We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Excelsior Splendide to your Saves list
Hotel Excelsior Splendide
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Grassington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Unfortunately this hotel was the only disappointment of our visit to Italy. The hotel staff did not seem interested in their guests or providing them with any form of welcome during their stay, e.g. no coffee facilities in room and guests were expected to walk over the road to the bar for any refreshment which was open to the elements and cold at night. Only 2 pillows were provided in the double room. The hotel itself is in need of thorough modernisation and refurbishment to rid it of a shabby, faded glory feel. If the weather was not good there would be no incentive to stay in the hotel. However the hotel is well located on the lakeside and close to the restaurants and facilities in Bellagio. A good breakfast was provided.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    105
    63
    35
    25
See reviews for
44
150
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel was very old but very charming. The interior decor was very old but beautiful, especially the painting on the ceiling at the top of the hotel. Rooms were very clean,Staff were very helpful, we had a lake view room, which was noisy but the view made it all worthwhile.Food was adequate and the waiting staff were very helpful.The splendide cafe across the road was my favourite place to sit and watch the boats on the lake and have a glass of wine.I would go back to this charming hotel, not the best hotel i've stayed in but for the money worth every penny.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are noisier than rooms at the rear of the hotel. But that view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you take one of the worlds most spectacular, and exciting, drives, or arrive by ferry, floatplane or bus, your efforts will be rewarded not just by the location, but this charming and character filled hotel. The staff attention to detail and your comfort cannot be faulted. We did not have a lake view room and asked if an upgrade was possible. It was made so. The upgrade cost was insignificant and I believe we had the best room in the hotel. The views were outstanding and we could enjoy the sights and sounds of this wonderful place. Yes we liked hearing the ferry come an go. We enjoyed the music from the restaurant down the street (with the client accompaniment) at night and didn't mind the early morning council services. We slept with the windows open and enjoyed every minute. Some may not think the same, then maybe a lake view room isn't for them. Our thoughts are; if you are going to holiday in new places, absorb the culture and all its environment. Otherwise, why leave home. We had "half board" which means breakfast and dinner included. Again , enjoyable and appropriate to cost and culture. Waiters were efficient and very friendly. Take the time to study the detail in architechture, design and decoration in this building, including the marvellous ceiling painting above the stairwell. Although hotel operations began around 1907, the rooms have been upgraded since . The bathrooms very recently I would think which we're nicely finished and appointed. Could not recommend this hotel more highly. Superb location. Brilliant character. Great staff and very good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is well situated and very clean. However it is very noisy at night due to live music in the street outside, recycling emptied in the early morning (5am) with smashing bottles etc. and in the Autumn (when I was there) the Council turning up with leaf blowers from 6.30am onwards for up to an hour and of course the general traffic with vespa scooters etc.

The food is typical of a 3 star European package holiday hotel - very little home made and of dubious quality - unripe fruit, but some fermented tinned fruit in the morning and one mouldy peach.

There is a tourist tax of 1.5 Euro per person per night which we had been warned about, but I had not expected them to insist on paying it in cash and putting the money into a small tin box behind the counter - I shall always wonder if this is why Italy's economy is a shambles, or whether they actually got the revenue!

Room Tip: To avoid noise, do not go for a Lake view as they are at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

In the arched promenade below the hotel you will find Bar Rossi. Great place for a coffee and piece of home made cake. We had the Italian cheesecake (custard tart) and cappuchini. Sit back and watch the people go by while you sit in the shade, enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay here for one night. We had a lake view room which was awesome. Loved the push button shutters that made for a nice dark room to sleep. Air conditioning worked great! The shower was really good compared to other places we have stayed. The location is perfect right in the center of things. Being across from the ferry made it easy. We would stay here again. Not sure why it doesn't have a higher rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel is fantastically located but name is misleading to say the least. The last time it was renovated would appear to be when it was built.staff went out of their way to be unhelpful.food was average .beds uncomfortable.pool was unclean and air conditioning went off when you opened the door.
Despite all of this bell ago is lovely just stay somewhere else

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryPizzatti, responsabile at Hotel Excelsior Splendide, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir,
it is important to read all opinions, and that it is - opinions - we do our work with love and try our best. Sometimes something can run wrong but sincerly not so bad as you felt. We apologize and surely will try to improve.
Mary Pizzatti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Excelsior Splendide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior Splendide

Address: Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Excelsior Splendide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Splendide Bellagio
Excelsior Splendide Hotel
Hotel Excelsior Splendide Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Excelsior Splendide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.