We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look at something else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Europa

Albergo Europa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albergo Europa to your Saves list
Albergo Europa
Via Roma 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look at something else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a hotel i regret i took. My first impression is that it has an odour of dust in the corridor (mold?) when i got in the room it looked very glomy, but it was clean. The restaurant they have seem to be okey i ate there 1 time. One another positive thing i can mention is that it is very central. The price was €75 witch i think is to high.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    7
    15
See reviews for
5
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

we sadly stayed.the owner hates her life I am convinced,there is no pleasure in her hospitality,actually there is no hospitality here.the place is basic as it says on their site but our bed was very noisy and the bedding belonged to your grandma,so did the furniture, a very poor image. the room echoed.the building is extremely noisy-if people in the other rooms moved about it could easily be heard.door closure was even noisy.it is next to the church but the bells stop at 10pm until I think 7 or 8 in the morning.the breakfast was ok-we liked the cake.carparking on site .right in the centre of town so handy to everything.stay here if you are deaf.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel,we had stayed at the Silvio the previous night(LOVED IT!!!) but had to canc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The female owner of the albergo does not work hard to welcome you to her premises. Little to no eye contact and no smile at all.
You're not told where to park and after you do you are told in no uncertain terms that the vehicle is in the wrong place. Very rude.
The bells chiming out stop any thoughts of sleep.
The room was quite dirty and the shower very cramped.
Spoiled the experience of lovely, beautiful Bellagio.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and were fairly happy with the decision. The main reason was the location and we were not disappointed. Its right in the centre of the old town and easy to access the town. The hotel was very dated and a old musty smell resonated throughout the hotel. The staff were ok and had not real issues.

The bed had the softness of a brick and pillows were stuffed with a form of lead.

The breakfast was very basic and would recommend going into town and not taking the hotel one. The church is right next door and you will be getting a update of the time on the hour!!!! Its quite loud but I enjoyed the historical aspect of this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was travelling through Italy for three weeks with my parents aged 69/70 and Bellagio was our last stop on the trip. We did not want to spend a lot on the hotel, as we knew we would be out of the lake everyday. We had read the bad reviews and were prepared for the worst when arriving at Albergo Europa. I have to say, it was pretty bad, but we grinned and bared it. A triple room cost us Euro 105 a night, as opposed to our only other option: Hotel Splendide at Euro200 - a significant difference over three nights. Here are the facts:

Positive: very well located and a 5min walk to the ferry. Parking for those who need it. Room was clean and light.
Negative: Beds were uncomfortable, sheets were thread bare. THere was no duve, but hand crocheted blankets which we could only guess at were never drycleaned. The bath mat was pink and dirty and the towels were old and grey. The worst part was the bath. It was the weirdest thing I had ever seen. Like a tiny little bath you had to sit in with your knees around your ears. It was stained and not clean from manyy years use. No shower curtain and so the floor was wet. I tried to stand up to shower but as the base of it was designed for sitting it was hard, and dangerous. It was, I have to say, worse than camping.

Lake Como and Belllagio are a beautiful place, but this is not the place to stay. Splurge on a nice hotel. We will next time.

Room Tip: The hotel is right next to Bellagio's church so you will be woken up by church bells. From 6am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Cheap for Bellagio central at 60 Euros for a reason - breakfast was stingy - 2 roles, some jams, coffee, orange juice, and one day a yogurt, one day a piece of cake - no fresh fruit, croissants etc - VERY STINGY. On checkout paid up for 2 days - wanted some tap water - owner said she didnt have any and I had to buy a bottle - this was just after breakfast - VERY STINGY. Rooms dated - beds too small and not long enough - TV turned itself on at 1am - very strange, then a dog started barking for half an hour. Rooms next to church - bell starts ringing at 7am every half an hour for the rest of the day.. Very noisy - DONT STAY HERE - get out of town and stay at Hotel Fioroni next to the sports centre - rooms cheaper at 55 euros single with proper breakfast and use of the swimming pool next door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Last week, while on a week-long holiday in Italy, my partner and I arrived in Bellagio with the plan to find someplace central (as he's currently on crutches for a knee injury) but relatively inexpensive, with the plan to spend 3 nights there seeing the sights and relaxing. We came upon the Hotel Europa, a small two-story building with about 8 double rooms, all with small balconies, situated behind their small restaurant / house. For 70 euro a night for the room (80 including breakfast) we booked in, particularly as it was very central. These are perhaps the only good things about the place.

The bad things:
- The beds are uncomforatble, and may have bedbugs since we were very itchy every night. The itchiness went as soon as we left. Coincidence? I think not
- There is no air conditioning, and it was very hot. We had to keep the balcony door open at night which had bad consequences: a) they have a pet cat which sat outside and howled all night, perhaps wanting to get in and b) they live literally next door to the bell tower of a church which started ringing at 7am and rang every half hour all day from then on. LOUDLY.
- The light in the bathroom was broken - I mentioned it to the proprietess but it was not fixed
- The owner - i found her to be a penny pinching and totally lacking in hospitality. 3 examples as follows:
1) they did not replace our towels for 2 days. Now, I am all for being environmentally friendly and re-using towels as much as possible, but after the second day the towels were obviously dirty so we left them on the floor as well as our pillow case covers (as there is no air conditioning, we were sweating all night) so they could be changed. The owner GAVE OUT to us and said they have a policy of only replacing bedclothes and towels every 3 days, that we should not have left them on the floor to be changed. I said they were dirty, she said "what, you don't wash? is that why they're dirty?". I was just speechless. I have never been spoken to so rudely by someone in the "hospitality" industry.
2) on the night before we left, we explained we would have to be up at 7am to leave, and as they have a very small parking lot where our car was blocked in the previous 2 nights, we asked if we could move it to a more easily accessible place to ensure we could leave on time. She said no we couldn't, and it "wasn't her problem" if we were blocked in and couldn't get out.
3) On the third morning after breakfast (which consisted of gone-off kiwi fruits, packaged croissants, and coffee - for 5 euro per person!) we went back to the room, which had already been cleaned. The owner obviously thought we had left, as the lights were off (we were taking a nap as we had been woken up by the cat all night). An hour or so later she used the key to come into the room - seeing we were there she quickly shut and locked the door and hurried down the stairs. What was she coming into our room for??

The thing that got me the most was that we were friendly and unassuming and even thanked her for the stingy breakfast, only to be treated with hostility and rudeness. I am still amazed she has stayed in business with that attitude. I'd definitely advise everyone to LOOK ELSEWHERE!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Europa

Address: Via Roma 21, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Bellagio
Albergo Europa Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.