We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Save Saved
You added Hotel Excelsior Splendide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week in the hotel. Great hotel and great location. Room was big and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was quite good and a lot of it. Breakfast good but a lot of food at dinner with four courses. Some unusual dishes but you are in Italy and the pasta was lovely. We would recommend the cocktails in the hotel bar, and also the food in their outside restaurant. Just one thing room did not have tea/coffee making facilities but having said that we asked at reception and they gave us a kettle straightaway. Overall our stay was great and beautiful bellagio even when it rained which was quite often. I would recommend this if you want a comfortable friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    59
    34
    24
See reviews for
43
137
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were late to book a place to stay in Bellagio for a 3 night stay. There are several good points to this hotel - the location is right in the centre of the village, no car needed! The staff were pleasant and very helpful with making travel arrangements. The rooms were clean. The pool is lovely and this was a nice extra.

This hotel is taking it's location for advantage. It is tired and needs some TLC. The rooms are so basic its amazing. Apart from the bathroom the only mirror was in the inside of the tired wardrobe. There was not enough storage. The 'double bed' was two single beds pushed together. The bathroom had a shower-bath but instead of having the shower hear at head height it was at knee height? There was no shower curtain. There was cheap shampoo sachets in a plastic cup by the bath. The breakfast was as basic as the rooms. They even had an old 90s coffee machine instead of offering fresh coffee...very basic selection of fruit and cereal and the same breads recycled for several days.

I would not recommend this hotel - E440 for 3 nights stay. Book Bellagio earleir and avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: I guess you could ask for a room with a lake view but I would avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Spent three nights Half Board here, location to die for. Bellagio is lovely, I would recommend getting the circular walk route map around Bellagio from the tourist information. Took the bus into Como - views spectacular. Hotel very traditional - we had an extremely small room with stunning lake views. The rooms at the front of the hotel seemed to experience a lot of noise. Food very average and disappointing. Would return to Lake Como but not to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a room at the back and our view was more of the hotel. It was very quiet. The room was huge and very neat and tidy. The bathroom was a great size as well, although there was no shower. There was a hand held nozzle over the bath. Air conditioner worked well and wifi was great. We didn't bother with the lift, just climbed the beautiful staircase. All staff were lovely and helpful. We had half board and breakfast was simple but great. The three course dinners were simple but we enjoyed them. Overall maybe a little old fashioned but homely.
The bus leaves not far from the hotel and goes straight to Como station and is a lot cheaper than the fast ferry. Even though it rained most of the time we were there it was a beautiful place and we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The hotel excelsior Splendide is located right on the lake in the middle of the little town of Bellagio.
Bellagio is a delightful little town , very scenic and perfectly located to visit other lakeside towns by ferry.
However, and this is a biggy, There is a big problem if you have a car. To start with the road to Bellagio from Como is lethal. It is long ,narrow and winding and the Italian drivers, possibly used to these conditions drive like crazy things.
When you arrive at the hotel, there is no parking other than the hourly paid parking, if you can get one or up the hill free parking, if you can get one.
We didn't manage the free parking , all full the whole time,but used the meters and has to pay hourly. It was €1.50 an hour day and night and you have to be there to continually feed in the coins.
Bellagio is worth visiting but we would not stay there again but stay in a location nearer the bottom of the lake and visit by boat.
The hotel is an old world building ., very attractive and our room was lovely. It overlooked the lake and had everything we needed. We did, mistakenly get a triple room so we had room for suitcases and I'm not sure what the standard rooms are like,
The room was spotlessly clean and well maintained, the shower was extremely small with no place to put soap or shampoos. A bit of juggling involved here.
The reception staff, while not very welcoming initially turned out to be very helpful. Unfortunately we don't know the name of the receptionist but she deserves a special mention. She called my husband 'mister' and was great.
The breakfast was bellow average and dining room staff unfriendly.
We didn't eat at the hotel other than breakfasts.
I would recommend this hotel for its location but not the town itself if you are dealing with a car.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms perfect if you don't mind the bands playing at night in the restaurant opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Couldn't fault the location, ideally situated for the local ferries and buses.. Lovely views from our room. Pool is a bit of a trek up steps and was out of use for our first 5 days. Bar staff very friendly as were the waiters although there was some shouting occurring in the kitchen during a couple of our evening meals. Food very average although plenty of it. Free air conditioning which, although a little noisy worked very well and a free safe.
Extremely hilly in Bellagio and lots of steps, not really suitable for the infirm.
Went on some lovely trips and our Ingham's rep Jess was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Comfortable old world charmer with a sweeping staircase and stained glass windows. Our room (#22) was comfortable and spacious with an expansive view of Lake Como from our window. The elevator is small and only fits 2 suitcases and 1 person or 2 people and 1 large suitcase. Drop off is a bit of a challenge as the front door opens onto the main street in town. Also, there were no staff to help with luggage upon our arrival. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at this quaint hotel. Be advised that if you arrive by car, parking will be a challenge. There are paid, blue sections, that require and hourly fee of 1.50 Euro for an 12 hour cycle, 8 to 8 per day . Down the road are free, white section, parking spots which are easily available to early risers, but not to anyone arriving past noon. The free buffet breakfast was a bonus for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel offer wide views of Lake Como and the blackout shades block any nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Splendide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.