We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect, but no mayor flaws” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Save Saved
You added Hotel Excelsior Splendide to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but no mayor flaws”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the hotel and I really liked the time I spent there. The hotel is not perfect, but it gave me what I wanted and what I felt was fair. Location, building, facilities and service were all great, but the standard of rooms and breakfast could be much improved. Since distances in Bellagio are more or less non-existent, it is hard to have a bad location but this hotel is probably one of the better located ones anyway. The location is right next to the water, “center”, ferry terminal and parking. The building itself is magnificent and when you are walking in the lobby, stairways and hallways you feel that it is a really ancient and classy building.

That impression could not necessarily transpire to the rooms themselves, which have old furniture and could use a renovation. The rooms are clean and absolutely not bad – just not as nice as they could have been given the setting. The facilities with pool and sunbeds on the hotel area are very much appreciated on hot summer days. The environment makes it very cozy with “islands” of sunbeds which give you privacy.

The service of the hotel was in general good and the staff we met were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast could have been better. It was towards the cheap end of the spectrum, but it was still OK.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view towards the lake are recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    90
    51
    31
    24
See reviews for
38
126
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We had a room overlooking the back of the hotel & the skylights to the kitchen. The room was average. We had purchased a package with breakfast & dinner included which I wouldn't recommend. I have never had muesli for breakfast with chocolate pieces in very strange. The rest of the food was nothing special. Dinner you had to sit at the same table every night & be there at the same time every night. You had to select from 2 choices for each course. If you chose fruit for desert you were given a banana or orange. Not very exciting. I would have preferred to try the local restaurants as there are many to choose from than have dinner at the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is its location on the lakeside near the ferry stop. I cannot reccommend staying here as a single traveller. Having paid extra to occupy a double room I was allocated a grotty room (Room 15) overlooking the kitchen skylights and the staff quarters. It was very gloomy as half of the window had been bricked up for a fire escape on the other side. The only way to get privacy from the staff smoking on the steps opposite was to wind down the metal shutters as there were no curtains. This made the room hot and stuffy, but I had to ask at reception every time I wanted to have it on. My sheets had holes in them. I asked to be moved, but the receptionist said the hotel was fully booked for the week, even though I overheard her telling people during the following days that there were rooms available.
Tables in the dining room are allocated for your stay and again the staff were not very helpful - just because I was on my own did not mean I wanted to sit by the door. Supper had to be ordered the night before!! I thought you only did this in NHS hospitals!! If you got there more than half an hour after the dining room opened many of the dishes for the first course buffet were empty. It was like eating in a school canteen.
Lake Como is great and Bellagio is one of the nicest places on the lake. I would not go back to the Splendide and I would not book a holiday through Inghams again as they don't seem to think that there is anything wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

we stayed at this hotel, being our first stop on our italy adventure. it was great. i have allergies and so am restricted as to what i can eat. the manager of the restaurant was wonderful, making sure that every morning i had a special meal. all the service staff were very friendly. the position of this hotel is superb. the view was out of this world. Bellagio is a most beautiful town and i highly recommend staying here, but a must is a water view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel was the only disappointment of our visit to Italy. The hotel staff did not seem interested in their guests or providing them with any form of welcome during their stay, e.g. no coffee facilities in room and guests were expected to walk over the road to the bar for any refreshment which was open to the elements and cold at night. Only 2 pillows were provided in the double room. The hotel itself is in need of thorough modernisation and refurbishment to rid it of a shabby, faded glory feel. If the weather was not good there would be no incentive to stay in the hotel. However the hotel is well located on the lakeside and close to the restaurants and facilities in Bellagio. A good breakfast was provided.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was very old but very charming. The interior decor was very old but beautiful, especially the painting on the ceiling at the top of the hotel. Rooms were very clean,Staff were very helpful, we had a lake view room, which was noisy but the view made it all worthwhile.Food was adequate and the waiting staff were very helpful.The splendide cafe across the road was my favourite place to sit and watch the boats on the lake and have a glass of wine.I would go back to this charming hotel, not the best hotel i've stayed in but for the money worth every penny.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are noisier than rooms at the rear of the hotel. But that view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you take one of the worlds most spectacular, and exciting, drives, or arrive by ferry, floatplane or bus, your efforts will be rewarded not just by the location, but this charming and character filled hotel. The staff attention to detail and your comfort cannot be faulted. We did not have a lake view room and asked if an upgrade was possible. It was made so. The upgrade cost was insignificant and I believe we had the best room in the hotel. The views were outstanding and we could enjoy the sights and sounds of this wonderful place. Yes we liked hearing the ferry come an go. We enjoyed the music from the restaurant down the street (with the client accompaniment) at night and didn't mind the early morning council services. We slept with the windows open and enjoyed every minute. Some may not think the same, then maybe a lake view room isn't for them. Our thoughts are; if you are going to holiday in new places, absorb the culture and all its environment. Otherwise, why leave home. We had "half board" which means breakfast and dinner included. Again , enjoyable and appropriate to cost and culture. Waiters were efficient and very friendly. Take the time to study the detail in architechture, design and decoration in this building, including the marvellous ceiling painting above the stairwell. Although hotel operations began around 1907, the rooms have been upgraded since . The bathrooms very recently I would think which we're nicely finished and appointed. Could not recommend this hotel more highly. Superb location. Brilliant character. Great staff and very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Splendide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.