They didn't do anything wrong it was just noticable to us. If we went back i would probably stay there again because of it's wonderful location. I hope they give the rooms a makeover however, it's over due.

Room Tip: We had the corner suite window on the lake front and the side, allowed a wonderful fresh breeze into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Cant wait until we return... Loved Bellagio and this Hotel, room was more than adequate, close to everything, great staff, food was very good, views are fantastic. What more can one ask for. Very sorry we had to leave. Caught the early ferry to Como and the Hotel organized an early breakfast for us. Special mention to Ivan who looked after us with the occasional drink of frog juice...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildenborough, Kent.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived in Bellagio via the Car Ferry, and within 100 yards from there, the pink building directly on the lake was to be our base for the next week, named the Metropole Hotel. The situation was perfect and having a lake view room with views to die for was very special. I would say however that when I elected to have a small room rather than the much more expensive option, I had no idea quite how small it was going to be! Be warned those who are also light sleepers, for one of the Ferry Boats is tied up alongside the Hotel every evening, and the constant movement of the tide means that it bangs loudly against the edge of the mooring.
If I go on to describe the Hotel lift as antedeluvian, the rooftop seating area as an under valued asset by the Hotel, and us as almost invisible to staff, one might think that our rating is somewhat surprising! No, we had a clean comfortable room, good food at Breakfast, an excellent centre for sightseeing and of course the afore-mentioned views.
Can I recommend Hotel Du Lac Varenna for even better views, marvellous food and attentive staff. At least make sure you give it a visit on your trip. When you get off the Ferry turn right and keep on going!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to have a room of an adequate size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Metropole Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Bellagio

Address: Piazza Mazzini 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellagio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metropole Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently restored, Hotel Metropole is situated in the center of the village and is the only one with restaurant and terrace directly on the lake. The rooms have a beautiful view, full or side, some with balcony or terrace; all have private facilities with bath or shower, air conditioning, electric fans, telephone, TV satellite, mini-bar, hairdryer. On the nice solarium you can admire the spectacular panorama of the Como lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropole Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Metropole Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropole Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.