We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tables by the lake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terrazza Metropole

Terrazza Metropole
Piazza Mazzini 1 | Hotel Metropole, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031 950409
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: ...The Hotel Metropole and its Restaurant in Bellagio, on the Lake Como offer the perfect ambience for lunches, dinners, wedding receptions and anniversaries... Whether you would like a formal reception, a more informal buffet or a romantic dinner "au bord du lac", our romantic and enchanting venue, the grand dining room which opens up on the enchantment of the lake, the very good cuisine and the unique position of the Terrace on the lake form the ideal picture for an unforgettable occasion
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great tables by the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The restaurant itself has a decent menu. However the freshness of the produce and view by one of the many tables by the lake is just amazing. More so, you can boat around the lake, park right outside your table and have a fabulous lunch or dinner. What we really liked were the rosemary tomatoes and cherry tomatoes aoart from many other things.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    15
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, Slo Country
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“I have a terrace with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

After a long day of schlepping across the lago and up and down the cobblestones of Bellagio, my wife and I decide to head to the lakeside for an aperitif. We stop at the Hotel Metropole which has nice terrace dining and a less nice cocktail area. So, we decide to stay for dinner. Views over the lake are why many people come to Bellagio. And you’re not disappointed; certainly not here. Unless you fall into the late dining routine which is definitely not good for “views.”

We’re served bread, which is not normal in real Italian restaurants. But when they do it, they charge extra. We decide to share a starter of whitebait. Just to go with our glass of Prosecco. We’re surprised when it arrives…could have been a starter for at least four people. It’s tasty in an English sort of way (salty).

I have a pasta dish, panzarotti filled with ricotta and spinach in a creamy truffle sauce. Actually, they were not panzarotti at all (meant to be fried), they were ravioli. They were very tasty, mostly because in my book it’s hard to go wrong with truffles and cream. They should try that on corndogs at the Texas State fair. But, I digress. Unfortunately, there are only four “panzarotti.” Since I share with the wife, that only leaves two for me. I would gladly have traded some of our extra whitebait for more ravioli. But, that expensive bread came in very handy in sopping up the sauce.

Char-grilled lamb chops are served with dill. I think some are chops and some are other parts of lamb. Tasty, nevertheless. But, nothing to accompany. You even have to cut up the dill yourself if you want to eat it. A pretty barren dish.

Fortunately, we had a bottle of Chianti that went down very well. Mellowed me out. As you can tell.

The dessert menu was boring. My wife doesn’t often say that! Sacher torte as if we’re on the Danube. We had nothing. E91 all in.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Eat Right on The Lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were staying in the hotel so for our first night we decided to eat in the terrace restaurant overlooking the lake. It was a little chilly to eat outside, but I can imagine it would be a magical place on a warm summer evening. We had a nice dinner of Tagliatelle Bolognese, Lake Fish, Tiramisu and coffee. Service was efficient and friendly and with a 10% discount for hotel guests it was reasonable value. The only criticism would be the internal lighting which was very bright.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Marginal at best....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and when we arrived it was raining. We did not want to venture out into the rain so we thought it would be good to try the hotel restaurant. The service was decent, but the food was marginal at best. I had the local fish and it was dry and over cooked. My husband had a ravioli and it was smothered in cream sauce. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant - Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This restaurant is amazing - best to book for a lakeside table. Food is wonderful, and the service is spot-on. Worth going here, even if you're not staying in Bellagio - car ferries run until late.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrazza Metropole also viewed

Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Terrazza Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terrazza Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.